Fall TV Week Five: Hang in There, It’s Almost Over!

tvset1Winding down now, with just a few stragglers plodding in here at the finish line.  Here’s what’s up this week, and next week should be my last installment for Fall 2014 (with final tricklings-in, plus a recap of what I kept and what I dumped).

WE MADE IT (assuming we make it!)!

Monday, 10/13

janeJane the Virgin – 9pm – CW – I’m not planning to watch this, but it’s gotten some of the best reviews of the fall, so if it sounds like your kinda thing, you should definitely tune in. Gina Rodriguez stars as a young woman named Jane, a virgin who discovers she has been accidentally artificially inseminated by her gynecologist.  I’m not sure how you manage to “accidentally” inseminate someone, but I don’t feel a huge pull to find out, to be honest.  Still, it’s been described as a witty, charming telenovela-style dramedy, and it’s the second in this fall’s new series to feature a predominantly Hispanic cast — that’s pretty great.  Oh crap.  I guess I’ll tune in after all.  What’s the worst that could happen?  I get knocked up accidentally? Go for it, Universe.

Tuesday, 10/14

marrymeMarry Me – 9pm – NBC – From Wikipedia, this description:  “Faced with proposals gone awry and a string of other unfortunate coincidences, Annie and Jake find themselves destined to be together whether they can get it together or not.”  Are you guys still awake?  Yeah, me neither.

About a Boy – 9:30pm – NBC –It’s about a boy.  I hear. (THIS JOKE NEVER GETS OLD!)

8 Responses to “Fall TV Week Five: Hang in There, It’s Almost Over!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    (Liz)
    Remember how last year we were sure that there was no way that “Sleepy Hollow” could be any good, and it became quite a big hit? (Well anyway, Lee and I love it!) Well, might that not also be true this year of “Forever?” So far, we like that one quite well, too. Also, last year, I had somewhat high hopes for “Dads,” and we couldn’t make it through one episode, and this year, I tried “blackish,” and although I made it through the episode, I’m NOT going to watch it again. Glad you put in a plug for “Jane, the Virgin.” I’m with you – I’m glad there’s a show like this (and I’ve read good reviews of it, too), but I have no plans to watch it.

  2. briantoohey Says:

    In the process of catching up with shows, missed a lot of stuff over the last few weeks, partly because of a wedding in San Fran. Will post again soon as I catch up on other stuff, but here’s where I stand on these shows:

    Gotham: all caught up, still watching & enjoying it.

    The Blacklist: all caught up, still watching & enjoying it.

    The Walking Dead: all caught up. I think this has been a really strong season so far, and I’m really glad the show has continued to right itself after first running around in circles with the Shane triangle, and then again with the Governor storyline. It’s back on very strong footing and I’m excited to see where the rest of the season goes.

    Gracepoint: all caught up and enjoying it. I think the actors are all very good. I know you were a big proponent of skipping this one and just going to Broadchurch, but I’m really glad I did it this way. I trust you that Broadchurch is better, so this way I think I’ll be able to enjoy both versions, and I plan on watching Broadchurch after this version is done. I assume I wouldn’t have enjoyed this version as much if I’d watched Broadchurch first. I don’t remember why people thought Gracepoint would be bad, but it’s pretty good in my opinion.

    • megwood Says:

      I think you were wise to start with Gracepoint, though my guess is that you’ll remain loyal to your first love there. I have to confess I’ve been watching it too and I don’t hate it, I just think it’s VERY American. Everybody got upgraded to a fancy house on the California coast, which seems so like us. The one weak spot for me, weirdly, has been David Tennant who seems more out of place than his character is even supposed to seem. Might be those Scottish Rs he can’t QUITE hide. It also might just be the fact he keeps trying to have a beard and it’s just NOT working out for him. 😉

      • megwood Says:

        I should clarify that I don’t mind the updating to America, per se. It’s just that it was the one and only change they made — it would’ve been more interesting if they’d made a few others too.

    • briantoohey Says:

      Continuing the update:

      Forever (just to reiterate): dropped it after the second episode. Too boring & predictable, sappy & trite for me.

      Mulaney: watched 3 episodes, had a few smiles but no laughs. For a young guy, his humor is incredibly safe, lame, and unfunny.

      Brooklyn Nine-Nine & New Girl: mostly caught up on both, and still on board this season for both. The only network comedies I genuinely enjoy, though neither is perfect.

      Stalker: all caught up and enjoying it for the sleazy B-show it is. I don’t know how long I’ll continue with it, but like The Following, it’s fun-bad TV to me.

      Comic Book Men & Talking Dead: still watching CBM though the cast has been grating on me more and more for the past 2 seasons. But I’m a comic book geek and it’s only a 30-minute show. TD is usually fun to watch after The Walking Dead, but the mileage varies depending on the guests.

      American Horror Story: haven’t yet started this season, and just caught up on seasons two and three. I’ve been pretty meh on most of this show, but I think it’s safe to say I’ll watch the entirety of Season 4.

      Still left to decide:

      Scorpion: I’ve seen 4 episodes I believe. It’s pretty bad, but I may give it one more episode. I’m just finding that I don’t care about any of the characters, and the plots aren’t compelling either. Obviously I really want to like this show, but it doesn’t seem to be happening.

      Selfie: watched 2 episodes, will probably give it another 1 or 2. It’s already been cancelled, but I haven’t decided whether or not to finish out its initial 13-episode order, though it’s not looking good.

      Grimm: I’ve seen the first 2 episodes so far this season. Chances are I’ll continue with it, but this show was always walking a line of low expectations with me, and the inclusion of the new character Trouble may be pushing me towards dropping it.

      Constantine: was a huge fan of the comic book Hellblazer for a long time, and I’m a huge fan of the character in general. I’ve only seen the first episode, which was really hard to get a read from, as it was wall-to-wall plot machinations. I’ll give it a few episodes to see how it does, and it doesn’t look terrible, and it probably gets more right than wrong, but it still feels a long way off from really nailing what is to me a beloved property.

      Marry Me: really liked Happy Endings, so I’ll be giving it a shot, but haven’t even started on it yet, and I hear the pilot is not great.

      Benched: also haven’t started on it, but will be giving it a shot.

      To agree with Roger below, the aspect of Gotham that’s working the best for me is the corrupt police department angle. I feel like the show is at its strongest when it’s focusing on Logue and McKenzie, as well as some of the mob politics between John Doman (Carmine Falcone) and David Zayas (Sal Maroni)… who both incidentally guested on Oz back in the day. I can’t stand Jada Pinkett Smith in general, so I’m hoping she gets killed off at some point, but that seems unlikely, and I suppose she’s currently working well in the show despite my general dislike of her. We’ll see how Gotham continues to build itself, and how it balances the heroes/villains with the cops/mobsters. It could eventually lose me if the cop/mobster stuff gets too predictable, repetitive, or generic; or if the hero/villain stuff gets too over-the-top or cheesy. I dropped Arrow during its first season and didn’t even have any interest in looking at The Flash; despite being a comic book geek I’m just not interested in the middle-of-the-road takes that television usually does on super-heroes, and the way they inevitably get too much wrong and/or feel like bad soap operas. Hoping Gotham will continue to avoid this. I like how they’ve handled Penguin if they use that as a general template for other their other villains. On the other hand, the kid who plays Bruce Wayne really annoys me and I think the producers may be slapping themselves in the head to now be stuck with him. I suppose any unknown kid actor is a larger-than-normal gamble, and sometimes it works out and sometimes it doesn’t. And Sean Pertwee as Alfred ain’t working for me, either. I so wouldn’t mind if they ended up writing Bruce Wayne out of Gotham, and maybe bring in a recasting a season or two down the line.

      Finally, regarding Gracepoint and David Tennant, totally agree that he feels out of place and like he’s acting in a different show. Which makes me even more curious to see Broadchurch and see if his performance works in that show. I haven’t seen his Doctor Who run, but in everything I’ve ever seen him in, it always feels like he’s playing against type and trying to stretch himself and not succeeding. He’s just so skinny and frail and fragile-looking and kind of effete, that I don’t buy the beard or the kind of macho emotionally-distant posturings, and I’m not sure if it’s because he’s caught up in the previous version of the character or if somehow his performance just isn’t meshing well with the Americans or what. It doesn’t make the show unwatchable, and he’s supposed to be a fish out of water, so I’m able to kind of ignore it even though it’s not working as a fish out of water in the way that it’s supposed to be. But I’m hoping some day I’ll actually get to see David Tennant actually be good in a role that plays to his strengths. For whatever reasons, he seems horribly miscast here, which is interesting since it’s a role he originated and has already played once before.

      • RogerBW Says:

        I’ve written a longer version of my reactions to this TV season so far at my own blog (linked from my name above) – I think the only shows we’re both watching are Gotham and Constantine. I think Jada Pinkett Smith has finally got a role that’s something more than “hot babe”, and she’s chewing the scenery with the best of them, in a part that requires that she do so.

        Forever is basically a straight procedural show with a quirky and a non-quirky protagonist: not so much “copy of Sleepy Hollow” as “copy of Castle”. But that works for me. We haven’t even had Henry dying all that much, though we do get lots of flashbacks.

  3. RogerBW Says:

    Still catching up.

    Gotham: liked the pilot, can take or leave all the “he’s gonna grow up to be a supervillain” hints but really like the lone straight guy in a corrupt police department angle.

    Scorpion: dropped half-way through episode 2. The tech is so comprehensively made up from buzzwords that it just has no appeal to me.

    Forever: still enjoying as of episode 3. It’s the cast, mostly. But ratings have been poor and I suspect it’s not coming back.

    • RogerBW Says:

      Stalker: dropped during the pilot. Way too much “look at the woman in peril, look a little more closely, she’s terrified isn’t she, let’s have a nice lingering shot of that” for me.

Leave a Reply

