Fall TV Part 2b: The Onslaught Continues (Thurs, 9/23 – Sun, 9/26)

Here we go with the second half of the week of TV Avalanchedom (asterisks on “Returning” shows are ones I watch either live or later on DVD):

Thursday, September 23

Returning:
*The Big Bang Theory – CBS – 8pm
*Bones – Fox – 8pm
Community – NBC – 8pm
*30 Rock – NBC – 8:30pm
*CSI – CBS – 9pm
Fringe – Fox – 9pm
*Grey’s Anatomy – ABC – 9pm
*The Office – NBC – 9pm
The Mentalist – CBS – 10pm
Private Practice – ABC – 10pm

New:
My Generation – ABC – 8pm
I’ve been seeing trailers for this series at the movie theater all summer and I have to confess, it has not warmed me to it at all.  STAY OUT OF MY MOVIE THEATER, TV SHOWS!  Is there no freedom from you?  That said, the one thing that makes this show slightly intriguing to me is the faux-documentary format (it introduces us to a group of high schoolers and then shows them to us again 10 years later to see if their predictions, dreams, etc. came true).  We’ve seen it used to great comedic effect in shows like The Office and Parks & Recreation — how about a drama?  The downside, though, is that it sounds like Thirtysomething, except it’s really more like Twentysomething, and the only thing more annoying to me than whiny 30 year-olds are whiny 20 year-olds.  Not planning to tune into this one.  Ya’ll let me know if I was misguided.

$#*! My Dad Says – CBS – 8:30pm
I was an early follower of Justin Halpern on Twitter (where he first began to tweet “shit [his] dad said”) and usually got a pretty good laugh out of 95% of his posts.  But a TV series?  I’m not sure.  I’m just not at all sure.  The upside:  William Shatner!  The downside:  William Shatner!  It all hinges on The Shat, which can be a dangerous situation for any TV show to be put in.  Can he do it?  Probably.  But this may be a one-trick pony whose trick gets pretty old fast.  We’ll see.

Outsourced – NBC – 8:30pm
Inspired by the indie film starring Josh Hamilton, this sit-com is about an American toy company exec sent overseas to train a bunch of Indian call center employees.  Fish outta water.  Been there, done that.  Pass.

Friday, September 24

Returning:
*Medium – CBS – 8pm
Smallville – The CW – 9pm
CSI: NY – CBS – 9pm
The Good Guys – Fox – 9pm
*Supernatural – The CW – 9pm

New:
Blue Bloods – CBS- 10pm
This is one of the few shows this year I’m kind of hopeful about.  I like three of its stars (Tom Selleck, Donnie Wahlberg, and Bridget Moynhan), and I’m intrigued by the idea of a cop family — cop dad, cop kids, cop everybody — as the focus of a TV series.   Don’t be too precious about this one, though, CBS.   Is my suggestion.

Sunday, September 26

Returning:
The Simpsons – Fox – 8pm
The Amazing Race – CBS – 8:30pm
Desperate Housewives – ABC – 9pm
*Dexter – Showtime – 9pm
Family Guy – Fox – 9pm
Bored to Death – HBO – 9pm

12 Responses to “Fall TV Part 2b: The Onslaught Continues (Thurs, 9/23 – Sun, 9/26)”

  1. RogerBW Says:

    I’ll continue with Bones, the CSIs and The Good Guys (which is not so much returning as continuing); haven’t been watching any of the other returners, and none of the new shows here seems much fun. So are they putting “new stuff RogerBW likes” into the first half of the week? What does this say about my demographic? (panic, panic)

  2. megwood Says:

    That you have better things to do on Friday and Saturday nights?

  3. megwood Says:

    made my day to see that the dvr had taped modern family last night! this new tv stuff might not be so bad after all! i’m excited about blue bloods! we’ll see.

  4. megwood Says:

    Oops! I’m logged in as you!! :0) It’s Marni. Logging out now!!

  5. Kim Says:

    You didn’t mention any of the FX series…”Sons of Anarchy” started again three weeks ago and one of their new series “Terriers” started at the same time. I love SoA, though it can occasionally be pretty violent. Terriers is showing some promise. What I like generally about Fox series is that not every one is 24 years old (and a lawyer or doctor already – go figure) and beautiful/skinny. There seem to be more real looking people with interesting issues.

    Oh and Hawaii 5-0…yawn.

  6. megwood Says:

    I mentioned SoA the first week, but it started, like Terriers, before I started doing the TV posts. I haven’t seen Terriers yet, but have it recorded. SoA is brilliant this year!

  7. Liz Says:

    Okay, okay – I now like Michael Imperioli! I liked “Detroit 187,” and I liked him without even knowing who he was. IMDb filled me in. The show does remind me of “NYPD Blues,” but since I always liked that show, that’s not a bad thing!

    I couldn’t get through more than about 20-25 minutes of “The Event” before I decided it just wasn’t worth it! And I like Jason Ritter – just not enough, I guess.

    I’m also looking forward to “Blue Bloods” – but mostly, for Donnie Wahlberg. Sellek is okay, but I never watched “Magnum,” or those “Jesse Stone” things – I only saw him in other stuff.

    Heh! I think “Medium” is “the show that wouldn’t die!” First, NBC canceled it, but CBS picked it up, then, when everyone thought it was over last season, here it is again, and “Ghost Whisperer” is the one that lost out – Yay! Last year, I predicted that one of those two would have to go – and, IMHO, they picked the right one!

    I now love “Psych” – and have this blog to thank, because at first I wouldn’t watch it, because I was miffed that “The 4400” had been canceled. Talk about “cutting off your nose to spite your face!” I’m hoping “The Defenders” will have some of that “banter” and “jocularity.”

  8. megwood Says:

    Ooh, a Psych convert! Lady, you have many many hours of guffaws ahead of you. Especially if you love 80’s jokes!

  9. megwood Says:

    Also, funny you mention NYPD Blue because that one older detective on Detroit was the lieutenant on Blue, wasn’t he? I’d go look it up myself, except I know if I ask you, IMDb-ace, you won’t be able to resist looking it up yourself and reporting back to me! You kind of rule like that. 🙂

  10. Liz Says:

    Refer back to first part of your TV write-up! I did’t even have to check IMDb; I just sort of knew!

    However, I was rather mixed up about The A Team. I thought Dwight Shultz played Face! That’s another show I never watched!

  11. briantoohey Says:

    The Office is still as funny as ever. 30 Rock is still hit or miss, but hilarious when it hits, and Community is on the future DVD list.

    Season 1 of The Mentalist was frakkin’ amazing tv right up there with House in terms of being compelling, featuring a fascinating lead with social problems, and being supported by a top-notch cast. But I didn’t have time for Season 2, and so now I’m behind and need to catch up on DVD.

    My Generation just looked painfully… painful, and I’m with you on The Shat being a double-edge sword on Shit. I’ll check that one out (or not) based on word-of-mouth. Same for Outsourced, which looks alternately promising and disposable/forgettable. I’ve already spoken to The Good Guys and Blue Bloods in other comments, and Dexter and Bored to Death (I’ve seen Season 1 of that) are on my DVD list since I’m not an HBO subscriber. Dexter is the bomb, but the last season I saw was the Jimmy Smits season, so I’m two behind at the moment.

  12. megwood Says:

    Oh man, I haaaaated The Mentalist. The only thing good about it, from my perspective, was the endless fodder it created for jokes on Psych, which is a LOT more fun. (Though if you haven’t seen that yet, don’t give up if Season One doesn’t pull you right in — it got better as it went.)

    I love Dexter too, though so far the new season has been a bit of a slog. Hoping it’ll pick up soon. I think you’ll like the John Lithgow season — season 4. Check it out, du’!

Leave a Reply

