Quick Update on Nathan Fillion’s series Castle

nathanLooks like a second season of Nathan Fillion’s extremely entertaining mystery series Castle may actually happen — it’s a xi niu miracle! (For those of you who weren’t Firefly fans, xi niu means “cow sucking” in Chinese — don’t ask.)

Love the show myself, even though it’s weird how the two main characters are always wearing scarves, and never the same scarf twice.  Who does that?  I could see the rich mystery writer having a scarf for every day of the year, but the police detective?  Funky.  Cold Medina, even.

Read more on this development, plus an interview with Nathan here (and I should be back in a day or two with some movie reviews — still jet lagged and also wicked busy!):

http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/2009/05/castle-nathan-fillion-discusses-the-finale-season-two-prospects.html

13 Responses to “Quick Update on Nathan Fillion’s series Castle

  1. alisaj29 Says:

    I’ll be the happiest girl if the show comes back. I LOVE that show.!

    Meg – I know that your not keen on sub-titled movies, BUT if you get a chance to see the french movie Ne le dis à personne ( Tell no one), it was fantastic. It stars François Cluzet and Kristin Scott Thomas.

  2. megwood Says:

    Not me, yo! I don’t have anything against subtitles — some of the movies I’ve raved about most on this blog have been foreign films, especially in the horror or suspense genres. I think you have me confused with one of the readers of this blog who has commented in the past about being unable to read and watch the action on the screen at the same time. I actually read and watch all the time, even when the show/movie is in English. I frequently turn on closed captions or English subtitles to make sure I don’t miss a thing.

    Tell No One is great — I reviewed it a few weeks ago in haiku format! https://megwood.wordpress.com/2009/04/13/movies-five-in-5-7-5/

    🙂

  3. Lorraine Says:

    I stopped watching this show weeks ago. With everything else that I have to watch, it just didn’t make the cut. I just wish it had a bit more depth and cut back on the cute factor. But, I’m glad for Fillion.

  4. jo Says:

    I won’t uncross my fingers until Friday, because I am a total jinx and every show I love gets the axe. But the numbers are encouraging – I didn’t realize they had grown that much.

    And Lorraine, I don’t think it’s possible to cut back on the cute factor when Nathan is just so gosh darn cute.

  5. megwood Says:

    Jo, I 100% totally agree on the gosh darn cute thing. Cut back on the cute factor? He’d have to wear a bag on his head, and even then, I’m not sure it would work! 🙂

    Lorraine, I do agree the show is lacking in depth and is also incredibly cheese-o-rama. Plus, what IS it with the SCARVES?! That is making me crazy. But it’s definitely gotten better over time, so if you get bored this summer, you might check out a few episodes from later in the season online. SRSLY.

    Hope you guys aren’t too bored with Nathan Fillion, by the way. Because, like, guess who the next BotW is.

    Oops, did I just say that out loud?

  6. jo Says:

    Woo Hoo!!

    that is all.

  7. Liz Says:

    I’m the one who can’t deal with sub-titles. And I really can’t – not even on “Heroes.” It’s a vision thing – not a problem with subject matter.

    I liked “Castle” pretty much, but I have a bunch of back-episodes to watch – we watch so much baseball! I like Nathan Fillion, too, and I’m appreciating him more, as I see him in more stuff. At first, all I could think of was “Caleb” in “Buffy” – I thought he was way scary in that, and it took me a while to even notice his cuteness.

    Same with Michael Weatherly; he was so good at being obnoxious on “NCIS” that I didn’t notice his looks for a long time! Hey! Maybe it’s that vision thing again! I can only notice one thing at a time about people!

  8. alisaj29 Says:

    I HIGHLY recommend watching Grey Gardens w/Drew Barrymore and Jessica Lang. It was FANTASTIC!!

  9. Lorraine Says:

    Jo & Meg – I guess that I like my cute a little less over the top:-) It’s a bit exhausting. I loved Fillion as Captain Tightpants. That character had more of an edge and depth. And I did like him in Waitress. “Castle” definitely needs better writing.

    Oh, I’m all for Fillion as BotW!!! You all need to start watching “The Big Bang Theory” because Jim Parsons is my new BotW. Adorkable!

  10. Brie Says:

    Oh Meg, just keep sharing the Nathan love. I really can’t get enough of that man!

  11. Dixie-Ann Belle Says:

    Never watched “Castle” guys. Sorry, but I’m happy if you’re happy. 🙂 I’m just posting to shout out to Lorraine because I not only love “The Big Bang Theory”, I think Jim Parsons is one of the cutest things on television right now. I second the recommendation.

  12. RogerBW Says:

    Renewal is confirmed: http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118003771.html?categoryid=14&cs=1

  13. melindam Says:

    I know it probably counts as the cute thing, but I love Castle’s interactions with his daughter, especially the fencing and laser tag incidents. It’s a nice break from the TERRIBLE SERIOUSNESS that seems to be chronically afflicting CSI. I do have some trouble with sudden Captain Tightpants flashbacks, though, thanks to repeated viewings of Firefly.

Leave a Reply

