National Poetry Month (20/30): Absalom! Absalom! in 5-7-5

Absalom! Absalom! by William Faulkner

Mean Thomas Sutpen
“Contrived somehow to swagger
Even on a horse.”

(Personal note:  This is my favorite book of all time, and that line so perfectly describes Sutpen’s nature that I have never forgotten it (and, in fact, it pops into my head often, especially when I see Dick Cheney). It’s been a long time since I last read this book, so watch for a “real” review of it coming soon!)

[Buy from Indiebound | Buy from Amazon]

(Participate in National Poetry Month! Add your own haiku in the comments, and I’ll post my favorite reader contributions in May!)

Tags:

4 Responses to “National Poetry Month (20/30): Absalom! Absalom! in 5-7-5”

  1. RogerBW Says:

    Marry one of them?
    Well, yes, I suppose you can.
    But not one of them!

    (Hope that’s non-spoilery enough. 🙂 )

  2. Liz Says:

    You keep “haiku-ing”
    Books that I have never read,
    But wish that I had!

  3. megwood Says:

    Plenty of time left
    To pick up a book or two.
    Now you have a list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

