Alex O’Loughlin returning to primetime TV!

alexoloughlinToday in good Boyfriend site news: Alex O’Loughlin has landed a role in a new series for the Fall 2009 TV season.  The show will air on CBS and is entitled Three Rivers. It’ll be about the various people involved in organ transplants, from the medical team to the patient to the families of the donors.

Today in bad Boyfriend site news: That’s the same concept behind the 2007 Treat Williams series Heartland (on TNT) which got the boot after only nine episodes.

Look, I worry.  It’s just what I do.

Today in good Boyfriend site news: I’m halfway done with the next Boyfriend of the Week write-up.  You know, the one I said would be up two weeks ago?

Today in bad Boyfriend site news: But I’m about 3 books behind in book reviews, and 2 movies behind in movie reviews.

Ah, Mondays.

9 Responses to “Alex O’Loughlin returning to primetime TV!”

  1. Liz Says:

    Yay for Alex O’Loughlin! I specifically watched the one episode of “Criminal Minds” that he was on – the only time I’ve ever watched that show! He was EXCELLENT, as a serial killer with OCD, who begins to unravel. Boy, a really cute guy who’s also a REALLY good actor! What a killer (pardon the little joke) combination!

    Also – EVERYONE should see the new “Star Trek” movie; Trip was right – it does rock! And – hmmm – quite a lot of boyfriend material, Meg (hint, hint: Zachary Quinto!!). However, one slight warning/spoiler. If you’ve been a devoted Trekkie/Trekkor from the ORIGINAL series on, as I have been (oops – I let that slip), you may note that some of the details of the “real” Star Trek universe have been changed because of the storyline.

    Did I say “Real Star Trek Universe?” Yes, I’m afraid I did; my grip on reality is slipping! (Zombies ARE real, aren’t they?) Anyway, even though there were a few changes in the “mythology,” the characters were all presented very carefully and respectfully, each one had something special to do, and – damn! the acting was good!

  2. Lorraine Says:

    “Three Rivers” sounds like it has potential. Also, former BotW James Tupper is in a new NBC show called “Mercy”. Unfortunately, it sounds like your basic medical show that’s been done a thousand times.
    http://www.thefutoncritic.com/showatch.aspx?id=mercy

  3. megwood Says:

    Ooh, I didn’t know James Tupper had a gig coming up too — sweet! I’m not surprised to see a lot of medical shows popping up for next year, since ER is finally dead and buried. I wonder how many of them will really make it. Why not just merge the two and put Alex AND James in one one-hour primetime spot? Throw in a little Richard Dean Anderson action, and I’d do all their publicity for FREE.

    Liz, I’m a total Star Trek geek too — that was one of the first TV shows I ever remember watching and I’ve seen all the originals a gazillion times each. Now I’m curious to see what they changed for the new flick. I’m psyched to see it, though — everybody keeps saying it’s amazing. Hoping to get a chance this weekend!

  4. Trip Says:

    I’ll wait for the official review here before I spew my .02, but the new Trek movie has preserved a lot of the elements of TOS without mocking it, and the cast is spot-on. I had fears about New Kirk, but ultimately, he got the job done well, as did the rest of the crew – Bones especially.

    It’s a fantastic reboot and I love that we finally have a younger & sexier Trek with more zoomy action, rather than just having geezers thrown over railings whenever they hit anything bigger than a grapefruit.

  5. Liz Says:

    OMG, Trip! I totally agree with you about “McCoy” in the movie – fantastic! And “New Kirk” – he was the only one I found to be a little too generic, though I agree he did get the job done by the end. Also, kudos to “Scotty” (insert shout-out here to “Shawn of the Dead”). But I LOVED “New Spock” – and that’s saying a lot, because I’ve ALWAYS LOVED “Old Spock.” Now I can’t help rooting for “Sylar” on “Heroes.”

    I will try “Three Rivers,” but all I can say is: Alex O. better have that long curly hair!

    Also- just found out that “Dollhouse” has been renewed! Insert proper reaction here.

  6. megwood Says:

    Proper reaction: MORE SHIRTLESS TAHMOH PENIKETT, PLEASE.

  7. alisaj29 Says:

    Did anyone notice the shout-out to Scott Bakula in the Star-trek movie? My husband noticed it the 2nd time he watched the movie. I won’t give it away unless you ask. I don’t want to ruin it for anyone.

  8. Liz Says:

    Alisa – was it the thing about the beagle (I don’t think that gives too much away)?

  9. alisaj29 Says:

    It was. Ya, your prob right about not giving to much away. LOL

    I thought it was one of those lines, that writers knew that die hard Trek fans would understand. That’s one of the many things I LOVED about the movie. 🙂

Leave a comment