MOVIE: My Name is Bruce (2008)

Nobody, and I mean NOBODY, makes fun of Bruce Campbell better than Bruce Campbell.  And that’s why I loved this movie, directed by Bruce Campbell and starring Bruce Campbell as Bruce Campbell making fun of Bruce Campbell in a film entitled My Name is Bruce [Campbell], so very, very much.

The plot of this movie — we’ll pretend the plot actually matters for a moment — focuses on a small town that has accidentally unleashed an ancient Chinese baddie named Guan-Di (“Guan-You, Guan-Me, Guan-Di!”) that now threatens to wipe out their population.  Confusing Bruce Campbell the Man with Bruce Campbell the Action Movie Badass, the town kidnaps Bruce off the set of Cave Alien 2 and begs him to help them defeat Guan-Di.  At first Bruce thinks it’s some kind of joke.  But then Guan-Di shows up, and, well, as the man himself says, “You know Jeff, I’ve gotten a lot of use out of chainsaws over the years. . .”

What makes this movie so much fun to watch, though, is the fact you can tell immediately that everybody is having an absolute blast putting this one together, especially Bruce Campbell.  The acting is intentionally hammy and awful, the story is ridiculous, Guan-Di himself is laughably silly-looking, and oh man, the Bruce Campbell jokes.  They just do not EVER stop coming.

Can’t recommend this one to fans of The Chin highly enough.  I can virtually guarantee you this one will be showing up on my Top Ten Movies Seen in 2009 list this December, too.  “You don’t like Bruce, you walk!”

GENIUS!

[Netflix me | Buy me]

Genre:  Horror, Comedy
Cast:  Bruce Campbell stars as. . . BRUCE CAMPBELL!

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “MOVIE: My Name is Bruce (2008)”

  1. Trip Says:

    And if you haven’t already read “If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B-Movie Actor”, then what the hell’s wrong with you?!

    So on that note…

    All right you primitive screwheads, listen up! You see this? This…is my BOOMSTICK!

  2. megwood Says:

    I second the “If Chins Could Kill” recommendation. Hilarious and full of lots of extremely fascinating (no, really!) information about the making of Evil Dead.

    “Well, I’ve got news for you pal, you ain’t leadin’ but two things, right now: Jack and shit. And Jack left town. “

  3. Trip Says:

    I also love how that ’73 Olds keeps making appearances through Sam Raimi’s films. It was Uncle Ben’s car in Spider Man even!

    “Yo, she-bitch! Let’s go.”

  4. megwood Says:

    Oh yeah — the Delta 88! It’s been in all of his films except for The Quick and the Dead). Hard to work a car from 1973 into that one, I would imagine.

    Trip, we SO need to hang out. Seriously. This is just getting ridiculous.

  5. Rochelle Says:

    I knew you would love this as much as I did. My personal fave as an Oklahoman was Butch and Ben McCain singing the Legend of Guan-di. If you watched the DVD extras, you might have learned that this brother team hosted a local morning news show here in Oklahoma City back in my childhood (early/mid 80s).

    Btw, I also totally recommend If Chins Could Kill and Make Love The Bruce Campbell Way. Make Love is fiction in the same vein of My Name is Bruce. Written by the real Bruce about a kind of jerky fictional Bruce.

  6. megwood Says:

    I didn’t realize those two guys were “real guys”! That’s so cool! I loved the Legend of Guan-Di song, but it’s now been stuck in my head for two days straight (“Guan-You, Guan-Me, Guan-Di. . .”). 🙂

  7. Rochelle Says:

    Same thing happened to me when I watched it a couple of weeks ago. And now, you’ve started it up again!

  8. megwood Says:

    Nooooo! I’m so sorry!

  9. Trip Says:

    “First you want to kill me…now you want to kiss me. Blow.”

    Really, has there ever been another Hollywood actor in history who was this successful at driving his own caricature? Only other guy I can think of that comes close is Chuck Norris, only he didn’t start his own self-parody.

Leave a Reply

