MOVIE: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (2011)

Zzzzzzzzz.  *sleep apnea snort*  What?  What?  Oh, was there a movie just on?  There was?  Huh.  Go figure.

(In other words, what a snoozefest this stinker was!  I think once you go Benedict Cumberbatch, you just can’t go back.  There’s no mystery in this mystery, no real clue-hunting, or clever deducting.  It’s just an action movie, plain and simple.  Which:  Yawnsville, UK.  Maybe worth a rental, but don’t blame me if you have to try it three times before you can actually stay conscious for the whole thing.)

Lameity lame lame lame-o.

[Prequeue at Netflix]

Genre:  Crap, Action
Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, Noomi Rapace, Jared Harris, Eddie Marsan, Rachel McAdams

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “MOVIE: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (2011)”

  1. Liz Says:

    But … But … I thought you liked writing about movies you hated. Or maybe this one doesn’t count, as it rendered you unconscious, so how could you be sure you hated it? Anyway, I certainly did think it was a come-down from the first one (which might not be to everyone’s taste, anyway), but we didn’t hate it!

    I haven’t seen the Benedict Cumberbatch series, though I’ve read about it. But I have seen him, and just in looks and charisma, I don’t think he can hold a candle to RDJ! (I can’t seem to get thru that “Tinker, Tailor” movie I was so excited about.)

    Hey! That gives me an idea! Why don’t you hold a “boyfriend-off?” You could do it 2 by 2, having your readers vote, or you could have a “Top 12,” like on “American Idol,” and eliminate the one with the least votes each week. Hmm – “American Boyfriend” – could work!

    • megwood Says:

      Nah, I didn’t hate it — I just found it really, really dull. I like writing about BAD movies, not boring ones! There just isn’t anything to say about this movie, is the problem. It’s pretty much the first one all over again, but this time with way too much of everything that made the first one fun. Yawn!

      The Cumberbatch series is AMAZING. You should look for it on DVD. RDJ is great, but his Sherlock is nowhere NEAR Cumberbatch’s. He’s absolutely perfect, and so is Martin Freeman as Watson. I also like all the peripheral characters a lot more than I like the ones in the RDJ series. They did a fantastic job, those Brits!

  2. RogerBW Says:

    Interesting! I quite liked the first film – it’s not very true to the spirit of Holmes, but I found it quite fun. Haven’t seen this one yet…

    Absolutely agree with you on bad films vs boring films.

  3. stellabird Says:

    I’m SO glad I’m not alone in my opinion of this movie! Total yawner and I went into it -wanting- to like it.

  4. Rachel Says:

    Totally agree – well regarding the first RDJ/Sherlock movie. Didn’t try watching until recently, and after seeing the Cumberbatch/Steven Moffat series. I think I actually did fall asleep. Was so bored I can’t remember. It’s not Sherlock Holmes, just an action movie set in Victorian England.

    To Liz, give Cumberbatch a chance. I too though him an odd choice for the part. But after the first episode I was all in on the show. By the end of the first series, the Cumberbatch charisma had done it’s job on me & I’m a new devotee. RDJ can’t come close.

Leave a Reply

