MOVIE: The Avengers (2012)

I actually saw this movie about a month ago, but I was having a hard time figuring out what to say about it in a review so I never got around to writing one.  But the blooper reel from the upcoming DVD release just hit the Interwebs today, and I realized it kind of says everything that needs to be said.  Which is this:  The Avengers is FUN.  It’s just REALLY, REALLY FUN.   IT IS SO FUN, YOU GUYS.

I can’t think of anything profound to say (clearly) — I’m not a superhero movie or comic fan generally speaking, and I don’t know anything about any of the characters (except for having watched a lot of The Incredible Hulk episodes as a kid, which I bet doesn’t count for much, right, nerds?).  But to me, this struck me as a movie written by a totally joyful fan boy (Joss Whedon) and acted by a whole bunch of incredible talents who were having the time of their lives on set.

Need independent proof of that?  Check out the blooper reel here:  http://vimeo.com/48114558.  Kind of says it all!

This is a movie that oozes happiness and fun.  But it’s not just silliness.  Some of the characters (Mark Ruffalo’s Hulk, for example), are complex and interesting, not just big, green, and fond of breaking things (though I confess, I’m still confused why we have a group of human superheroes and then. . . a GOD?  What is Thor doing in this gaggle?  I guess I’ll have to watch his movie next and find out!).  And the script is brilliantly, hilariously written — just what you’d expect from Whedon (I’d actually forgotten he’d written the script, in fact, until the scene at the end during which Capt. America is assigning battle tasks, then turns to Hulk and says simply, “SMASH.”  Oh yes, WHEDON.  Of course!).

You could not do better for a popcorn-munchin’, summer-heat dodgin’ film, in my opinion.  This one fits that bill absolutely perfectly.

So, you know, RECOMMENDED!  Doy.  And that goes for fans of the comics and not-fans of the comics alike!

[Prequeue it at Netflix | Preorder the DVD]

Genre:  Action, SMASH
Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner,  Stellan Skarsgård, Samuel L. Jackson, Gwyneth Paltrow, Paul Bettany

Tags:

7 Responses to “MOVIE: The Avengers (2012)”

  1. Liz Says:

    WE LOVED THIS MOVIE … Especially the line to the Hulk – “Smash!” Don’t blame the movie, or Joss Whedon, for a god being in the mix. “Thor” was always part of “The Avengers” in the comics (don’t ask me why). I TRIED to get Lee to see the Thor movie before seeing “The Avengers,” but he wasn’t interested until AFTER
    WARDS! It would have made much more sense if we had – especially since the villain in the Avengers movie is the one from the Thor movie. Oh well, it was lots of fun, anyway.

  2. megwood Says:

    Oh no, I know Whedon didn’t make up the Thor bit. I’m just sayin’, what a weird addition! But I’m planning on watching both Thor and Captain America soon, so I’m sure it will all make more sense after that! (Both of those are on Netflix streaming, btw, if anybody is interested!)

  3. Deb Says:

    I haven’t seen this movie as yet…but will due to the fact that Jeremy Renner is in it. I’m on a Jeremy Renner high after seeing The Bourne Legasy yesterday!! I enjoyed Jeremy in Mission Impossible as well and hope he continues to choose great roles.

    • Liz Says:

      You must have seen “The Hurt Locker.” that was really good. I confess that I knew he was familiar when I saw him in “The Avengers,” but I didn’t recognize him right away. He did a really good job, though.

  4. Scully Says:

    The Marvel version of Thor’s backstory is that he is part of an alien race that has come into contact with ancient Earth before and due to their alien-ness, Earthlings thought they were gods. So Thor has more a Superman situation in the comic books.

  5. Melinda Says:

    Loved Avengers, and Captain America is possibly my favorite of the lead-up titles, despite the hilarity of the villain (really, Agent Smith???). I feel like out of all of them (despite Jeremy Renner’s amazing forearms), Captain America and Bruce Banner are the only two Avengers I would want to sit and have a conversation with. And CA is just so sweet and kind and caring and human….. Sigh. THIS is why I will never wind up married; I’m holding out for Captain America. Crap.

  6. Jo Says:

    Yes. FUN! It’s the word I use most when talking about this movie.

Leave a Reply

