Fall TV Update: Friday, September 28

Not much to report for tonight — the only new series is Made in Jersey (CBS), which is some kind of terrible-looking lawyer thing that Entertainment Weekly has already watched for us and scored with an F+.  So, I think that answers that.

Otherwise, back for a new season tonight are CSI:NY (CBS), Fringe (FOX), and Blue Bloods (CBS), none of which I really watch (I sometimes drop in on CSI:NY, but not regularly).

TONS of stuff is starting or returning Sunday, so instead of spending any time on tonight’s yawnsville content, I will wrap this up super-fly so I can get started on the next installment!

Also, I heard Elementary and Last Resort were pretty fun last night but haven’t had a chance to watch myself.  What’d you guys think?

3 Responses to “Fall TV Update: Friday, September 28”

  1. Florence Says:

    OK-just watched Last Resot with hubby….and I have to say it was not half bad….. My concern-keeping the ball rolling on this one…might have been good as a movie, but long term… not so sure?

  2. Wendy Says:

    I’m going to give Elementary another couple of eps. Jonny Lee Miller is not without charm, plus SCARVES! You were right in predicting they might not handle the addiction angle correctly. Seemed a little too “I was an addict but now I’ve moved on.” I’d like to see if they touch on it more in the future.

  3. briantoohey Says:

    Watched Last Resort– that has the buzz of being the best new show of the season– and I have to say I was a little disappointed. There was one scene where some expository dialogue was paired with an almost-sex scene that was really, really bad and laughable… although I get what they were trying to do and it wasn’t bad as an idea if you absolutely need to find a way to get that information across, but it just didn’t work– and there were several other plot details that were vague and murky that needed to be much clearer. A lot of this had to do with the large cast, not all of whose roles and allegiances and purposes were very clearly defined. But the showrunner here is Shawn Ryan, who earned a huge amount of good will with me on The Shield, so I’ll give him several episodes past the pilot to see if he can connect the dots and then soldier onward. I don’t know if this is the kind of show that America will latch onto, and give it the time to work itself out, or if it’s going to be one of those shows that lasts a handful of episodes before early cancellation. The truly brilliant shows generally seem to last about 2-3 episodes.

    Elementary I’m very leery of, but am still planning on giving a chance. It’s being rebroadcast on Saturday night, so I guess be aware that your DVR may pick up an extra recording. Also, Grimm and Fringe are back in the same time slot again tonight. Grimm is mediocre, but popular for its zeitgeist hook of monster hunter paired with police procedural, and seems like the kind of thing you might actually enjoy, Meg. But there’s definitely a common audience for Grimm and Fringe, and putting these two on head to head on Friday nights isn’t really doing anyone any favors. Between the two, I’m more excited for Fringe these days, but honestly there’s not really anything on broadcast networks these days I’m truly excited about, and hasn’t been since the 4th season of Lost before they lost their way while wrapping things up.

    There seems to be a huge divide these days between the quality of shows on the networks and the premium and semi-premium cable channels like AMC, USA, A&E, FX, HBO, Showtime. They all have shows that I truly am excited about; but it’s odd that there’s such a distinguished line for me right now, and that the integrity of the stories being told and the consistency of the voices telling those stories is so definitively defined.

Leave a Reply

