MOVIE: The Road (2009)

Movie’s fine.  Viggo’s good.  Book was about a thousand times better.

Man, I’m bummed out.

[Netflix it | Buy it | Buy the book instead]

Genre:  Drama, Post-Apocalypse
Cast:  Viggo Mortensen, Kodi Smit-McPhee, Charlize Theron, Robert Duvall, Guy Pearce, Garret Dillahunt, Michael K. Williams, Molly Parker

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “MOVIE: The Road (2009)”

  1. megwood Says:

    (p.s. Am I the only one who watched this and kept thinking, “Hey, laughing boy! One bullet weft!”? Yeah, probably.)

  2. Liz Says:

    Okay, I’m confused (as usual)! I could have sworn that you already wrote about this movie, but I CAN’T FIND IT! I remember it was in conjunction with another movie, but I CAN’T REMEMBER WHAT THAT ONE WAS! Oy veh – help!

  3. megwood Says:

    Nope, this was the first time I’d seen it, so it can’t have been me. Though I did reference this film when I wrote about Rob Zombie’s Halloween 2 last summer. They played the trailer for The Road incessantly last summer and there was a scene in H2 that made me think of it and snicker.

    That’s it, though! I mean, I also reviewed the book, but that was several years ago.

  4. Liz Says:

    THAT’S IT! “Halloween II” totally did the S-word! I don’t even remember a road scene.

  5. Jackie Ward Says:

    THE ROAD has to be THE most depressing (& dumb) films I’ve ever tried to watch. I say “tried” because after the first 30 minutes I couldn’t take it any longer. Give me that one bullet & let me shot the tv. No, on second thought, I’l just eject the disc & try to leave the road behind me.

  6. megwood Says:

    Ha, Jackie! That just made me laugh out loud, darlin’! Try the book, if you haven’t read it already? It’s about 1000 times better.

  7. TC Says:

    I loved the movie but they should have stuck to the book much more.
    Especially the baby on the spit part. What kind of end of the world movie is unless you have the baby on the barbie?

Leave a Reply

