MOVIE: Star Trek (2009)

I saw this movie last Friday.  And then two days later, I SAW IT AGAIN.  And today, two days after that, I’m fighting off the urge to go watch it a third time.  Know why?  BECAUSE THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME.

I’m not going to bother telling you about the plot; the plot is completely incidental.  Instead, I’m going to give you a list of the things I loved about it:

1.  I loved that the Asian guy sitting in front of me in the theater on Friday was also bawling great big tears of unabashed geek joy by the time the closing credits began to roll.

2.  I loved that my Mom did the same thing when I took her to see it two days later.

3.  I loved that Captain Kirk was making out with a green girl twenty minutes into the picture.

4.  I loved that Scotty had a Tribble on his desk, though I did not see it myself and was merely told about it later.  I’m pretty sure this means I need a third screening STAT.  Who’s with me?

5.  I love you, Leonard Nimoy.

6.  And you as well, Bruce Greenwood.  “The Menagerie” is my favorite of the original series episodes, and I loved you dearly as Christopher Pike.  At the end of the movie, when Kirk says, “I relieve you,” and you respond with, “I am relieved” —   the way you said that,  the timbre of your voice and that slight paternal smile on your face, made me cry.  And I thank you for that.

7.  I loved that Zachary Quinto totally out-Spocked Spock, which I did not expect.

8.  I was pleased to discover that kids will still be rocking out to the Beastie Boys a hundred (or however many) years from now.

9.  I loved Uhura’s boots.  And also her eyeliner.  And also the loving, accepting, and understanding expression on her face when she asked Spock what he “needed” and he replied, “I need everyone to continue performing admirably.”

10.  I loved the introduction of McCoy to Kirk and the origin of the nickname “Bones.”

11.  I loved that Kirk’s shirt never once got torn in a fight.

12.  I loved that the away-team member who died was wearing red.

13.  I loved everything about you, Chekov, you adorable little thing.  Anton Yelchin, I loved you in Huff and I eagerly await you being old enough for me to make you a Boyfriend of the Week without feeling totally squick about it.

14.  I loved that in the opening battle scene, the moment that chick flew out into space, the soundtrack went instantaneously SILENT.  It makes my day when a sci-fi movie gets that right.

15.  I loved this:  “Your father was captain of a star ship for twelve minutes.  He saved 800 lives.  I dare you to do better.”

16.  I also loved this:  “You once asked me why I married your mother. . . I married her because I loved her.”

17.  Ooh, you know what else I loved? 

EVERYTHING ELSE.

Yes, I recognize that this movie has some flaws.  It was pretty heavy-handed, for one thing — almost every character utters their most famous tagline at some point, which was possibly a little too much, and it’s not like we couldn’t see the various plot elements coming from light years away.  Additionally, Karl Urban wasn’t playing McCoy so much as doing an impersonation of him, and he was getting that impersonation wrong 95% of the time (sorry, Karl, but you were kind of terrible in this).   The time travel stuff, while scientifically sound enough to satisfy me in theory, totally monkey-wrenched what we already know about these characters and what happens to them in the future (although, then again, maybe it doesn’t — I’d have to go back and rewatch the entire original series to make sure, which: okay!).  And finally, what’s up with J. J. Abrams and red balls of massive destruction?  (Alias fans know what I’m talking about.)  I’m starting to wonder if that guy had a really traumatic experience with dodgeball as a kid or something.

Anyway, I acknowledge all of these things as problems.  I really do.  And now that I have acknowledged them, I dismiss them completely and without hesitation.  Why? Because I do not care.  And neither should you.

J. J. Abrams, from the bottom of my heart, and the heart of every kid who credits the original Star Trek with sparking what’s since turned into a lifelong love of science and curiosity about other worlds, I thank you.  I thank you for loving it that much too, and for not being ashamed to make your love for it as completely obvious in every inch of this film as it was.

A posse ad esse.  The end.

[Prequeue me at Netflix | Watch the trailer]

Genre:  Science fiction awesomeness
Cast:  Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto (Mr. Sylar if you’re nasty), Leonard Nimoy, Eric Bana, Karl Urban, Bruce Greenwood, Zoe Saldana, Simon Pegg, John Cho, Anton Yelchin

Tags:

7 Responses to “MOVIE: Star Trek (2009)”

  1. Verna Says:

    Ahhh, I could never agree more. Except with the tag lines uttered by all, I LOVED that! It made me smile with glee. And I got to see it in the drive in, which is where I saw my first Star Trek, The Search for Spock. I am so totally with you on Zachary Quinto’s Spock. I thought there is no WAY Sylar could play the iconic Mr Spock, but he was so freaking awesome, I had to go back and watch it again at the drive in. Cool experience, I recommend it to all and sundry.

  2. Liz Says:

    I loved everything you loved, especially Zachary Quinto, Uhura’s line to Spock, Sarek’s line about Amanda, everything Capt. Pike said, and Checkov running around yelling “I can do this!” But I never noticed the Tribble, or Kirk’s lack-of-ripped-shirt!

    And you know what? I also loved Karl Urban, and didn’t think he was doing an impersonation AT ALL – but instead, was very believable. Same for Simon Pegg, as Scotty. My husband thought he was “over the top,” but I thought Scotty was always that way, so it worked fine for me.

    I also loved that both Kirk’s and Spock’s boyhood scenes were practically reenacted later in the movie – to very good effect.

    What I didn’t like was that the movie negated EVERYTHING that happened on “TOS” – and I didn’t even realize that fully until a few hours after I’d seen the movie! They were so meticulous about re-creating the characters, I was sad to realize that the entire “mythology” of TOS has now been erased. That said, it would have been worse if they had “fixed” time, and the whole movie had never happened! So … I guess there’s no easy answer! Oh well, it was a great movie.

  3. Trip Says:

    LOL, glad I’m not the only one who picked up on the Abrams-red balls of death connection.

    Yes, in the future, it’s Rambaldi devices which are used to wreak terrible vengeance!

    Not much more I can say here that others haven’t, except to concur that Bruce Greenwood was one of this shiniest bits of casting in an already well-cast movie. He IS Pike.

    My only minor quibble – dial back the lens flares & light blooms next time!

  4. Lorraine Says:

    I have mixed feelings about this movie. I’ll start with my biggest annoyance. This movie has little to no real story. For the first hour, it felt like 2-3 minutes of story or character interaction and then a cut to an unneeded action sequence or cgi effect. Did we really need that much character introduction? I can’t think of another movie that so obviously introduced characters.

    But I thought all the casting was very good. Didn’t expect to like Pine that much as Kirk but he was good. I really liked Urban as McCoy. I expected Quinto to be good as Spock and he still exceeded my expectations. Some purists may be appalled but I was loving “Sexy Spock”.

    And Leonard Nimoy rules!

  5. Dixie-Ann Says:

    Awww I’m glad you liked it Meg, that makes one more person I can rave about it to. Have to say that I loved Karl Urban though, but I’m with you on basically everything else (particularly on how delightful Chekov was). I liked the fact that Abrams gave himself the license to do whatever the heck he wants with the chracters in future -that cemented his greatness for me. I rant and rave on in my blog. If anyone wants to read it I’ll be honoured.

  6. Brie Says:

    Whole-heartedly agree! Except I did love Urban’s McCoy.
    Chekov was so cute!
    I spotted “Megan” from Felicity in a little role at the beginning (love how Abrams always does that).

    I seem to be the only one who didn’t love Quinto, though. Don’t get mad people, Can’t imagine anyone doing better, he did a great, fabulous job, and I loved the writing for him.
    But, in my opinion, Nimoy’s Spock was just so much warmer (not in an emotional way – will people quit reacting to that by telling me “he’s Vulcan,”…um, duh :)). The way he reacted to everything, his eyes always had this little twinkle and you could tell he really enjoyed his dynamic with Kirk and the exchanging of barbs with McCoy.

    I am hoping it is simply the age thing, and that the character choices were intentional. In the future Kirk’s influence creates the appealing, likeableness that was Nimoy’s Spock, and Quinto will show more of that in the next film…

    …And if everyone in the world really does think that Quinto had all that in this film, then fine. Maybe it’s just me and Siler will just always give me the chills no matter what character he plays.

  7. PENNY Says:

    I LOVED Karl Urban’s McCoy. And really, weren’t the tag lines what we went for? Come on, didn’t we?
    I didn’t really care for the Spock/Uhura love connection, though. There was never any inkling of such a relationship in the original series.
    One more thing, the time travel. Although I find the idea of time travel to be facinating, I just don’t believe that if time travel were possible, once could stand beside and talk to an older or younger “version” of one’s own self.
    Anyway, thank you JJ!

Leave a Reply

