This Week in Steve McQueen: Baby, The Rain Must Fall (1965)

“You never woulda got drunk, stabbed that man, and ended up in the pen if it weren’t for your playin’ that HONKYTONK!”

Need I say more?  THAT is how awesome this movie was.  It’s everything you’d expect from that one line of dialogue, plus lots and lots of half-naked, badly lip-synching Steve McQueen.  Marvelous.  Loved it.  LOVED IT.  Definitely worth a rental for any fan of the man or the genre (the genre of rock and roll, bad boys, and the women who love them desperately, desperately, foolishly).   What it lacked in sense and plot, it more than made up for in heart, and I’m nothing if not a sucker for heart.

Lee Remick, you sweet thing.  I adore you.

[Netflix it | Buy it]

Genre: Drama
Cast:  Steve McQueen, Lee Remick, Don Murray

Tags:

7 Responses to “This Week in Steve McQueen: Baby, The Rain Must Fall (1965)”

  1. Trip Says:

    Completely OT to this post, but definitely relevant in the meta sense for this site:

  2. Liz Says:

    Hey Trip, given that you and Meg have a “thing” about movie quotes, I think your latest contribution is right on target. I hope Meg agrees. However, I think you could have done a much better job with the list! Care to try one yourself?

  3. megwood Says:

    I second the motion for a Trip List. Motion carries! I’ll wait.

  4. Liz Says:

    TRIP LIST – LOL!

  5. Trip Says:

    HARK – that sounds like a gauntlet being dropped! I’m on it.

  6. Trip Says:

    OK, quick status update:

    The Trip List is well underway, and so far there aren’t many surprises for any regulars to this blog, but safe to say there are a small number of films out there which are rich, rich veins for great quotes.

    One in particular is Dune, which is probably my all-time favorite good-bad sci-fi movie. There are *so many* quotes in that one, I’m having a rough time picking out the best. I think it may deserve a post or comment thread of its own, really.

    The list could really blow up once I begin reviewing Ah-nold’s flicks, so perhaps I should just trickle these out a few at a time…?

  7. megwood Says:

    Oh, Dune — man, I haven’t seen that since about the seventh grade. Now that I know there’s a Trip List coming, I better rent it.

    Dude, when you have anything in final format, send it to me via email (meg@megwood.com) and I’ll make it a separate “guest blogger” post so it can have its own comment thread. Is good? I could quite desperately use the laughs right about now, so pedal harder if you can muster the energy? I’m excited to see what you came up with!

Leave a comment