New Boyfriend is Up!

Well, technically, the new “Boy-Who-Is-A-Friend” is up.  Wondering who he might be?  See if you can guess based on this list of words that incurred the wrath of Spellcheck.

19-frakkin’-90
Demi Moore
Barack Obama
WhoWhatNow
Hen-er-ry the Fifth
Dig-E-Player
schmitty
barista
chai wallah

Now, go see if your guess was correct!  http://megwood.com

And then come back here for comments when you’re done!

11 Responses to “New Boyfriend is Up!”

  1. bzirk Says:

    If you’re his mother, then I’m his grandmother. 😉

    But hey, my 18 year old daughter will definitely thank you, Meg. She’s a major fan of Slumdog and also follows your blog.

    As for me, I thought it was a cool write up. Keep up the good work!

  2. Lorraine Says:

    I never miss “The Daily Show” so I saw the Dev Patel interview. He was thrilled to be on the show and was very winning and adorable.

    But, I found “Slumdog Millionaire” disappointing. I thought it was full of cliches and tried too hard to be likable. The Millionaire host annoyed me beyond all sense. But Dev was rather good. I look forward to seeing him in more projects.

    I have to gush about “Skins” because I think it is wonderful. I’ve finished the first season. Unlike US shows, the kids are very complex, not just stereotypes even though they first appear so. Each episode focuses on one of the kids while including most of the cast and managing to tell their stories also. It’s brilliantly written. I think you have to start at the beginning and watch each episode to appreciate it. Most of the actors who play the kids are stunningly talented. In fact, Dev has maybe impressed me the least in the cast, that’s how good they are. Especially good is Nicholas Hoult who was the boy in “About a Boy”, the movie with Hugh Grant.

    p.s. I agree that “Forrest Gump” is dreck! And I was rooting for “Milk” to win this year.

  3. Wendy Phillips Says:

    Definitely give Skins another try. I love that series. I just got done watching season 3 and it just gets better and better. It took me about 4-5 episodes to get hooked though. Dev is more of a supporting player in season 1 and 2, unfortunately.

  4. megwood Says:

    The Millionaire host, Anil Kapoor, is actually a really famous Bollywood actor. I thought he was a total hoot in Slumdog, personally!

    Good to know on Skins, though — I’ll definitely stick with it! Just put season 1 in my queue at Netflix.

  5. bzirk Says:

    Just started watching Skins since I’m in my British phase. Not sure what I think yet.

  6. Marni Says:

    Great write-up, Meggie! Happy to see Dukes’ smiling face. I watched the Daily Show clip and the moment Dev walked on-screen I shouted out to Josh, “He IS cute!” and had a really big grin on my face. Good call. Can’t wait to see the movie. I assume this means that you are bringing it with you when you come down here to visit in just a couple of short weeks!

  7. Dixie-Ann Belle Says:

    I’ve missed your write up Meg. It was lovely opening my e-mail and finding it today. I thought Dev was a cutie too,and I really was engrossed during the entire movie. It did a great job of highlighting a terrible problem, but there was hope injected in there that really stirred me. Really liked how Dev pulled off the love story in this movie and what did you think of the performance at the end? So fun!

  8. megwood Says:

    Yep, I’m bringing it, Marni! That’s why my sister got listed before my mother in the list of people who I will be forcing to watch it next. I’ll see you first!

    I loved the ending of this movie, Dixie-Ann. I was very worried it was going to go in one direction, and was glad they took it in the other instead. YAY!

  9. Lizzie Says:

    “The lady doth protest too much, methinks!” That’s from “Hamlet;” I googled it to make sure I got it right! Give me a break, Meggie! I know you’re an equal-opportunity lec – no, let’s say FAN of cute guys, WHATEVER AGE! Heck, I’m older than you, and I thought David Archuleta, from last year’s A. Idol (17!) was way cute! And what about Daniel Radcliffe? OMG – he’s a MAN now! I also LOVE Alan Rickman and Anthony Hopkins! How’s that for an age range?

    Dev Patel is totally cute, and I figure, if he’s old enough to go to war, he’s old enough for you to have a crush … on … (I also figure that if one is “old enough to go to war,” one should be old enough to drink – but that’s neither here nor there!)

    I have “Slumdog” on my Netflix queue, and when it comes I’m going to try my hardest to get my husband to watch it with me. If he won’t … well, his loss!

    Great writeup! I did just what you said to do, and watched the video of the Jon Stewart interview immediately. Wow, were you right!

    BTW – AND THIS IS FOR EVERYONE: What do most of us agree is the one sure-fire ingredient to make any show better? Right! Zombies! And now “Reaper” has one! Tune in and see who it is – it must be funny: even my husband laughed!

  10. alisaj29 Says:

    My first thought is…..I’m not sure I still want to see this movie, not really my cup of tea, but I’m still bordering on putting on the netflix.

    My second thought was…. Meg, you were in Boston, you should have emailed me, then my part A to the second thought was, “Oh my, that sounded creepy.”

    Has anyone tried watching Mistresses on BBC America?

  11. Sheila Says:

    This is my new favorite movie! My husband and I went and saw it in the theater and I loved every single minute of it. Those kids….the dance at the end!….the rotten scoundrel Millionaire host….insanely cute Dev….the dance at the end (that boy/man looked seriously hot doing that dance)!…
    I bought the soundtrack a few days after seeing the movie and it’s been playing nonstop in my car ever since.

    Thanks Meg – excellent choice!!!

Leave a Reply

