Fall TV Week 2: Thursday and Friday Snooze

tvsetSo, before I report on how boring tonight and tomorrow night will be in terms of new/returning TV, I wanted to note three things:

1) I am madly in love with Scream Queens and can’t wait for the next episode.

2) The Daily Show with Trevor Noah needs some work, but it’s not terrible.  The one thing I will say, though, is that while Noah is adorable, the second we were introduced to new correspondent Roy Wood, Jr., all I could think about was how much better the show would’ve been if they’d hired HIM as the host instead. Noah will probably improve with practice and he definitely has cute dimples, but otherwise, not much to him so far.  Wood’s delivery, on the other hand, is just so great, and, obviously, he shares a last name with all my favorite people in the world, so, you know. Points.

3) The Grinder was terrible, wasn’t it?  Too bad, too, because I really enjoyed the cast.  That dialogue, though — argh!  And the premise is pretty weak (guy who played lawyer on TV plays lawyer in real life; as if that would work anywhere ever). Not going back for episode 2, I’m afraid. Sit-coms: so infernally hard to do well.

Tonight and tomorrow updates: borrrrrrring.  Here we go:

Thursday, 10/1

Bones – Fox – I got tired of this one a few seasons back. Nothing against it; just moved on to something else.

Sleepy Hollow – Fox – Never got around to watching season 2, though I mean to at some point. Or maybe I don’t. I don’t know. Should I?

Friday, 10/2

drkenDr. Ken – ABC – 8:30pm – Did you know that Ken Jeong was a physician before he was an actor? Isn’t that not at ALL what you were expecting? I like this guy; he’s wacky.  But this show doesn’t interest me at all, and it’s gotten nothing but the harshest words from all the critics too. Pass.

See what I mean? Dead. Zone. (Ooh, there’s a show I miss!)

2 Responses to “Fall TV Week 2: Thursday and Friday Snooze”

  1. RogerBW Says:

    I still mildly enjoy Bones, though mostly as an example of how to make a long-running series stay interesting by changing elements of it – the principals resolved their sexual tension some seasons ago and are now married and raising a child, but there are still sources of ongoing drama.

    I liked Sleepy Hollow s2 much more than I liked s1 so I’m interested in seeing where s3 goes. Review on the blog. Even if it is another Detective Ladyskeptic show at heart.

    Ken Jeong only has the one schtick. I’ve seen it.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    (Liz) We always watch Bones and S. Hollow! Bones has grown and changed quite a bit, and sometimes it’s dumb, but it’s usually good. I actually thought S1 of S. Hollow was better than S.2, but I’m glad they’re moving on with it – we’ll keep watching. Don’t forget about silly old Z Nation on Fridays! It’s dopey fun!

Leave a Reply

