MOVIE: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (2010)

Good goddamn.  You know what I love?  I love that there are people who are capable of thinking this kind of stuff up.  And not only that there are people who are capable of thinking this kind of stuff up, but that those people LIVE ON MY PLANET.  With me!  I’m an Earthling, just like them!  Heck, in the Great Cosmic Scheme of Things TM, we’re practically cousins!

Life is so, so sweet when you look at it that way, isn’t it?  Man, what a great planet this is.

Look, if you see one movie this year — ONE MOVIE — treat yourself to a truly grand time and make it this one (and that goes double if you’re in your mid-30’s-to-early-40’s, which is about how old I’d guess the makers of this film are based on the style and humor).  The opening 8-bit Universal logo and corresponding theme made me laugh out loud with glee (Atari 2600!  Oh, my misspent youth!), and I pretty much didn’t stop laughing like that until the very end. (p.s. Boyfriend Alert: Brandon Routh!  Nice to see you again, sir!)

Brilliant.  I know not what more to say.  SEE THIS MOVIE.

[Prequeue at Netflix | View trailer]

Genre: Comedy, Action
Cast: Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Kieran Culkin, Chris Evans, Anna Kendrick, Alison Pill, Brandon Routh, Jason Schwartzman

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “MOVIE: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (2010)”

  1. Trip Says:

    OK, so I’m curious….how does the story manage to maintain freshness and viewer interest through SEVEN fight scenes of cutesy video game references?

  2. Jo Says:

    We just saw this on Saturday! About a zillion times during the movie, my husband leaned over and whispered, “This has got to be the weirdest movie I’ve ever seen.” But he meant it in a good way.

    I’m not much of a gamer so I missed probably 90% of the in jokes, but loved it anyway.

  3. megwood Says:

    Trip, I confess I think 5 would’ve been better than 7 — I got just SLIGHTLY impatient for a few minutes in the middle. But it was well worth it!

  4. Trip Says:

    Hmmm….OK…but the relentless marketing beating I’ve been taking from this movie over the last few weeks has made me dizzy and needing a 1UP very badly.

    I mean, I loved Shaun and Hot Fuzz – is this one even in their ballpark?

  5. megwood Says:

    It’s different from Shaun and Hot Fuzz in that it’s not at all British humor, and British humor is so, so different from American humor. BUT I still really enjoyed it. I laughed a lot. I loved the characters and effects. It’s fun. It’s not brilliant, it’s just really fun.

    Piranha 3-D, on the other hand. . . (review coming soon).

  6. Tweets that mention MOVIE: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (2010) « -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by just chris , Meg Wood. Meg Wood said: Changing my name to Knives Chau pronto. https://megwood.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/movie-scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world-2010/ […]

  7. TC Says:

    I guess I could have understood this movie better if I was a socially awkward gamer, went to Comicon every year, or treated my ADHD with mushrooms.

    Watched it twice and finally gave up on it.

  8. megwood Says:

    It also helps if you enjoy making fun of indie bands and hipsters. As the writers of this film clearly do.

Leave a Reply

