Best of 2009 Lists Up at the Boyfriend of the Week!

Finally finished my annual list of best books, good movies, and bad movies read/seen in the last year.  Check it out and let me know if I missed any of your favorites!  And Happy 2010 to all you guys.  Thanks for reading and here’s to another 12 months of incredibly cute boys.

http://megwood.com

9 Responses to “Best of 2009 Lists Up at the Boyfriend of the Week!”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    I listened to “Assassination Vacation” as an audiobook, read by Sarah Vowell. Like David Sedaris, I strongly believe that their writings are even better when read by them. Vowell manages to take history, make it personal and make it interesting.

    It was a very disappointing movie year for me. The only movies that I would recommend are “Adventureland” and “(500) Days of Summer”. And then a 2009 movie that I saw a week ago, “A Single Man”.

    I hope to see “The Hurt Locker” and “Inglorious Basterds” when Netflix finally decides to send them to me.

  2. megwood Says:

    I ALMOST put Adventureland on the list! But it got edged out by Coraline. Haven’t seen (500) Days of Summer yet, but am looking forward to it!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    500 Days of Summer was much better than I thought it would be. Enjoy!

  4. Liz Says:

    Boy, oh boy! I haven’t done very well on your lists at all (although I always read, and love, all your reviews)!

    I haven’t read ANY of the books (even “Moby Dick,” though I did read Melville’s “Billy Budd” in school)! I’ve seen ONE Good Movie – “Star Trek,” and ONE Bad Movie – “My Name is Bruce.” Although, I’m not sure about the croc movies; they both sound familiar, but you’re right about the formula of such flicks – how much variety can there really be?

    I’m definitely interested in “Boneshaker,” and I remember seeing an interview on TV about the father and son who did “Beautiful Boy” and “Tweak.” I’ve got “The Hurt Locker” and “Inglourious Basterds” on my Netflix queue, and I’m going to add “Zombieland” and “The Hangover.” However, I have decided that I’m NOT going to see “Avatar,” because the idea offends me of putting down money for a movie that has nothing going for it but special FX. “Gollum” in “Lord of the Rings” was great, but a whole movie of “Gollum?”

    I am torn about “Let the Right One In.” It sounds so good, but, having tried to watch “The Devil’s Backbone,” and failing miserably with the sub-titles, I’m afraid of any foreign language film. I’d read the book, but you suggest seeing the movie first, so I’m not sure what to do!

    One more thing: I just saw “Mega-Shark vs. Giant Octopus” on TV! That DEBACLE has got to be the greatest good-bad movie I’ve ever seen! It was so unbelievably stupid that I COULDN’T turn it off! I kept thinking, “This is a real Meg Special!”

  5. megwood Says:

    Oh, I was REALLY disappointed in Mega Shark, alas. I reviewed that one earlier this year. I didn’t even find it fun-bad. Just unbearably bad! Too much money spent getting Debbie Gibson, not enough on the actual monsters, who looked like bath toys filmed in close up to me. Fooey. I had been so excited to see it, in part because it got a surprisingly amount of buzz — even made it into a strip from Sally Forth! But, meh.

    I should watch it again now that I have even fewer expectations, I suppose.

    I think you’ll like Zombieland a lot, Liz!

  6. Liz Says:

    I think expectations have a LOT to do with how much you like a movie. I well remember your review of “M-S. vs. G-O.,” so I was EXPECTING it to be really stupid. What entertained me was exactly HOW stupid it was! I so agree about how everything looked like little bathtub toys photographed in close-up! See it again, KNOWING how STOOPID it is, and I do think you’ll enjoy it.

    What gets me mad is when I’m expecting something to be good – or be scary – and I don’t get it! I’m learning to realize that sometimes I just have to see something twice, or at least rewind, so I can listen again.

    BTW, I have a riddle for Any-and-Everybody: What’s another name for a killer croc/alligator movie that’s really BAD? Talk amongst yourselves – I’ll wait…

  7. Florence Says:

    Have to say-I watched “Let the Right One In” after reading your inital review -and was blown away. Beautiful movie-can’t believe I am saying that about a vampire movie-but you’ve got to see it to understand. It’s actually rather quiet film, which made me completely forget about the subtitles. Loved this movie. Have the book on my list-can’t wait to read this one.

  8. Jamie Says:

    I highly recommend “Going Bovine” by Libba Bray. Based on your eclectic tastes, I think the book would be right up your alley. I think I’m bumping it to my favorite book spot.

    Happy reading!

  9. Vicki Says:

    I quarrel with none of your choices. But I offer a plug for Margaret Atwood’s “Year of the Flood,” which was a lot better than its precursor, “Oryx and Crake.” I’m off to read your take on Timothy Olyphant.

Leave a Reply

