MOVIE: The Ides of March (2011)

The entire time I was watching this incredibly depressing film about a presidential candidate (played by George Clooney) and his campaign manager (Ryan Gosling) who sell their souls (metaphorically) when they realize there’s no way to succeed in American politics if you have a moral core, I kept thinking about this passage from William Faulkner’s novel, Intruder in the Dust:

Some things you must always be unable to bear.  Some things you must never stop refusing to bear.  Injustice and outrage and dishonor and shame.  No matter how young you are or how old you are you have got.  Not for kudos and not for cash; your picture in the paper nor money in the bank either. Just refuse to bear them.

Dear America:  WE ARE DOOMED.

(As for the film, it’s great, though dishearteningly believable.  I still think Ryan Gosling can’t act (sorry), but any movie that pits Philip Seymour Hoffman against Paul Giamatti is WELL worth shelling out nine bucks for.  So: recommended!  You might want to smuggle a pint of scotch in with you, though.  You’re gonna need the stiff drink when the credits roll, believe you me.)

[Prequeue at Netflix | View trailer]

Genre:  Drama, Political
Cast:  George Clooney, Ryan Gosling, Marisa Tomei, Paul Giamatti, Evan Rachel Wood, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jeffrey Wright, Max Minghella, Jennifer Ehle, Michael Mantell

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “MOVIE: The Ides of March (2011)”

  1. Brian Toohey Says:

    I actually respectfully disagree and think he’s a very good actor. However, one line in the trailer that had even me rolling my eyes is when he says over the phone to Paul Giamatti’s character “I can’t be talking to you!” It reminded me of some of the lines I’ve seen in Tom Cruise trailers (“You’ve never seen me angry!”), which taken out of context of the rest of the film make his performances look even worse than they are, and I never understand why the marketing “geniuses” decide to showcase a moment like that in a trailer that just screams bad acting. But then again, hey, they put out a lot of trailers that make you feel like you’ve already seen the movie in its entirety, hit every funny joke and gag so when you watch the movie its a huge letdown, and sometimes even spoil the big plot twist of a movie.

  2. these guys are great Says:

    I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours today, but I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s beautiful worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net shall be a lot more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

