BOOK: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

I’m actually jumping ahead a bit in book reviews, because I read the novel The Reader (Bernhard Schlink) before I read this novel and I haven’t reviewed it yet. Actually, let’s just review it in a nutshell and get it out of the way:  Man, I’m glad I wasn’t a young, single, illiterate woman living in Germany during the 1940’s. The Reader is a bummer of massive proportions.  [FICTION]  Annnnnd, done!

Now, here’s the thing:  I would’ve taken more time with that review, but I was just alerted this morning to a news story about a New Orleans man who is recovering in the hospital after a stranger came up to him in his yard, ranted and raved a bit, and then bit a chunk of flesh out of the poor guy’s arm and swallowed it.

If you’ve seen as many zombie movies as I have, you know this means one thing and one thing only: the zombie apocalypse is nigh! This is how it always starts, after all  — with a random news story that at first glance just looks like an isolated incident of crazy. But soon we’ll see a similar report. And then another. And the next thing you know, we’ll be surrounded by the walking dead. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m heading to WalMart this afternoon to buy a shotgun and some Power Bars. I plan on being ready.

And, thanks to this BRILLIANT work of literary fiction, I’m more prepared than ever for World War Z. Fans of the original Austen novel should consider this a must-read — if only because it’s almost exactly the original Austen novel, but way, way more fun. Instead of sitting around writing angsty letters and taking leisurely walks in the countryside, Elizabeth and her sisters periodically get to wield axes and kick some mean zombie butt.  Genius!  I’ve long said that almost every story could be made better with the addition of zombies, and Grahame-Smith has finally proven me correct. This book is absolutely hilarious and perfect — I couldn’t have written it better myself.

But even more important than its entertainment value is its EDUCATIONAL value. And in light of today’s news report, I think it’s more important than ever that we all take some time to learn whatever we can about the undead. The zombies are coming, people.  They may already be here.

Read it, learn it, live it.

And remember: AIM FOR THE HEAD.

[FICTION, HORROR]

[Buy this book | Browse more book reviews | Search the book reviews]

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “BOOK: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith”

  1. alisaj29 Says:

    Ohhh, does this mean that The Winchester Boys will be here soon???

  2. megwood Says:

    One can only hope. . .

  3. Melissa Says:

    I’ve had trouble deciding what to read as a chaser to the P&P and Z. I too, thought it was genius. Loved that you couldn’t tell where Jane left off and Seth picked up at times. A certain be-heading in a carriage was an absolute fave that made me re-read before I realized she was day-dreaming…and then was slightly disappointed she hadn’t really done it 😉

  4. Lizzie Says:

    I’ve got to get this book! Remember – when you get your ammunition, AIM FOR THE HEAD! Also, see my comment on the boyfriend page – zombies can make almost anything better!

  5. Haidee Says:

    but, but, but. Where’s the sharks? And the zombie sharks?

  6. megwood Says:

    They have to save SOMETHING for the sequel, Haidee!

  7. melindam Says:

    Great. Thoughts of zombies plus watching Jericho (sometimes family and their recommendations can be good things!) have me all planning my post-apocalypse life!

    This book looks like great fun! I wonder if the liberry will have it……

  8. Kathleen Says:

    I just heard that he is writing a new one: Sense & Sensibility and Sea Monsters. I can’t find any specifics so hope you can apply your sooper genius sleuthing skills to find more details. P&P and Z is next on my reading list.

  9. Meg Says:

    Hah, hi, Kathleen! You will love this: they actually made a TRAILER for the second book (which won’t be written by the same guy, but will be published by the same group):

    Hilarious!!

Leave a Reply

