Fall TV Week 1, Tuesday: Scream Queens and The Muppets (Alas, Not As One)

Update on Monday:

I watched Life in Pieces and Blind Spot last night, and have good things to say about both, with some caveats (minor spoilers below, but nothing that should wreck your experience if you haven’t watched yet):

lifeinpiecesLife in Pieces was, frankly, pure joy to me until the final story, when the cheese hammer dropped. After 3 stories about sex and vaginas that look like the Predator, I was really looking forward to watching Dianne Wiest and James Brolin also make out and joke about genitalia, because there is, frankly, no one I want to hear vagina jokes from more than I want to hear vagina jokes from Dianne Wiest.

Instead, their segment was all about death and appreciating life while it lasts and zzzz. Old people, my god.  Noble attempt, but we’re going to need to let The Wiest run free if this is going to be sustainable in the long run for me.

blindspotBlind Spot surprised me by not being too awful, though I can see we’re headed for kissing between Agent Stubble and Former SEAL Tattoo Chick, and that’s just annoying me already. She’s a former Navy SEAL, we learn fairly soon into the pilot (we all knew some variant of that was coming, though, right?), and she’s a friggin’ bad-ass, legit.  She does not need to take comfort in the strength of Agent Stubble, which is the vulnerability dynamic being set up in the pilot.  She needs to be his extraordinarily capable and competent partner in crime fighting and that’s it. DO ME ONE FAVOR, BLIND SPOT. JUST ONE. NO KISSING.

Not a lot coming up tonight, but here’s what we’ve got:

8pm

screamqueensScream Queens – Fox – Stars Jamie Lee Curtis, which is all I needed to know to sign on (p.s. it could hardly be called Scream Queens without her).  I actually got pretty sucked into the MTV series based on Scream this summer (RIP Wes Craven, by the way) and though it ended up being sort of sloppy and unfocused, it was still pretty entertaining.  This has a shot at being a lot tighter, if only because Ryan Murphy (Nip/Tuck) is at the helm (that also means it’s bound to be freaky, by the way, but I’m cool with freaky).  Some of the reviews I’ve read so far have focused on the Emma Roberts sorority girl character and how hard it’s going to be to stick with a story that puts such a Mean Girl at the helm.  But we’ll see.  Usually the Mean Girls in horror movies get their comeuppance if you can just stick it out long enough.  I might be able to do that.  God, I love Jamie Lee Curtis’ hair.

ncisNCIS – CBS – Whichever one of you who said you aren’t in the AARP so you don’t watch this one (was that you, Toohey?): You be quiet.  I still love the original, and I will until Gibbs and Ducky are in the grave.  Speaking of David McCallum, by the way, I’m seeing Man from U.N.C.L.E. tomorrow; will report back!

muppetsThe Muppets – ABC – I DON’T KNOW. I DON’T KNOW. I FEEL WEIRD.  THAT’S ALL.  I saw a review of this that was titled, “Sex, Drugs, and The Muppets” and it just made me feel really confused. Except for the part where it would explain SO MUCH about the Swedish Chef, I guess.  I’m going into this one with trepidation.

8:30pm

Fresh Off the Boat – ABC – I don’t watch this, but I hear it’s good. Sit-com.

9pm

NCIS: New Orleans – CBS – Wait. Wait, seriously? This made it to season 2 and Forever didn’t? God, Network television. You jerks.

10pm

limitlessLimitless – CBS – I haven’t seen the movie this was based on, starring ex-BotW Bradley Cooper (who I hear will have a recurring role in the series as well, by the way), and it was partly because the plot didn’t intrigue me.  I’m going to give the show a try, mostly because I have the hots for Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio and Hill Harper (who doesn’t?), but it just sounds so familiar, gimmick-wise.  It’s about a guy who figures out a drug makes him into a soooooper genius, which he then puts to good use solving crimes.  Why would you do that? Why wouldn’t you go cure cancer or climate change or poverty or something?  How come the sooooooper geniuses always end up fighting crime?  I guess they’re not really all that smart, is what I’m getting at.

In any case, I’ve seen that plot like ten million times. The drug element may be a relatively new angle for a TV series, but the know-it-all crime solver sure ain’t, and that means this show is only going to work if the characters are incredibly interesting people.  Which: yeah, right.  Well.  We’ll see, won’t we.

Okay, that’s it for tonight. I’m going to go follow up on all your comments from yesterday, you awesome TV watching people!

5 Responses to “Fall TV Week 1, Tuesday: Scream Queens and The Muppets (Alas, Not As One)”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    (Liz) Almost got to THE MAN FROM UNCLE – still want to see it. Trailer for it looked very good. (I want to see SINISTER II) Agree about NCIS, but I don’t mind the New Orleans one. Funny about FOREVER – we didn’t think it would be good, but we both liked it. Wish it HAD been renewed. Heard it was a “bubble show” for a while. Go MUPPETS! Looking forward to it, but will give up on it if it gets too silly. None of the other shows you recommend interest me.

    • megwood Says:

      I enjoyed The Muppets for the most part, but realized something about it I had never really noticed before, and which I’d love to see them fix ASAP in the modern era. See post later today!

  2. RogerBW Says:

    Scream Queens and Limitless both look interesting out of that lot. (Mind you I’m about five months behind on TV watching, I had a really busy summer, so it may be a while before I get to them.)

    (Seen the trailer for The Final Girls? Looks promising.)

  3. Tanja Cooper Says:

    I really wanted to like Scream Queens because it has a long list of things that I love recommending it, but I was a bit underwhelmed by the first (2hr) episode. I’m sticking with it, but I think my main problem is Emma Roberts – she’s just not a good actress.

Leave a Reply

