New Boyfriend is Up!

I really wanted to get this one posted before Halloween but failed miserably.  The good news, though, is that it tastes really good with leftover Halloween candy.  So, go grab a “fun-sized” something or other, plunk yourself somewhere comfy, and hit the Boyfriend of the Week site to see who the new fellow is.  You might want to finish eating before you get to the first mention of that knife-in-the-Achilles scene, though.  If you’re squeamish.

Don’t forget to come back here for comments and conversation when you’re done!

http://megwood.com

29 Responses to “New Boyfriend is Up!”

  1. Caitlin Says:

    Goodness, woman. You have great taste (both in men AND movies) One of your best boyfriends yet!

    The following video I am going to post is not particularly revealing or funny or even terribly interesting…but it gives you an idea of how freakin’ young this kid was when he made The Evil Dead:

    “The Classic” does actually play a prominent role in Spiderman. It’s Uncle Ben’s car!

  2. megwood Says:

    Aw, great video!! Thanks for posting that!

    Man, I can’t believe I missed The Classic as Uncle Ben’s car! DUH!!!

  3. kudzu Says:

    Hey – isn’t Sam Raimi actually the guitar player from REM, Peter Buck….is it like, a sideline?

  4. alisaj29 Says:

    I’m one of the lucky few who has not seen Darkman, but I have seen The Shadow, and I wish Sam had directed that movie, because it SUCKED.

    I have seen The Quick and The Dead, and dispite it having L.D, and S.S, I liked the movie. Western’s are not really my fav. genre movie, but having said that I only really like 3 westerns, well 4 if you count The Missing as a western.

    My 1st. favorite is Unforgiven, I still cry when Ned is killed.

    The 2nd is going to be a controversy because…..well it has Mark Wahlberg in it, it’s Purgatory.

    I liked The Gift depsite the fact that I CAN NOT STAND KATIE HOLMES, and I can tolerate Keanu Reeves’s acting as long as there are other actors to focus on, IE Cate Blanchett and Giovanni Ribisi or Tilda Swinton in Constatine. Who knew that Phoebe’s brother was such a good actor.

    I’ve liked the Spiderman movies despite my fear of spiders, and despite the fact that in the last movie, they made Peter Parker into a Dancing Fool, and I don’t mean that nicely, but I don’t think Sam had anything to do w/that movie, right?????

    My husband dragged (stupid pun intended) me to see Drag Me To Hell and I still plan on getting revenge on him for making watch it.

  5. megwood Says:

    Kudzu, awesome.

    Alisa, I can’t believe you didn’t like Drag Me to Hell! That movie is hilarious!

  6. alisaj29 Says:

    Meg – Wanted to like it,but I couldn’t help but to think, “hay isn’t that the Apple Guy, and I wonder if he’s getting back together w/Drew Barrymore, they were such a cute couple”. Plus the sceen with the parents where she couldn’t controll what she was seeing. I mean she baked the cake for crying out loud, i’m pretty sure she knew it wasn’t filled w/bugs, and eyeballs. Maybe I would have liked it if Bruce was in it. 🙂

  7. Anonymous Says:

    First you want to kill me – now you want to kiss me. Blow.

  8. Trip Says:

    Yeah, that was me.

  9. Trip Says:

    Also…anything fun-sized = FAIL

  10. megwood Says:

    Of course that was you, Trip.

    I’m still trying to figure out how making a candy bar smaller makes it more “fun,” myself.

    “Don’t touch that please, your primitive intellect wouldn’t understand alloys and compositions and things with. . . molecular structures.”

  11. Marni Says:

    I remembering really liking The Gift and really being disturbed by, and therefore not liking at all, A Simple Plan. Yes, loved Spidey, and yes, thought Darkman was overdone. You always make me laugh. I loved the “duck” with reference to Greg Kinnear. I forgot about the scene from Spidey 2 – must be time to watch those again.

  12. Liz Says:

    “Evil Dead” – I LOVED IT!
    “Evil Dead II” – Meh!
    “Army of Darkness” – WTF? (A perfect response – thanx)
    “Darkman” – pretty disappointing
    “Quick and the Dead” – pretty okay
    “”The Gift” – quite good
    “A Simple Plan” – didn’t see, because Billy Bob Thornton bothers me
    “Spiderman” – very good – I LOVED that scene you described about the
    passengers on the train that he saves. Was that from the 2nd
    one? I lose track.
    “Drag Me to Hell” – it’s on my Netflix queue (as is “Orphan” and “Zombieland”)
    (I’m afraid “Paranormal A.” sounds kinda dull to me – but
    “2012” looks good, and we’re going to the THEATRE to see
    “Sherlock Holmes” – with RDJ!)
    I’m sensing a BIT of a parallel here!
    BTW, Alisaja- whatever – I agree about “Purgatory” very good and interesting
    And Trip – I also figured out that “Anonymous” was you! 🙂

  13. megwood Says:

    Ooh, I can’t wait to see Sherlock Holmes!! And 2012 looks like a horrible, terrible, awful disaster flick, which means I also cannot wait to see it either. 😉

  14. Trip Says:

    2012 looks like 10 pounds of CGI suck in a 5 pound bag. Is Cusack really that hard up for cash these days?

    There’s a YouTube video out there showing the actors doing the limo-and-airplane getaway scene that’s pretty much all the suck warning you need:

    Holmes looks great. Again, for the record…Rachel McAdams as slinky evil Victorian lingerie naughty = WIN

    Lady, I’m going to have to ask you to leave the store.

  15. alisaj29 Says:

    You see this? This… is my boomstick!

  16. megwood Says:

    Yes! 2012 looks like it could actually end up being THE worst movie of the year. I cannot WAIT to see it. Awesome.

    You’re only noticing now that Cusack is making crap? Did you miss The Contract (straight to DVD!) and 1408, dude? I love it when good actors are willing to appear in trainwreck movies, though. It’s why I still like Gary Oldman.

    “I’ll squash you so hard you’ll have to look down to look up!”

  17. alisaj29 Says:

    “Ask not what your rest home can do for you. Ask what you can do for your rest home. “

  18. Trip Says:

    Actually, uhhhh…I did miss those, but then, sounds like I didn’t really miss anything.

    I do admire the scope of 2012 though. Must have been a real short meeting at the studio – the writers and producers simply agreed to just destroy everything. Beat THAT, future disaster flicks!

    “We drowned Buddhist monks in the Himalayas AND sank California!”

    “Yeah, we did the White House before…but now, it’s a mega tidal wave…no wait…a mega tidal wave rolling an aircraft carrier onto it!”

    “Gentlemen…I have two words. F*CK….and…YES.” (High fives all around, then short crack break.)

    ***
    Good. Bad. I’m the guy with the gun.

  19. megwood Says:

    For reals. All 2012 needs is a frozen mega-shark and giant octopus that thaw out at the same time and start eating the continent from the edges in. Then it would achieve sheer PERFECTION. It’s not too late to put together some footage, guys! All you need is a couple of bath toys and a zoom lens!

  20. Liz Says:

    No wait! The aircraft carrier has to be full of zombies! Only then will the film achieve perfection. BTW, I had a very surreal Halloween, watching “Joe Dubois” fighting zombies in a shopping mall. I still love that zombie baby!

  21. Liz Says:

    The IMDb Monster strikes again! Meg, when you said “points off for making a Kevin Costner movie” were you referring to “For the Love of the Game?” That’s too bad; I’ve never seen that one, but it is a baseball movie, and if it had been good, it would have been another credit in Raimi’s variety-filled list.

  22. Kerri Says:

    If 2012 was actually going to be like ya’ll have described it- I would so go see it! Otherwise, I think I’ll pass…

  23. megwood Says:

    By the way, here’s a clip of Raimi from Indian Summer — quality of the vid sucks, but it’s still pretty great slapstick! So adorable, that kook.

  24. Liz Says:

    That [video clip] was a cute and funny bit – and reminded me of Charlie Chaplin. Hey! So you think Sam Raimi looks at all like RDJ? (His “Chaplin” was amazing!)

  25. Liz Says:

    I meant to say, “DO you think…” It was just a thought! 🙂

  26. megwood Says:

    Hmm, not sure I see any RDJ in Raimi, but I for sure see Chaplin in him! I rewatched Indian Summer this week, by the way, and it wasn’t nearly as bad as I’d remembered. Forgot Bill Paxton (ex-BotW!) was in it. Definitely worth a rental, and there are several other Raimi scenes in it that are as fun as the boat one I posted above!

  27. zini Says:

    I LOVE Sam Raimi, (as much as I love the Coen bros., which is saying A LOT). Great boyfriend choice and especially thanks a MILLION for informing me that he has such a ridiculously varied body of work! I had no idea. He CAN do it all. I only saw Drag Me To Hell once, loved it, but I’m wondering, could the 88 be the car in which the gypsy woman waits for our heroine in the garage? Greatest scene. I’m noticing lots and lots of quotes from Army of Darkness, which is actually my fave of the three just because of its WTF factor. Endlessly quotable, obviously. Thanks again Meg. By the way, you ever see Lee Pace in The Fall. I liked it a lot. Another weird allegory movie, kind of along the lines of Big Fish.

  28. sunny Says:

    Meg,

    I love you. Everytime I read your crazy reviews I laugh ’til I cry. You must keep your family in stitches. Please consider writing a book of your ramblings, ala Amy Sedaris. You are hilarious.

    Sunny

  29. megwood Says:

    Sunny, you just made my entire year. Thank you, sweet thing.

Leave a Reply

