MOVIE: Mirrors (2008)

mirrorsI actually watched this movie weeks ago, but didn’t get around to writing the review for it until today because, well. . . meh.

And at this point, I confess I barely remember anything about this one because, well. . . meh.

What I do remember is that it stars Kiefer Sutherland as an ex-cop takes a night-job as a security guard at a department store that used to be a psychiatric hospital and was recently gutted by a fire.  Lots of bad stuff happened in that thar building, in other words, and not of it had to do with sales on acid-washed jeans.

Anyway, Kief soon begins to believe the mirrors in the store are out to get him, which they sort of are, except that it turns out not to be the mirrors so much as the escaped demon from the nun lady who was treated for multiple-personality disorder in the store way back when it was a hospital and she was a little girl.  Luckily, even though the hospital was later converted into said store, said store apparently never went down to their own basement, which rather conveniently leaves Kief with the perfect way to solve the problem he’s having with the crazy mirrors.

You see, down in the basement there’s this crazy spinning mirror treatment room — the very same crazy spinning mirror treatment room that the hospital used in an attempt to make the nun lady merge her multiple personalities into a single self, only it kind of backfired when it turned out she didn’t have multiple personality disorder at all, but instead was POSSESSED BY THE DEVIL.  Whoopsie!

Now Kief knows he has to track down the nun lady and get her back in that crazy spinning mirror treatment room, or else the mirrors will, like, destroy the planet.  Or something like that.   I mean, honestly, this movie made less sense than that song “American Pie” by Don McLean.  And, as everyone knows, that song makes NO SENSE WHATSOEVER.

So, you should be surprised when I now confess I didn’t find this movie to be absolutely unwatchably bad, despite its many myriad flaws.  In fact, I not only watched this movie, I watched ALL of this movie, which is not something I can say about the other two movies I rented that same weekend.  Kief looks good, the effects are decent, etc.  In other words, if it sounds like your kinda thing and you don’t get all het up when you’re asked to suspend so much disbelief you’ve practically invented a new religion, go for it.  You could do a lot worse.

And as evidence of that, I bring you the movie that’ll be reviewed here tomorrow:  Yeti:  Curse of the Snow Demon.  Stay tuned for the hilarious details of that total stinker, as well as some extremely nostalgic drooling over the great Peter DeLuise, of 21 Jump Street and Yeti: Curse of the Snow Demon “fame.”  (Dang, he still looks gooooooo-oood!)

[Netflix me | Buy me]

Genre:  Horror
Cast:  Kiefer Sutherland, Paula Patton, Amy Smart, Jason Flemyng

Tags:

18 Responses to “MOVIE: Mirrors (2008)”

  1. Lizzie Says:

    I remember being interested in this movie … Well, maybe not, now, as I’ve become so mired in TV shows that I’m way behind on movies! (Except I quit on “24” – half way thru an episode, when I finally couldn’t stand all the rationalizing about torture any more!)

    Anyway, folks, SHE’S BA-A-A-ACK! I told myself not to worry when I kept checking your blog, and there was nothing new on it (I know – pathetic, right?). I told myself “she’s probably out somewhere HAVING A LIFE!”

    Welcome home – hope your shoulder feels better soon.

  2. megwood Says:

    Thanks, babe! It actually makes me quite happy to hear you kept checking and were worried when there was nothing each time. You is a sweetie. When are you moving into my neighborhood?

  3. Brie Says:

    Peter drooling?! Yay! Madly love that man! We already know I have issues, so yeah, bring it on!

  4. Eva Says:

    OK, weird – I’m sitting here watching a seaQuest episode, enjoying the corniness of Peter DeLuise as Dagwood (who I somehow still love), and you go and mention him here! 🙂

  5. Alisa Says:

    I know that most of the song to American Pie doesn’t make sense,but he wrote it about the night the plane that was carrying Buddy Holly, The Big Bopper, and Richie Valens crashed. “The night the Music Died.”

  6. megwood Says:

    Yeah, I know that’s what the song is about, Alisa! But it still doesn’t make a whole lotta sense! 🙂

  7. Lizzie Says:

    Chiming in again (oh, no!): I think there was a LOT of symbolism in that song, and if you don’t know what it all means, it does seem like gibberish. For instance, I THINK he talks about “Hell’s Angels” bikers at one point (I’m not sure), and I THINK he also puts in something about devil worship. That said … who really cares? It does come off as a nonsensical song, but kind of cool, anyway! 🙂

  8. megwood Says:

    There are lots of web sites that analyze all the symbolism in that song. My favorite was the one that explained the line “Drove the Chevy to the levee but the levee was dry” by saying that 1) dry levees might symbolize sorrow or emptiness, 2) the Chevy was a popular car, and 3) “Chevy” rhymes with “levee.”

    I put the most stock in meaning three. 😉

  9. Eva Says:

    WAIT, Jason Flemyng was in this??? I LOVE HIM!!! He’s on my Husband List (the not-written-down approximate equivalent of the Boyfriend of the Week).

  10. Mercedes Says:

    what is the little boy in this movie’s name??? he looks so familiar!

  11. POOH POOH Says:

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE IT WAS SO SCARY ME AND MY SISTERS ALMOST DIED WHEN THAT GUYS SISTERS REFLECTION SPLIT HER FACE APART THAT WAS HARD AND FREKY BUT I LOVE THIS MOVIE AND I DONT HAVE A MIRROR IN MY ROOM ANY MORE!!!!!!!

  12. POOH POOH Says:

    WHY WAS THE MAN IN THAT PLACE AT NIGHT I SHOL WOULDN’T BE NO WERE NEIR THAT PLACE IT DONT EVEN LOOK LIKE U GONE LEAVE WITH OUT SOMETHIN TRYING TO KILL U IT LOOK LIKE HELLA PEOPLE AN THIN U SEE PEOPLE BERNING MY AZZ WOULD HAVE BEEN OUT OF THERE!!!!

  13. megwood Says:

    Mercedes, it looks like the little boy’s name is Cameron Boyce. He was also in the movie Eagle Eye — maybe that is how you know him?

  14. sarah Says:

    dat wuz a awesome movie but a retarded ending!!!!

  15. Mattison1 Says:

    megwood and others….great review of the film :))) I agree. So now I digress. Please don’t be offended, but it seems too often ‘today’s generation’ flippantly throw out ignorant remarks, or assert they do not follow something, calling it ‘gibberish’, or worse yet, unintelligible, simply because they won’t take the time to do some research or investigating. I grew up in the 1980’s, and I was clued into everything in the U2 and Madonna decade, even taking pride in the fact. My brother was ten years older and had all the 1960’s and 1970’s rock taste. I recall as a pre-teen being very confused or simply WRONG in my notion of all the lyrics I heard in his music. I am 45 now, so of course I don’t know all the references of today’s pop culture, but when I don’t, instead of coming off like an ignorant old man, I do research and then judge if I like something — I may not have gotten the idea of originally, but my goal will be to find out. “American Pie” is much more than anthemic, it is an epic tune that is one of the top singles ever produced. There IS NO satanic worship…..he is referring to how the devil must be laughing at the tragedy McLean sings about. He is also making reference to many other musical groups and songs besides Ritchie Valens and Buddy Holly (Big Bopper, etc) ……. Jack Flash sat on a candle stick (Mick Jagger, Jumping Jack Flash); Lennon read a book on Marx (John Lennon, but very cleverly also referring to the Russian V.I. Lenin who followed Marxism); ‘eight miles high’ (song title from the Byrds) —- by the way, I figured out most of this stuff with NO research, but it took until I got much older. Sure, chevy to the levy could simply mean the passing of innocence, or nothing but a quick rhyme he liked, but the other 90% has a real and accurate reference to some one or something. And as I think of it, ‘drove my chevy to the levy’ has more or greater merit than “I WANNA ROCK’N’ROLL ALL NITE, AND PAWTY EVERYDAY. :)))))))))))) by the way, folks such as yourself will also think my email address is something of gibberish, simply because you do not know Latin

  16. Mattison1 Says:

    haaaa I tricked you….honestly, it is Spanish 🙂

  17. muse Says:

    ‘dat wuz a awesome movie but a retarded ending!!!!’

    I so agree. The movie held me captive, which was odd since I am not usually drawn to these types of movies.

    However, my reactions at the end:

    — gee, ghosts don’t play fair. They used Keifer Sutherland (why did he agree to be in this movie again?) and then screwed him at the end.
    — so, now he’s fated to be a ghost in the mirror for the rest of time? But, um, his left and right hands are reversed? Um, no, HE’S not the mirror image, what he is SEEING is the mirror image. Duh.
    — um, NY City building and fire departments would NEVER allow a burned out building to stand. Duh.
    — um, the construction frame was outSIDE the building throughout the entire movie and the fake CGI building and its steps were inSIDE the construction frame. Now, at the end, the frame was AT the door of the fake CGI building? Duh. Stupid continuity error. I’m sure there were more.
    — um, what then was the point of killing crazy nun lady, what DID the ghosts want after all?

    Moral of the story:

    Don’t be a night watchman in a NY City building that the building and fire departments allow to stand after it’s been completely burned out.

    P.S. American Pie is Shakespeare compared to this drek.

  18. cheapsan francisco giants tickets Says:

    cheapsan francisco giants tickets…

    […]MOVIE: Mirrors (2008) «[…]…

Leave a Reply

