National Poetry Month (3/30): The Turn of the Screw in 5-7-5

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James

Books such as this one
Make me glad I will never
Be a governess.

[Buy from IndieBound | Buy from Amazon]

(Participate! Add your own haiku in the comments, and I’ll post my favorite reader contributions in May!)

Tags:

9 Responses to “National Poetry Month (3/30): The Turn of the Screw in 5-7-5”

  1. RogerBW Says:

    Lit-critters love this
    For it could mean anything.
    Give me M. R. James.

    (Am I philistine?
    Perhaps. I have little time
    For New Criticism.)

  2. Liz Says:

    I just read “Jane Eyre”
    And SHE was a governess –
    Not like this book, though!

  3. megwood Says:

    Yeah, but see, Jane Eyre
    Also had rough times with it.
    Crazies in attics!

  4. megwood Says:

    By the way, Lizzie
    This novel’s a ghost story
    You might totes dig it.

    (Haiku competition entry immediately disqualified for use of ridiculous word “totes.”)

  5. Liz Says:

    I have read the book!
    I was just comparing it
    To “Jane Eyre” – it lost!

    (I love these haikus!
    They just seem to write themselves.
    Plural of haiku?)

  6. Liz Says:

    In a perfect world
    Plural and singular forms
    Wouldn’t be the same!

    All of my haikUUUU
    Ought to be called “Fall,” because
    That ‘s what I do best!

Leave a Reply

