MOVIE: Jennifer’s Body (2009)

Here’s another movie I thought for sure would be a total stinker.  I mean, first of all, Megan Fox doesn’t really inspire much in the way of brilliant-film confidence (my deepest apologies to fans of Transformers 2: Revenge of the Blah Blah Blah), and for another, the plot just sounded sort of annoying.  From what I’d read, it was going to be about a gorgeous, “over-sexed” (whatever that really means) teenage girl who is used in a virgin sacrifice, only it turns out she was not, in fact, a virgin (gasp!) and so instead of dying or whatever, she turns into an evil succubus, devouring all the men who are attracted to her in some sort of sex-object-payback revenge fantasy.

Tsk, what, THAT again?

And, yeah, as it turns out, that’s pretty much exactly what this movie is about, and it’s pretty much exactly as bad as that makes it sound.  But, believe it or not (and I suspect you will, knowing me as you do), I kind of enjoyed this one.  Though a lot of it made little sense, in part because it seemed like the screenwright (Diablo Cody of Juno fame) didn’t want to waste time making sense, it pretty much had me signed on the moment it turned out the devil worshippers of evil and doom were an indie rock band (headed by a guy named “Nikolas” — the Transylvanian spelling is your first clue he’s EVIL —  played by ex-Boyfriend of the Week Adam Brody and an entire line of Maybelline cosmetics).

Man, I KNEW indie rock bands were the devil’s work (The Decemberists and The Long Winters not included, naturally).

As I said, this film was written by Diablo Cody, and it suffers slightly from the same “I’m so hip! Look at how hip I am!” dialogue problems that Juno had (endearing and even authentically clever and hilarious at times, but a bit on the heavy, overdone side — does anybody REALLY talk like that?).  But its effects are delightfully gross and overall, I thought this was a darn decent horror-comedy.  Worth a rental for fans of either the genre or Megan Fox’s boobs.  Also, J. K. Simmons, I adore you.  Never go away.  Never.

[Netflix it | Buy it]

Genre:  Horror
Cast:  Megan Fox, Amanda Seyfried, Adam Brody, J. K. Simmons, Amy Sedaris

Tags:

7 Responses to “MOVIE: Jennifer’s Body (2009)”

  1. Marni Says:

    The Transformers Blah Blah Blah made me laugh. So did the use of Succubus in a sentence. I think that was a first for me. I love your writing. I really, really do. You were spot on with the Juno talking. I remember going to see that movie with you and rolling my eyes in the first 10 minutes because of the I’m so cool dialogue. Then I loved every minute of the rest of it.

  2. Liz Says:

    I love your writing too. I also love “Whedon-speak.” I once told someone (named Cheryl) that I recognized her because she had “Cheryl hair” – a direct extension of Buffy’s use of the term “but face,” meaning “you’re about to say ‘but’.”

  3. Trip Says:

    Whew – quiet around here. Time to fire up the comments –

    QUESTION: what was the one scene in your favorite TV series that made you instantly realize you were fully bought in to the bitter end?

    I’ll start: the Alias pilot where Sydney Bristow unleashes a surprisingly violent (for network TV) yet immensely satisfying kung-fu smackdown on two menacing bad guys in an underground garage, only to escape when her estranged father shows up revealing himself as a secret agent himself. I came off the couch and cheered – not many shows can make me do that.

    Plus, I always loved how the writers always found a way to dress her up in some skimpy Euro-techno-babe outfit, sneak into the boss’s office in the swanky club with the safe containing whatever plot device was needed, get caught by X number of goons 3x her size, and having her beat them all senseless with broomsticks, or fishbowls, or whatever else was handy.

    It all went off the rails by the third season, but it was great fun while it lasted.

  4. megwood Says:

    I’ve been out of town, hence the silence, but will have about 9 movie reviews up in the next few days, assuming I can remember everything I just watched. Alas, I left my movie note-taking notebook on the damn train, so if you guys end up with a 9-film haiku bulk review again this round, you’ll know why. Will have the latest McQueen up today, though, and a review of North Face, which I saw right before I left on my trip, up tomorrow.

    Alias was incredible. Even when it started to get ridiculous, I still couldn’t stop watching it. I’m trying to think of something comparable for me — going to have to ponder this a while. I will say that I had almost given up on Lost when suddenly Daniel Faraday showed up and starting talking about physics. That brought me riiiiight back in the game. I don’t even care if the science makes sense, Carlton Cuse, just promise me — PROMISE ME — the answer is not going to be “magic.”

  5. Trip Says:

    Is North Face the WWII-era German mountain climbing movie? I think I heard seriously good buzz on that one…as in best ever of its type.

    BSG’s moments for me was the 2nd season ender where the story jumps ahead a full year, the colony gets found and occupied, and the fleet’s remnants jump. I loved the sheer gutsiness of such a radical change of direction for that (or any) show.

    Plus the start of season 3 when they free-fall Galactica /i> into the atmosphere to launch the rescue attempt, then it jumps away near the surface – WAY cool scene as well.

  6. megwood Says:

    Oh, you know, BSG for me was when they did the episode with the documentary filmmakers and ended with the original theme song. I was bawling, and totally in for the ride at that point. Really, make me nostalgic for my youth, and you’ve got me forever.

  7. Meredith Says:

    BEST MOVIE EVERRRR!!!

Leave a Reply

