National Poetry Month (15/30): Shell Games in 5-7-5

Shell Games: Rogues, Smugglers, and the Hunt for Nature’s Bounty by Craig Welch

Geoduck smuggling,
Sure. But I still can’t believe
People smuggle MOSS.

(Please, come to my yard and take ALL YOU WANT!) (FREE!)

[Buy from IndieBound | Buy from Amazon]

(Participate in National Poetry Month! Add your own haiku in the comments, and I’ll post my favorite reader contributions in May!)

Tags:

6 Responses to “National Poetry Month (15/30): Shell Games in 5-7-5”

  1. RogerBW Says:

    Choosing what to be?
    Don’t pick one that folks will call
    Aphrodisiac.

    • Liz Says:

      That sure SEEMS to be a very good one (one 5 syllable word – very clever!). But since I have no idea what you’re talking about, my most honest response is: ??? (Can you tell that I haven’t read the book? That’s why I didn’t do a “haiku review” – it wouldn’t be fair.)

  2. Liz Says:

    RogerBW –
    But … But … That’s not what “aphrodisiac” means! Also, take the “the” out of the last line. It’s not your fault that I don’t get it – you write great haiku(u-u-u)! It’s just that I didn’t read the book? (Hi, Meg! Are we having fun yet?)

    • RogerBW Says:

      Most of the really valuable creatures – certainly including geoduck – are valuable because they’re supposed to have aphrodisiac properties. (Always, one notes, for men.)

Leave a Reply

