National Poetry Month (11/30): Portnoy’s Complaint in 5-7-5

Portnoy’s Complaint by Philip Roth

Most Roth fans I know
Are really narcissistic
Men in their thirties.

(Not that I don’t like Roth.  I’m just saying this is a trend I have noticed.)

Bonus haiku!

Only use one “L”
For Roth’s “Philip.” Two and he’s
The B-movie guy.

(Phillip Roth, a favorite producer of mine and my mom’s, because he specializes in absolutely delightful crappola.)

[Buy from IndieBound | Buy from Amazon]

(Participate in National Poetry Month! Add your own haiku in the comments, and I’ll post my favorite reader contributions in May!)

Tags:

7 Responses to “National Poetry Month (11/30): Portnoy’s Complaint in 5-7-5”

  1. Liz Says:

    I can’t remember
    What this book is all about
    I know I read it!

  2. RogerBW Says:

    At least it is not
    About a new writer
    And his first novel.

    • Liz Says:

      If you had said “ALL about” (as I did), then you would have had 7 syllables in your second line (as I did). Boy, I’m just so helpful, aren’t I?

  3. Liz Says:

    Meg, my apologies for having a side conversation with “RogerBW” on YOUR blog!

    • megwood Says:

      Golly, yeah. How dare you go off on a tangent on my blog which is always going off on tangents. (Wait, what?) (Please have as many side conversations as you’d like, goofball!)

  4. RogerBW Says:

    Bah! I changed the last line because the second was too long, and now I can’t get it back from the swamp that I laughingly call my mind.

    At least is it not
    About an aging “lad” who’s
    Writing his first book.

Leave a Reply

