New Boyfriend Is Up!

This one is a Mother’s Day gift to my mom, my number one fan.

(It also served as a reminder that I need to add the word “humina” to my spellcheck dictionary.)

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mommas out there!  And to all you non-mommas  too, who do your mothering in a different way (aunts, friends, pet owners, caretakers and builders of all kinds).

http://megwood.com

Love,
Meg

16 Responses to “New Boyfriend Is Up!”

  1. Beth Says:

    It sounds like you and your mother are very lucky indeed to have one another, what a wonderful write-up. 🙂

    I remember Mark from Days of Our Lives, and I was delighted to see him again on Fringe (although he didn’t last long). I haven’t seen Human Target yet, but a close friend simply adores the show so I plan to catch up once it’s on dvd. Oh, and I was a Santa Barbara watcher too, but I’m sad to say I don’t remember the mountain man. I was a big fan of Mason Capwell, though, and I love to see Lane Davies pop up on TV from time to time.

    I still miss Pushing Daisies, but not enough to go see Marmaduke. 😉

  2. Beth Says:

    Oh, I almost forgot! Your posts ALWAYS make me laugh. 😀

  3. Cheryl Says:

    If you haven’t seen Mark without his shirt yet, you haven’t watched enough episodes. Get on it, Girl!!

    I believe I may have tried to turn you on to Mr Deltoids-
    Triceps-Abs (shirtless coming up for you) and chin BEFORE ‘Fringe’ OR ‘Boston Legal’, when he was in a very cute detective comedy called Keen Eddie (insert polishing of fingernails on shirt here, followed by blow-buff). Also stars Seinna Miller, but don’t hold that against it. Also stars Julian Ruind-Tutt (never destined for boyfriend status but..) and Colin Salmon (boyfriend potential but hasn’t passed the no shirt test yet.)

    You do indeed make me laugh. All the time.

    Except today. You made me cry. Not your fault, really. My mom is leaving slowly via Altzheimers. And my college-age daughter still appears to believe I am below slugs on the deserves-respect ladder. (Not to worry for long, though, have father, husband, and son to make up for it.)

  4. marni Says:

    Yep, Mom’s the coolest. And you guys do have a spectacular relationship. You really did get so much of that wonderful lady.
    Thanks for the laughs. It WAS a shame when Kelly crashed in the snow and suffered from amnesia for so long! And Western Barbie had scary GIANT blue eye shadow, but she DID wink when you pressed her back! And most importantly, I think Mom gave her to you because you both loved horses. See, one more thing you guys share.
    Love you both! And yes, you are a spare mom to my kids and to your own baby, Lucky, who drives you nuts in the same way that all kids drive their moms nuts.
    Love you sweetums!! Chin up! And you ARE hilarious. I DO hope that someday you’ll write a novel, and one more in the vein of Bridget Jones than some serious Civil War business. You need to use your wonderful gift of humor, particularly in the Psych-1980s reference way. There’s my two cents. So get cracking!!

  5. Ashleigh Pursell Says:

    He also used to be in the Air Force and served in Desert Storm…. As a member of the Air Force, I have to love him.

    Keen Eddie is great by the way… Sienna Miller or not.

  6. Liz Says:

    Great choice for a boyfriend! And that was such a touching tribute to your mom. Lee and I watched “Boston Legal” ALL THE TIME. I didn’t O.D. on “Capt. Kirk” – maybe because I NEVER liked “Capt. Kirk” (give me Spock any day – I said, GIVE ME SPOCK – “old” or “new”) – and I thought “Denny Crane” was funny.

    But poor Mark – he got lost amongst all those crazy characters on that show. He did get better and better, and funnier, too! I loved the rivalry he had with the Craig Bierko character, that culminated in a big knock down – drag out, when they both showed up for a costume thing dressed as the astronaut from “Toy Story!” He also had a shirt changing scene, which easily rivaled Harrison Ford’s, in “Working Girl,” which I’m sure was supposed to be a parallel.

    I thought his part in “Fringe” was very interesting – but I’m kind of glad they didn’t try to stretch it any further. Now he’s got his own show, which he fully deserves. I hope it continues to be successful for a long time!

    And BTW: you ARE very funny, but if you’re doing some writing on the Civil War, YOU GO, GIRL!

  7. megwood Says:

    Cheryl, I’m so, so sorry to hear about your mom — that must be unbelievably hard. If it’s any consolation about your daughter, though, my mother and I didn’t become truly close until AFTER college. College is a rough time for everyone involved. Gotta grow up, and everybody gets scared of that and takes it out on everybody else. Once things settle down, then the real bonding, adult-to-adult can begin. And it’s awesome.

    Liz, I have a draft of a Civil War novel and, wonder of wonders, it’s not even that terrible (I finally reread it recently), though I’m sure a LOT of the factual stuff is painfully incorrect. That’ll need some serious time and work. I should send you a draft at some point for some assistance on the details! But Marni, I’m about to start another “write a novel in a month” project with a friend and fellow writer, and am going comedy this time! I’ll send YOU a draft of that one.

    Thanks everybody, for your comments on my making you laugh. I should fish for compliments more often! 🙂

  8. Florence Says:

    I’m a bit late to the party here, but I had to add my two cents. I think I have been reading your blog for about 8 years now, and it always makes me laugh-or at least chuckle!:) But I always take something away-and while I can’t read or watch all that you reccommend, I often find something that I wouldn’t have, had I not read your review (Boneshaker comes to mid as of late-I agree in the right hands what an awesome movie that would make!!!)
    We all need a laugh-so keep them coming.

  9. marni Says:

    I’m sure the Civil War one is incredible too!! I just think that humor is where your true genius resides.

  10. Liz Says:

    Marni, you are a GREAT sister! You and Meg remind me to appreciate MY sister (although, a twin she most definitely is NOT), and our mother. It’s great to see what a supportive family you have.

  11. marni Says:

    Gee, thanks, Liz!! They’re certainly easy to love!!

  12. megwood Says:

    Marni is a great sister, as evidenced by the fact she just described me as “easy to love”! 🙂

  13. Meg2 Says:

    I am thinking if you deducted points for not taking his shirt off, you missed the episode Corners. Shirtless and fabulous!

    I love reading your posts. Always entertaining.

  14. Ashleigh Pursell Says:

    I love the show Keen Eddie… I rewatch it about once a year, and I bought it on a whim one day years ago. It was such a great show…

    Mr. Valley’s eyes get to me, even with that blond hair of his hovering over them… such eyes he has

  15. fifi Says:

    I’ve only just found your blog and only found Mark Valley this Christmas. We’re slow over here in the UK (Human Target only just landed on terrestial TV).

    Your comment about Chi McBride and Mark Valley getting their shirts off at the same time made me laugh out loud!

    If you want pictures of him shirtless check out :

    http://www.squarehippies.com/2010/01/mark-valley-in-human-target/

Leave a Reply

