Men of a Certain Age — Thirtysomething Without All the Babies

Are you guys watching Men of a Certain Age Monday nights on TNT?  It’s really good.  Watch it.  It makes me think of Thirtysomething, except there aren’t any obnoxious babies (and by “babies,” I refer less literally to infants and more metaphorically to the infantile).  You’re only four episodes behind if you leap in right now and you’ll catch on fast.  So leap, already.  Leap!  Scott Bakula was actually a Boyfriend of the Week, you old-timers might remember, but I lost his write-up years ago in a terrible server transition accident.   Plans to refeature him reignited immediately upon seeing him as a messy-haired 40-something.   And Andre Braugher, of course, long, long  overdue.  And Ray Romano!  Who would’ve thought, Ray Romano!  I’m in love.  Loving it.  Loving it.  In love with it.  I love it.

And Happy New Year!  My write-up with the tops of 2009 will be appearing shortly.  Hang in, hang in, I will see you soon, my friends.

6 Responses to “Men of a Certain Age — Thirtysomething Without All the Babies”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    Happy 2010 to Meg and all her followers!

    Geez, I only lasted about 20 minutes with this show. All the whining irritated me. And I SO wanted it to be good because I’m desperate for a regular Andre Braugher fix. I’ll have to resort to rewatching this season’s premiere of “House” and “Homicide:LOTS” reruns. Any day with a bit of Frank Pembleton is a better day.

  2. Liz Says:

    Scott Bakula, forty-something? Puh-lease! He was LATE 40-something in “Enterprise.” He must have been a baby in “Quantum Leap!” Maybe he’s really Merlin in disguise, and ages backwards! After all, if Sam Neill can do it….

  3. jo Says:

    I love this show! OK, I’ve only actually seen it once, because I’m terrible about remembering when things are one, but the one time I saw it I loved it.

  4. Shelly Says:

    My husband and I are LOVING it. We missed the first episode, but have seen all the others so far.

  5. Sherri Says:

    Yes, yes, yes!! So glad I’m not the only one. Not only do I like the show but I LOVE the music.

  6. Florence Says:

    I agree-this is a good one-I am hooked-and I think Scott Bakula is aging very nicely! But I also agree that he’s got to be more of a 50-something by now. 🙂 Andre Braugher is good as ever-and who woulda thunk-Ray Ramano? He’s really good in this though.

Leave a Reply

