MOVIE: Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

guardiansThis movie was terrible. Terrible!  Terrible. Forced, trite, strangely lacking in any heart whatsoever, and featuring dialogue clearly written by a 13 year old boy (a precocious one, to be sure. Nevertheless).

THAT SAID, if LEGO Baby Groot ever comes to fruition, I will be first in line for purchase.

(p.s. TERRIBLE!)

[Netflix it | Amazon Buy/Rent]

Genre: Sci-fi, Crap
Cast: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Vin Diesel, Lee Pace, yer mom.

 

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “MOVIE: Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)”

  1. Kim Says:

    Oh Meg! I can’t believe that you didn’t like this movie. – a completely mindless, totally juvenile SF movie, as so many of the really fun ones are. Granted, I didn’t have very high expectations, but the sound track is GREAT- I find myself humming the songs at odd moments- and really, how can you go wrong with a talking tree, a psychotic racoon, and a cameo by Benicio Del Toro? We found it all highly entertaining, albeit as previously mentioned, mindlessly so. Maybe it was the drinks we were having…(shrug)

  2. Bernice Says:

    HI Meg, I’m with Kim on this one – it was delightful in a mindless, totally juvenile SF way. We were entertained:-)

  3. megwood Says:

    I had big expectations, too, because everybody I knew had been raving about it. But this one just had nothing that pulled me in. It wasn’t clever (ha ha, that guy says “bro” a lot!), had no heart at all (obligatory dead mom with no authentic follow-through), and it had one of the most thoroughly dull villains of all time. I love comic book and superhero movies. They usually actually have quite a lot of emotional weight to them — when they’re good. This one just felt like it was working from a checklist to me.

    Might’ve worked better as a series — more time to develop the characters and make their “I’d die for you!’ relationships more believable. Kind of reminded me of both FIREFLY and FARSCAPE, except in both those shows, I believed it when people were drawn to the quirky main character, because he was actually legitimately charming (Pratt, not so much for me).

    Soundtrack was great, but felt out of place in this movie to me.

  4. RogerBW Says:

    Among the people I know, it was about 50/50 – but the ones who liked it are also generally fans of comic-book and especially superhero material, which I’m basically not. I’ll get round to it eventually.

Leave a Reply

