MOVIE: Yeti: Curse of the Snow Demon (2008)

yetiOkay, you know how last week I said I’d be reviewing this brilliant piece of celluloid “tomorrow”?  You guys know that by “tomorrow,” I actually mean “sometime in the current year,” right?  Just like by “Boyfriend of the Week,” I actually mean, “Boyfriend of the Whenever the Heck I Get Around To It”?

Thought so.  But I know you guys don’t mind — as one commenter recently said (much to my delight), you all prefer quality over quantity, and would rather my posts be few and far between as long as they remain as AWESOME as they are right now.

Okay, okay, she didn’t actually use the word “AWESOME,” but I know she was thinking it.  And I know she is also 100% totally right.  RIGHT?

Right.

So, now, at long last, my comments on Yeti: Curse of the Snow Demon.

You know way back when you first saw that Ethan Hawke film Alive about the soccer team that crashes in the Andes and resorts to cannibalism to stay alive?  Raise your hand if you too thought to yourself, “Hey, you know what would make this movie truly great?  If they added a YETI to it!”

I know!  Me too!  And so as well, apparently, did screenplaywright Rafael Jordan.

Because this movie, as ridiculous as it sounds (and is, I might add), is essentially one giant rip-off of Alive. . . WITH YETIS! (TWO of them, no less!)

So, that kind of takes care of the plot description, right?   Alive with Yetis?  Therefore, instead of getting into story details, I’m simply going to list my favorite parts of this incredibly wonderfully bad movie:

1.  Peter DeLuise is in it!  OMG OMG OMG!  He’s so cute, LOL!  While most fans of 21 Jump Street were all ga-ga over Johnny Depp, my favorite character from day one was always, always Doug Penhall.  Doug was dorky!  He was goofy!  He was silly!  He was totally adorable!  He was the Costello to Depp’s overly-serious Abbott.  I always fall for the Costello.  Costellos are my weakness.

But aside from Jump Street and a solitary episode of Supernatural, I can’t tell you a single other thing I’ve ever seen Peter in.  So, when I saw he was in THIS, I confess I was not really sure what to expect.  Guess what, though.  He was AWESOME!  And soooooo good-lookin’.  He has aged extremely nicely.  Extremely, extremely nicely, my friends.  Anyway, in Yeti, he plays a ranger dude who has to hike in for three days with his partner to try to reach the plane crash victims, and, once they get there, he teams up with the victims to help them battle the deadly Yetis.  It’s totally awesome.

Until one of the Yetis rips him to pieces.  That part sucked.  If only because it took away the only character in this movie I was actually rooting for (besides the Yetis, of course).

2.  The crash victims (happily this time comprising both boys AND girls because you can’t have a cheesy monster movie without some gratuitous smooching scenes) go approximately 24 hours without food before they decide it’s time to turn their dead friends into Soylent Green.  The guy who talks the rest of them into it is all, “Man, we ran out of Power Bars, like, YESTERDAY, peeps!  We’re going to starve to death!  Even though the woods all around us appear to be chock full of bunnies we could catch and kill if only we’d paid attention to that one rabbit-snare episode of Survivorman!  But, alas, we did not.  So, in that case, I vote for eating Joe first because his butt’s the biggest.”

3.  I watched this movie on the Sci-Fi Network, not on DVD, and I must say, I heartily recommend going that route.  You know why?  The irony.  The irony of television editing out the word “God” whenever it is used (“God forsaken woods,” e.g.), but leaving in the scene in which the Yeti twists a man’s leg so violently it rips off at the hip, shooting blood all over the place.   Does this not perfectly sum up American society, or what?

4.  The tag line:  “Surviving the crash was only the beginning. . .  MUA HA HA HA HA!”  (Note: I added that last bit.)

Oh man, this movie is awesome.  Keep an eye out for it to come back around on Sci-Fi, or pick up the DVD and edit out all the “God” parts yourself, for the full effect.  Either way, you are in for a really good-bad time.

[Netflix me | Buy me]

Genre:  Horror
Cast:  Peter DeLuise!!  Josh Emerson, Ona Grauer, Elfina Luk, Brandon Jay McLaren, Adam O’Byrne

Tags:

21 Responses to “MOVIE: Yeti: Curse of the Snow Demon (2008)”

  1. alisaj29 Says:

    Peter also directed and produced Stargate, and he was Samantha Carter’s boyfriend in a few episodes of Stargate.

  2. Lorraine Says:

    I totally agree about Peter DeLuise. He was the one that I crushed on in Jump St. And yes, he was very involved in Stargate as a producer and director and did a little bit of acting. And he totally believes in nepotism. His father Dom had a significant role in a few episodes. Well, he is the great Dom DeLuise so you can’t blame that casting.

    But, his brother David was Samantha’s boyfriend on the show. And he even cast his brother Michael in one episode that was a spoof of SG1 (very hilarious).

    Totally agree about the gore vs language absurdity. I prefer the British view.

    But you didn’t tell us the most important thing – how much of the Yeti do they show? Is it just flashes of arms/legs/claws? Or is there some good (by that I mean bad) Yeti costumes?

  3. alisaj29 Says:

    Comtraya!

  4. megwood Says:

    Oh, you get some full-on Yeti action. It’s a little heavily CGI in a few spots, but overall, the Yetis are pretty impressive for what’s clearly not a big budget movie!

  5. Trip Says:

    OK, I admit…after the crash scene in Alive, I was praying for the folks to find a car battery and a George Foreman grill in an overhead compartment. But Yetis were totally my second pick.

    PS – Two cannibals are eating a clown. One says to the other, “Does this taste funny to you?”

  6. megwood Says:

    Trip, you are awesome.

  7. Lorraine Says:

    Alisa, I bow to your Stargate nerdiness 🙂 I had to look that up.

  8. Lizzie Says:

    OH! So that’s what “comtraya” means!

  9. alisaj29 Says:

    I love Stargate so much, that when I watch Ace of Cakes on Foodntwk, I always daydream that I’m having some sort of party for my hubby, just so I can get Duff and his crew to make a working Stargate cake. 🙂 YUM!

  10. Brie Says:

    Peter was always my favorite on Jump Street as well…I knew there was a reason I like you!

    All of my recent Peter fixes have been Stargate commentaries and special features, so thanks for the heads up about another movie with him.

    Alisa: I would SO love Duff to make a Stargate cake!! Why didn’t they think of that when RDA retired?

  11. Marni Says:

    Hilarious, Meg! No, I’m not ever going to see this movie. But being married to a Yeti, I had to read the review and I’m glad I did. You know that I was the Depp fan in the family, but I always understood your fondness for Deluise (and not just because of his cool dad).

  12. megwood Says:

    Your Yeti is much better looking than the Yetis in this movie, Marns. For one thing, he trims his fingernails. And he doesn’t, like, bop people on the head so hard their skulls fracture and their brains come flying out. I thank him for that. 🙂

  13. Lizzie Says:

    MARNI! You’re married to a Yeti? I know one, too! I wonder if they’re related…

    If you like Johnny Depp, have you seen “Sweeney Todd” yet? I LOVED it … but I can’t seem to get your sister interested in it …

  14. Marni Says:

    Yes, to be fair, my Yeti is only a Yeti because his name is Eddie so I sometimes call him Eddie Spaghetti, the Yeti from the Serengeti who is best friends with J. Paul Getty. But he is a hairy bastard (despite being completely bald, by choice) and only trims his fingernails occasionally, so it works. What’s the story with yours, Lizzie?

    As for Sweeney Todd, I’m sure I will get to it someday, but it’s a musical and eek, I’m not too good with musicals. I’m going to guess that was also Meg’s poor reason for avoiding it? If ever I’m going to watch a musical, that will be the first one on my list now that I know you loved it, though!

  15. megwood Says:

    Bethard loved “Sweeney Todd” too, Marni. You watch it and tell me if I should try it again. I didn’t make it past the first scene that featured singing dialogue. Which was, coincidentally, pretty much the first scene. 😉

  16. alisaj29 Says:

    I love me some Johnny Depp. I would go and pay Full Movie Price even if it was a 2hr movie of him watching paint dry. LOL

    I LOVED Sweeney Todd, If you don’t mind subtittles you could always mute the volume and read it. 🙂

  17. Lizzie Says:

    Meg & Marni – I’m discerning some serious “twin-ness” going on here! “Eddie Spaghetti etc.” indeed! Shades of “Betty Spaghetti” from “A League of Their Own.”

    I think you both are being very silly about musicals. 🙂 You remind me of my attitude toward 80’s movies – but I tried! I obediently rented “Real Genius,” and when I suspected I wasn’t getting it, I watched it again! And liked it a lot more! And I did think of some other 80’s movies I liked – and TV shows, too (like “Hill St. Blues,” “St. Elsewhere,” and “The Cosby Show”). You probably wouldn’t be able to stand the TV production of the original stage musical, but I do think you could get through the movie. Of course, my husband and I actually preferred the stage musical, but I still liked the movie version … but that’s neither here nor there …

    Marni, “my” Yeti is a member of the Civil War reenactment group we’ve been involved with for a long time. He’s called “the Yeti” or just “Yeti” by everyone, because … well, he IS one! He’s an older man – quite rugged – with a long, full white beard (so, of course, he has to play “Santa” for Xmas – when we all call him “Santa Yeti.”

    He refuses to wear socks, and often also refuses to wear shirts. His favorite activities are: stomping around camp, scaring children … and playing cribbage! He’s really a very nice guy! Yes, we are a strange group! (Could that be why I like this blog and its readers so much??) 🙂

  18. Haidee Says:

    hiya, I’m a big Peter fan too. My brain went straight to Stargate before the first comment. His brothers are cute too, but Peter was always my favourite. He and one of his brothers were in that submarine series too (with the guy that was in Jaws, you know the one!)and his brother had gills and Peter was a patchwork janitor that was a bit slow. I want to say clone, but I think he was more genetically enhanced.

  19. matt Says:

    i thought the yeti movie was crack up

  20. Bệnh trĩ Says:

    Bệnh trĩ…

    […]MOVIE: Yeti: Curse of the Snow Demon (2008) «[…]…

  21. aJmQVY Says:

    tramadol online tramadol overdose toxicology – tramadol for purchase no prescription

Leave a Reply

