Fall TV Premieres, Sept 19-25

Week two of Fall TV premieres is a big one — below is the schedule, with notes about all the new shows and a few of the returning shows I had something to say about, plus the deets on what else is returning when.

Monday, Sept. 19

2 Broke Girls (CBS) – 9:30pm – As I’ve said before, I’m not really a big sit-com watcher, so I’m not planning on tuning into this one (I did really enjoy last week’s premiere of Up All Night, though — any show about new parents that features so much curse word bleeping in the pilot alone is A-OK in my book, yo).  But for those of you who do like such fare, this one is about two New York City waitresses in their 20s, Max (Kat Dennings), who was born broke, and Caroline (Beth Behrs), who was born rich but is currently broke.  Hence: title.  They become pals and decide their dream is to open a cupcake shop, but first they’ll have to figure out a way to raise copious amounts of start-up dough.  I haven’t the heart to tell them cupcake shops are SO five years ago and the new big thing is pie.  You tell them for me.  Poor dears. (New)

Castle (ABC) – 10pm – I have a confession to make here — I still have 18 episodes of Castle from last season stored on my DVR, and though initially I was letting them pile up in the hopes I’d get the flu and my consolation would be a week in bed with Nathan Fillion (woo!), it just never happened.  Curses, immune system!  The problem is, now there are too many episodes for me to get caught up on easily, and more are coming starting tonight.  I’m not sure quite what to do about this other than fold my hands and pray for pneumonia.  If there is a God, PLEASE SMITE ME.  Much obliged.  This show’s schtick has gotten a little bit old for me, but I still enjoy the episodes when I get down to watching them.  Hard to resist Nathan Fillion, after all, and that glorious, glorious nose. (Returning)

The Playboy Club (NBC) – 10pm – Sure, it stars Dimples, which ordinarily would be enough to get me to tune in (mrrowl!), but the thing is, I can’t think of a premise for a TV show that could possibly appeal to me less.  And Dimples, while cute, doesn’t inspire confidence it’s going to be terribly thoughty.  Thoughty is the only way a series about Playboy bunnies could work for me.  Without confidence of thoughtiness, I merely have confidence in it inspiring annoyance.  Best to avoid.  I’m plenty annoyed enough these days (hi, Congress!). (New)

Also returning:
Dancing with the Stars (ABC) – 8pm
How I Met Your Mother (CBS) – 8pm
Two and a Half Men (CBS) – 9pm
Hawaii Five-O (CBS) – 10pm

Tuesday, Sept. 20

New Girl (Fox) – 9pm – This new sit-com stars Zooey Deschanel, sister of Emily (star of Bones) and an actress with whom I have kind of a love/hate relationship.  When she’s playing up the incongruity of her big ol’ cutesy doe eyes and super-snarky tongue, she can be fabulous.  But the previews of this show make it look like she might be going the way I hate instead — big ol’ cutesy doe eyes and acting like a dolt.  I have little patience for that character.  But I could be wrong.  Maybe this will be great.  She can be great sometimes.  Rare, but occasional.  You guys watch and let me know.   (New)

Body of Proof (ABC) – 10pm – This series, starring Dana Delaney, had a trial run last spring and obviously did well enough to get picked up for the fall.  Good sign!  I like it enough to want to tune in every week, but I’ll admit I’m frustrated that it’s so exactly like every other female ME series I’ve ever seen.  When you have Dana Delaney as your star, you can push some envelopes, people.  She’s good.  She can take it.  This is too much the usual and not enough China Beach. Here’s hoping the writers have gotten a little more confidence and try to bust out of the box a little this time around. (Returning)

Unforgettable (CBS) – 10pm – This new series follows a former NYC cop, Carrie Wells (played by Poppy Montgomery, one of my least favorite actresses OF ALL TIME, and not just because she’s named “Poppy,” although: that too), who suffers from a condition called hyperthymesia, a rare medical disorder that gives her the ability to remember everything, like it or not.  Though she’s gotten out of the cop business, she gets sucked back in when her boyfriend asks her to consult on a case — and there will also be a long-running subplot about her sister’s murder.  I’ve seen the preview for this series and my guess is it’ll be more forgettable than unforgettable.  Whatever.  I’m game for the pilot, but unless it totally blows me away, I won’t be setting the DVR to “series.” (New)

Also returning:
Glee (Fox) – 8pm
Raising Hope (Fox) – 9:30pm
NCIS and NCIS:LA (CBS) – 8, 9pm

Wednesday, Sept. 21

Modern Family (ABC) – 9pm – Oh my god, I love this show.  This is one of the few sit-coms I not only watch, but I watch IMMEDIATELY every single week.  LOVE!  LOVE!  LOVE!  It’s SO funny and SO sweet and it just doesn’t have a mean bone in its body.  This is probably the returning series I’m most looking forward to this week.  Cannot WAIT to hang out with the fam for another year.  YAY! YAY!  YAY! (Returning)

Revenge (ABC) – 10pm – This new series is supposedly an “adaptation” of Alexandre Dumas’s The Count of Monte Cristo.  It’s about a young woman named Emily Thorne (played by Emily VanCamp from Everwood) who arrives in the Hamptons looking like the usual rich brat there to soak up society, but who instead has a big fat secret — she’s actually there to seek revenge on the people she holds responsible for the death of her father and resultant destruction of her family.  I’m not planning on tuning in for this one — for one thing, I’m not a big Madeline Stowe fan — but if it gets picked up and the buzz is good, I might try to catch up on it later. (New)

Also returning:
Harry’s Law (NBC) – 9pm
CSI (CBS) – 9pm – Now with 100% more Ted Danson!
Law & Order: SVU (NBC) – 10pm
Criminal Minds (CBS) – 9pm

Thursday, Sept. 22

Charlie’s Angels (ABC) – 8pm – When I was in grade school, Charlie’s Angels was one of my favorite shows.  It was about a group of smart women who solved mysteries and had really, really pretty hair — what’s not to love for an 8 year-old?  But I have no interest whatsoever in this reboot, which looks like the hair is going to be the primary focus rather than the smarts.  The original is on DVD — why mess?

 

Whitney (NBC) – 9:30pm – Another sit-com.  This one’s about “modern love” (gak) starring a “happily unmarried couple” (ugh) with a bunch of buddies who think they ought to get hitched (yawn).  Blahbbidy blah blah blah.

 

Prime Suspect (NBC) – 9pm – I desperately want to pretend this show does not exist, but I’ve convinced myself I have to at least watch the pilot before I can officially hate it, so I will.  Have you seen the ads?  They took a classy, smart, emotionally complex woman (Helen Mirren in the original) and turned her into the usual sour, bitchy, gum-cracking, stupid-hat-wearing American female cop character.  The one who can’t keep a boyfriend because she’s just too smart and independent!  The one who abuses her male coworkers to prove she’s as tough as they are!  The one who, and I believe I mentioned this earlier, WEARS A STUPID HAT AND CHEWS GUM WITH HER MOUTH OPEN.  I kind of want to cry, America.  And you thought it was the government making us look like schmucks to the world. . . HELEN GODDAMN MIRREN, people.  This is one British series that should not have been touched by our scummy misogynist hands.

Person of Interest (CBS) – 9pm – Brace yourselves, it’s another J. J. Abrams series!  But, to be honest, I’m kind of looking forward to this one, though I’m also trying not to get my hopes up.  For one thing, it looks like this isn’t going to be a Lost-type thing, with a long, long story arc that fills up with too many clues and not enough explanation.  It looks like there may be an element of that, sure, but that each episode will also have a stand-alone plot.  More like Alias, perhaps.  And the premise sounds kind of fun too — it’s about a presumed-dead CIA agent (played by Jesus) who partners up with a rich dude (played by creepy Michael Emerson) to fight crime.  A little Human Target, but perhaps less playful, which could be good or could be miserably drab.  We can but wait and see.  It ought to at least have some cool gadgets and some decent special effects.  Fingers crossed this one is thoughtful, fun, and intriguing.  Oh, my hopes.  TOO UP!  Stop that!

Also returning:
Grey’s Anatomy (ABC) – 9pm
Parks and Recreation (NBC) – 8:30pm
The Office (NBC) – 9pm
Big Bang Theory (CBS) – 8pm
The Mentalist (CBS) – 10pm

Friday, Sept. 23

A Gifted Man (CBS) – 8pm – CBS canceled the series Medium last year because, apparently, a show about a woman who could see dead people wasn’t getting them high enough ratings.  To replace it, they’ve developed. . . a show about a MAN who can see dead people.  Hmm.  Hokay.  This one stars Patrick Wilson (last seen in the great horror flick Insidious) as a selfish doctor whose wife (played by Jennifer Ehle, yay!) suddenly disappears, causing him to question his place in the world.  Should he stop being a jerk and try to be more like her?  Oh, probably.  I don’t quite understand what the point of this show is going to be — just a feel-good thing about a guy who decides to be nicer to people?  Or will the primary focus be on solving the mystery of his wife’s disappearance?  If the latter, I’m game.  If the former, I’m going to start rooting for Insidious 2 instead.  We’ll see.

Also returning:
Supernatural (CW) – 9pm
Fringe (Fox) – 9pm
CSI: NY (CBS) – 9pm
Blue Bloods (CBS) – 10pm

Sunday, Sept. 25

Pan Am (ABC) – 10pm – I have a feeling a fairly high percentage of people loathe flying on airplanes just as much as I do.  So whose bright idea was it to make a television show about flying on airplanes?   To me, this looks like a soap opera set a few miles above land, which sounds even more staggeringly boring than a cross-country flight.  My neck hurts just thinking about it.  Somebody get me a cocktail and some peanuts.  PASS!

Also returning:
Desperate Housewives (ABC) – 9pm – Final season
CSI: Miami (CBS) – 10pm
The Good Wife (CBS) – 9pm

That’s it for this week!  What are you exciting to try out?  What are you gakking on in theory?  What did you think of last week’s new stuff?  TELL ME EVERYTHING!

17 Responses to “Fall TV Premieres, Sept 19-25”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Can you please come to Georgia and set my DVR to record what you are recording on yours and save me the effort ’cause that’d be great. While you are doing that, I’ll make us some margaritas. Salt or no salt?

  2. Rica Says:

    Thank you for checking this out for me!

    LOVE: Castle, NCIS, Big Bang Theory, Zooey Deschanel.

    LIKE: How I met your mother, Two and a half men.

    Interested in but never seen: Glee, raising hope

    Will watch: BBC series ‘The IT Crowd’, if it has another season

    Probably will watch: Castle and anything else I love and can get streaming on my sister’s cable, or netflix. Eventually.

  3. RogerBW Says:

    I have to say that this is the most blah batch of new shows that I’ve seen for several years.

    Returning shows: I’m still loving Castle, and while I wasn’t super-impressed with Hawaii Five-0 it seemed to have a few interesting ideas, so I’ll give it a shot.

    Will be trying the pilot: Unforgettable, Body of Proof, Revenge

    Will wait for other people’s opinions, but might give a try: New Girl, Charlie’s Angels

    Will need to hear raves about before I bother: everything else

  4. Anonymous Says:

    No Ringer? And I’m kinda looking forward to Grimm, although it’s one of those ‘off’ shows that doesn’t start until October.

    Cheryl

  5. Anonymous Says:

    oops, never mind. That’s what I get for catching up by working backwards. Cheryl

  6. Kristen Says:

    The Middle is also returning on Wednesdays. It’s pretty funny, especially for those of us who grew up in the the Midwest.

  7. Alisa Cabral Says:

    HIMYM – Watched the first eps on Monday, watched 1/2 of the 2nd yesterday, stopped watching so I could watch Dr. Who (I’m watching, hubby is re-watching).
    BBT – Looking forward to, I’m still hoping Leonard ends back w/Penny.
    Castle – 1st eps still sitting in my que. Glad it’s back, but not in a rush to watch it.
    New Girl – Going to give it a chance, we’ll see.

    Looking forward to Fringe and Supernatural. Yummy Dean!!

    Starting watching a new show on Science Chanel, Dark Matters, it’s hosted by John Noble. “Examine what happens when scientific research goes too far.” So far it’s been entertaining.

  8. Hollie Says:

    I just bought the first three seasons of Castle on iTunes, and we’re watching them in order, while simultaneously taping the fourth season on the DVR.

    I’m a little addicted. Greg and the kids will be in Disney World for a week, and I will be at home, whining to myself, but finding comfort in Mr. Fillion.

  9. Liz Says:

    Castle – looking forward to it
    Hawaii 5-0 – Masi Oka is a reg. now, and funny! 1st ep. had Terry
    O’Quinn and James Marsters!
    Body of Proof – derivative, but of a bunch of shows: Shark, House,
    Bones, Crossing Jordan. And Windell Middleton (the
    Budweiser beer delivery guy) makes the show!
    Glee – got so annoying we dropped it early last season
    NCIS – still love, though we gave up on the spin-off pretty quickly
    Modern Family – agree it’s good … but we don’t watch any comedies
    Harry’s Law – okay, undecided; opener did have Mark Valley, though
    Prime Suspect – OMG! Was sure I’d like it because a) I like Maria
    Bello, and b) never saw original!! 😦 Was so horrible
    we couldn’t get through even one ep!
    Person of Interest – pretty good! “Jesus” & “Ben” make a good team
    Good Wife – like pretty well, but HATE that dumb lawyer she likes

  10. KENT Says:

    Masi Oka was great on Heroes and abysmally HORRIBLE on Hawaii 5-0. How Liz can say he is funny is beyond belief. The new detective lady is also one of the new class of boring women actresses. ZERO inflection in her speaking voice. Aweful. Great show that has two characters that stretch my willful suspension of disbelief

  11. megwood Says:

    Thanks for your comment, Kent! But please be cool and don’t pick on other commenters quite so specifically? Comedy is subjective — we all find different things funny!

  12. content management system software Says:

    content management system software…

    […]Fall TV Premieres, Sept 19-25 «[…]…

  13. Deals on americas antiquities Says:

    Deals on americas antiquities…

    […]Fall TV Premieres, Sept 19-25 «[…]…

  14. Best Deals Says:

    Best Deals…

    […]Fall TV Premieres, Sept 19-25 «[…]…

  15. old tv shows Says:

    old tv shows…

    […]Fall TV Premieres, Sept 19-25 «[…]…

Leave a Reply

