MOVIE: Bad Teacher (2011)

Okay, okay, YES, it’s stupid.  And it has a gross fart/poop joke.  AND (gah!) it includes a lengthy scene featuring Justin Timberlake dry-humping Cameron Diaz from behind, which, quite frankly, is something I never need to see EVER AGAIN.

However, I laughed out loud, and loudly, and more than once.  I keep trying to hate Cameron Diaz and I just can’t do it.  Her upper arms are phenomenal!  And her smile just makes me happy, even though it’s borderline Heath-Ledger‘s-Joker.

Plus, ex-Boyfriend of the Week Jason Segel!  And future Boyfriend of the Week Eric Stonestreet (the big guy from Modern Family)!  So much to love right there.  Especially Jason Segel as a sharp, sarcastic, pudgily-adorable gym teacher with no upper body strength whatsoever.

It’s fun, ya dig?  The rest just don’t mattah.  After an emotionally challenging Friday, spending my Saturday afternoon with this flick and a friend (who is a teacher and I’m sure was taking notes) was exactly the fixer-upper I needed.  For that alone, I give it all the stars in the world.  Sure, it’s a one-joke schtick.  But you know what?  It’s a pretty funny joke.

Recommended!  If you’re in the mood for a dumb comedy, and you have to choose between Hangover 2 and this one, pick this one.  Nothing to disappoint you here — no expectations.  Just plain ol’ stupid fun.  Perfect.

[Prequeue it at Netflix | View trailer]

Genre: Comedy
Cast: Cameron Diaz, Lucy Punch, Jason Segel, Justin Timberlake, Phyllis Smith, John Michael Higgins, Dave Allen, Eric Stonestreet

Tags:

One Response to “MOVIE: Bad Teacher (2011)”

  1. Liz Says:

    Don’t have time to watch dumb comedies – have too many dumb horror movies to watch! I did see Diaz doing an interview for the movie, and I was taken with something she said. She was very complimentary about all her co-stars, but about J. Segel (sp?) she described him as a comic marksman who is always rigtht on target, and scores a bullseye. I thought that.was quite a thoughtful way of putting it. I do like her – she’s very brave, and does all kinds of work (like singing – very wimpily – in “My Best Friend’s Wedding”). Has anyone seen “Very Bad Things?” My husband was horrified by it, but I laughed. Come to think of it, I might laugh at this one, too – oh well!

Leave a Reply

