MOVIE: Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011)

I’m not at all embarrassed to admit that I find Tom Cruise action movies incredibly entertaining.  Well, okay, I’m a little embarrassed to admit it.  But not so embarrassed I can’t take a little ribbing in the comments, so feel free to mock away.

This one, the latest in the Mission: Impossible series, is nowhere near as good as the previous installation of this series (the one with Philip Seymour Hoffman), but it’s still a good time.  The mission is a little on the dull side — they’re trying to stop a crazy guy who wants to blow up a nuclear bomb to sort of “reboot” the world — but it moved along at a decent enough clip, with plenty of one-liners and awesome gadgetry to make it more fun.  The problem with the story, from my perspective, is that the villain is usually the make-it-or-break-it part of a film like this, and “crazy” is not nearly as fun as “evil,” if you ask me.  (In terms of “evil” villains, by the way, I like “evil scientists” the best.)

Simon Pegg is back and enjoyable as always, though half the funny lines he delivered are funny lines I’ve heard 10,000 times in action movies.  But this one also saw the addition of Jeremy Renner to the team, his character left with just enough mystery to suggest he might be a permanent addition to the series (oh, that would be nice!).  I dig.

Worth a rental for sure.  I’ll probably see it again with my mom, by the way, as she’s also a fan of Tom Cruise action flicks.  And yeah, we liked Knight and Day  with Cameron Diaz too.  You can’t make me feel dumb for it, either.  Though I have no doubt you will try.  GO AHEAD.  MAKE MY DAY.

[Netflix it | Buy it]

Genre:  Action, Spy
Cast: Tom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg, Paula Patton, Ving Rhames, Josh Holloway, Tom Wilkinson

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “MOVIE: Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011)”

  1. briantoohey Says:

    Someday I want to direct an action movie with Tom Cruise, and keep telling him take after take that what he’s doing is great, but that we need him to run just a little bit faster. Like a rat in a lab experiment, I’m pretty sure he would run himself to death. Because that’s how determined Tom Cruise is. Love him or hate him, you have to admire that steel will of his; it’s why he’s a star. I don’t think there’s another actor that’s so sort of crazily and insanely driven. Tom Cruise is basically a force of nature, and I can’t help relishing it when I see a trailer for something and we see images of him running ever faster while saying something like “you’ve never seen me angry.” I mean, you won’t see the kind of press packages about climbing around on the skyscraper in Dubai that were being released six months before the movie even came out from any other Hollywood leading man, because no one else is as gleefully insane as Tom Cruise. On the other hand, being in a marriage with him has to be it’s own level of hell because I don’t think you’d want that kind of controlling focus placed on you, much less any human being, really.

    And I’m with you on enjoying the third one the most, Meg. I don’t know too many other people who are fans of that one as much as you and I. This one was Brad Bird’s feature debut, and while it had a lot of polish and there’s almost nothing bad that can be said about, I was a little disappointed because my expectations were so high and the reviews were so good. It hit all the right notes, but it was just missing that something extra to really distinguish itself, and in the end kind of bordered on the forgettable. But still a really good, fun popcorn flick– and nowhere near the kind of stillborn forgettable of John Woo’s Mission Impossible II, which has to be the worst film of his career, and is so bland and purposeless that you literally can’t remember anything about it even while you’re sitting there watching it.

  2. RogerBW Says:

    I’m not a big Tom Cruise fan, and since I enjoyed the original Mission: Impossible TV series I was very disappointed by the first film. I gave 2 and 3 a miss, but after good reviews of this one decided to give it a shot… and was pleasantly surprised. I’m still not a Tom Cruise fan, but he does at least project “driven” well; Simon Pegg’s acting and Brad Bird’s direction were what saved this one, making even the bit with the car at the end seem almost plausible.

    The only aspect that didn’t really work for me was the whole “last chance… one more last chance… one more last chance, but this time I really mean it…” aspect of the escalating stakes. I agree that a non-crazy villain would have been more interesting; one wonders where he gets people to work for him.

  3. alisaj29 Says:

    I am not a Tom Cruise fan, never have been. I am a fan of the Mission Impossible movies though, and without any sarcasm, surprise, surprise, I liked this movie! I loved the brief second of Sawyer from Lost, hehe. I liked Simon Peg (of course), and Jeremy Renner would be a great addition, though not sure how available he’ll be after the Avengers comes out, and he has 3 other movies coming out as well.

  4. Melinda Says:

    Oh heavens, Jeremy Renner, yes, uh, yes. He did indeed add to this film. I was all about the chases and big explosions, but then we got to the fitted silk suits and I just about had heart palpitations. Unfortunately, I was sitting next to a married male acquaintance in the theater and couldn’t adequately express how impressed I was (I’ll never make THAT mistake again). As for Tom Cruise…. he was Tom Cruise. I’m really leery about his role in the reboot (sidenote: is anyone else getting sick of the reboots? The novelty has begun to wear thin.) of VanHelsing, honestly.

  5. Jo Says:

    We just watched this last night; my daughter hadn’t seen it yet. I think I liked it better than the last one, because 100% more Renner.

    Don’t get me wrong; I adore Tom Cruise, especially in roles like this, but…but…RENNER.

    I so need to see Hurt Locker.

  6. megwood Says:

    Jo! Yes! Go rent Hurt Locker IMMEDIATELY! It is absolutely stunning. Go! Right now!

Leave a Reply

