MOVIE: Junkbucket (2008)

To be honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect from this film.  It was made by a friend of a friend and seemed to have quite a little following of fans here in Seattle, but a lot of the super-low-budget horror movies I’ve seen have ended up being insufferably stupid,with lame local actors who can’t act, shoddy writing, and unbearably bad production work.  Also, the premise of this film, which I’ll get to in a moment, did not inspire a tremendous amount of optimism in me, I’ll confess.  (I suspect the filmmaker might see this review at some point, by the way, so if you’re reading this, Mr. Lange, please read on because I’m about to get super-duper nice, I swear.)

Color me surprised, though, this movie is actually pretty damn hilarious and even as I was rolling my eyes at some parts, I was laughing at the same time — both of those things, I believe, by absolute design.  Now that’s how you make these things right, people!

The story is about a group of early 20-somethings who have gotten together to help their friend clean out her parents’ cabin at Lake Pakajanomo after her folks died in a tragic accident.  They’re there for moral support, but they’re also there to drink lots, smoke a lot of pot, and have a lot of sex.  Ah ha, the perfect recipe for slasher-movie killings galore!

On their way to the woods, they pick up a hitchhiker who has with him a bag full of weapons (note to all 20-somethings: under most circumstances, you should probably leave guys like that by the side of the road).  Later that night, he tells them a story around the campfire about the very woods they’re staying in.  It’s the tale of a mutant kid, the product of incest, abandoned in the woods by his mother years ago.  Before leaving him there to die, she cut off his, well, his “junk” (ahem) so he could never reproduce, leaving the pieces in a bucket next to his body.  As legend goes, though, he lived, and now roams the woods wearing the bucket on his head, looking for people to de-junk and then kill.

When the group reacts to this tale with horror, the hitchhiker laughs it off, saying it’s just a story.  But later that night, the killings begin, and he’s forced to admit the truth: Junkbucket exists and the hitchhiker’s come to the woods with his bag of weapons to take him down at last.

The thing that makes this completely ridiculous story entertaining is the sharply-written dialogue, which had me laughing out loud more than once.  It’s clear the makers of this film are avid horror fans, and the movie is packed full of nods to other classics with an overall eye towards satire of the genre.  It’s about as low-budget as they come in terms of production quality, but the actors are surprisingly talented, the writing is completely solid, and the story, well, let’s just say I found this to be a pretty unique spin on the old “demented killer in the woods” tale.

I’m not sure if you can find this film anywhere — I got a copy by sending a donation to the filmmakers through my friend to help support their goal for a sequel (what can I say?  I’m a sucker for people who love making movies).  But if you ever DO come across it, I’d say it’s definitely worth checking out.  Hey, it features a sex scene involving an accordion and a mime.  That’s worth the price of admission right there, am I right?

I am so, so right.

Great work, Mr. Lange!  Hot diggity.  I look forward to Junkbucket 2, and if you need any extras, I’d be happy to volunteer my time.  (But only if I get to keep my junk — that goes in my contract, for reals.)

UPDATE! To get a copy of Junkbucket sent to you, send $10 to director Steve Lange via PayPal using the email address mcslange@yahoo.com. You can also use that email to contact him if PayPal ain’t yo’ thang.  Please don’t steal the movie off a Torrent site. These guys worked hard and they’re trying to make a sequel — ten bucks seems a small price to pay to support both films.

[Junkbucket on Facebook | PayPal.com (send funds to user “mcslange@yahoo.com”)]

Genre: Horror
Cast: Erin Stewart, Scott Baxter, Celene Ramadan, David Rollison, Steve Lange, Ryan Miller

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “MOVIE: Junkbucket (2008)”

  1. Liz Says:

    Sounds relatively entertaining – maybe it will turn up around here some time. Hmmm: an accordion and a mime, huh??

  2. Amanda Says:

    Yo!!! I checked to see if the movie was on torrents by an off chance and IT WAS!!!

    I can’t wait to finish it!!!

  3. megwood Says:

    Hey, Amanda! I took the link to the torrent site off your post and strongly encourage you to send Steve Lange ten bucks now that you’ve seen the film (he’ll send you a DVD so you can see it AGAIN! Sweet!). Instructions on how to get a copy of the film have now been added to the review above.

    It’s easy and fast and you’ll help support independent filmmaking. For TEN DOLLARS! Get out, that is rad!

    No stealing, y’all. These are people like you and me slaving away for peanuts to get their art made, not Hollywood knuckleheads with bazillions to blow. Support, don’t steal!

  4. Amanda Says:

    Will do!!! Sooo worth it!

  5. TC Says:

    I think I’ll check this one out!

  6. megwood Says:

    It’s hard to find — gotta go through Steve Lange to get it. He’s awesome, though! And making a sequel. Support local, independent horror flick makers! Look forward to your opinion of it if you watch, TC.

Leave a Reply

