New Boyfriend of the Week!

And voila!  It is done!

See if you can guess who the Boyfriend(s) is/are based on this collection of terms rejected by my spellchecker:

uber-observationalist
putz
overly-schticky
doofusy
Beerfest
awesomest
Karim

No?  In that case, maybe it’s best if you just head right on over to the site:  http://megwood.com.

26 Responses to “New Boyfriend of the Week!”

  1. ewokmonster Says:

    I love me some Psych! In fact, I just finished watching the latest episode. I am a child of the 80s, and I frequently have to pause and finish laughing before I can continue. If you want another movie of Dule’s, try Holes. Good, good movie.

  2. Katherine Says:

    I LOVE Psych too!!!!!!

    I am so glad you have re-found this amazing show…..Whenever I happen to be watching with my parents, I laugh crazy out of control at things they don’t get….like this past week…..Insane in the Membrane 🙂

    I always seem to remember random Gus names from time to time…..like now, its Shmuel Cohen…..and they always make me laugh….

    its so cute that James and Maggie are dating…

    and if you wanna see WHY Shawn got the part, there’s a vid of his audition, and its UH-mazing….

    this was probably your best boyfriend yet 🙂

  3. Katherine Says:

    oh, when I heard the Mentalist was coming on, that equation totally came to mind!

  4. Marni Says:

    I’m with Katherine that this is one of the best EVER! I loves me some Psych too! The two of those guys work off of each other BRILLIANTLY. Everything about that show is funny. I am constantly scanning the freeway to spot the blueberry mobile. The 80s references are gold! I was one of the people that gave up after the first episode but have been back on board for the past couple of years and just love this show! Didn’t know Det. Ohara was his girlfriend in real life. Too fun! Good work, Megs!

  5. Marni Says:

    Meggie, forgot to mention that I was in a hotel a few years back with the free HBO on in the background. Anyway, The Dukes of Hazzard movie was on (it’s terrible — the one with Jessica Simpson) and James Roday is the bad guy in it! My jaw hit the ground! You’ll have to find a clip of it.

  6. Alisaj29 Says:

    My hubby and I LOVE this show. We live for the extras at the end.

    “caribbean queen, Now we’re sharing the same dream
    And our hearts they beat as one
    No more love on the run”

  7. Summer Says:

    What a great way to start off my Tuesday morning. Not only do I love Psych, but I also love how you brought Josh Holloway into the write-up as well! Now I have nothing but happy thoughts and cute boyfriends to think about all day long!

  8. megwood Says:

    Glad everybody is enjoying the write-up! Woo hoo!

  9. megwood Says:

    p.s. Marni, I AM NOT RENTING THE DUKES OF HAZZARD MOVIE.

  10. Brie Says:

    Thank You!
    Hands down my favorite show on tv right now. Two cute, perpetual boys finding ways to have fun each week never gets old for me. I laugh out loud every episode.
    And thank you, I thought I was the only one who cannot stand Mr. Smugface Baker in The Mentalist.

    Have you heard anything about Nathan Fillion’s new show “Castle,” starting next month? He’s a mystery writer who teams up with the cops when a copycat starts ripping off the crimes in his books….Murder She Wrote meets Captain Tightpants? Can’t wait!

  11. megwood Says:

    Yes, I’ve been eagerly awaiting Fillion’s new show — TOTALLY Murder: She Wrote meets Captain Tightpants! That is awesome! 🙂 Hope it doesn’t suck. I haven’t read any critical reviews of it yet — I’d guess those will start cropping up soon. Fingers crossed!

    And, btw, Joss Whedon’s new TV show, Dollhouse, debuts this week on FOX. Friday, I believe. I think he’s a total fool for going with FOX again, considering their history, but whatev’. Tahmoh Penikett (“Helo” from BSG), hubba hubba!

  12. Trip Says:

    LOL it’s so great how Meg turns her nose up at The Dukes of Hazzard, but steaming piles of crapola like Zombies Anonymous?! More more more! Nom nom nom…

  13. megwood Says:

    I hope that by the word “great,” you actually mean GREAT. I mean, which one would YOU rather watch? Dukes of Hazzard starring whatshername in short-shorts or a movie about the walking undead?

    Oh wait, nevermind. Short-shorts, right?

  14. Brie Says:

    I’ve been eagerly waiting for Dollhouse, but yeah, pretty sure scheduling is already working against it. I’ve also been hearing a lot of buzz about writing problems and delays that don’t bode well.
    But, I’ll be watching (despite my issues with Dushku’s droopy eyes).

    Penikett, really!?! I somehow missed that! He’s enough of a reason to watch all on his own, Yay!

  15. Alisaj29 Says:

    I grew up w/ The Duke Boys, and I liked the show, but I have to defend Meg in her choice not to watch the movie. At least you could watch the show w/the parents in the room, the movie was just another excuse to show boobs, and ass. I mean come on, was there really a need for the whole naked, sorority scene???

  16. Lizzie Says:

    We seem to be digressing … but, hey, I’m not complaining. (Great write-up, BTW.)

    1) I’m still only partly into “Psych” – but it’s growing on me, and I like the guys, and the out-takes at the end.

    2) Even just reading about “The Mentalist” made me wonder how they had the chutzpah to rip off “Psych” like that.

    3) I don’t like Simon Baker at all – I find his looks yicky!

    4) I saw James Roday in last year’s” “Fear, Itself,” and although the episode, like the whole series, was kind of muddled, he was excellent. I couldn’t reconcile him at all with his goofy character in “Psych.”

    5) Last, but not least, I went to H.S. at “Riverdale Country Day School” in the Bronx, and
    my history teacher was named “Lee Whedon.” Could she have possibly been Joss
    Whedon’s mother?? I think the timing was right. [Cue “Twilight Zone” music here.]

  17. megwood Says:

    Yep, I believe that would be her, Lizzie! Nifty!

  18. Marni Says:

    Yes, look, NOWHERE did I recommend that you RENT “The Dukes of Hazard.” I told you to find a clip of him doing the “bad guy thing” b/c it was just really odd. That meant web research, librarian lady. And Trip, yes, GOOD CALL! (Your “nom nom nom” made me laugh, thank you!) Her hypocrisy knows no bounds.

  19. megwood Says:

    OH! I resemble that remark!

  20. Laurie Says:

    Great boyfriend choice!! I’ve been a big fan of Psych since the beginning. And I second the Holes suggestion. It’s a good movie, and Dule plays a real sweetheart.

  21. Lizzie Says:

    OMG, You guys! It’s official! Joss Whedon’s mother REALLY WAS one of my teachers in high school. (I finally thought of checking out the school web site.) And not only that: he, he HIMSELF(!) went to my school for a while. I missed him, though (sniff) – he was after my time. Carly Simon also went to my school … but she was before my time. However, my father knew her mother …. okay, shutting up now!

  22. Catherine Says:

    I absolutely love Psych. But I will also say I like The Mentalist. It’s not exactly a rip-off of Psych. Simon Baker’s character used to pretend to be a psychic, but then his wife and daughter were murdered by a serial killer, and he decided to stop making a living off defrauding people. So now he consults for the SBI. It’s really former fake psychic vs. current fake psychic. Both are lovely to look at!

  23. jo Says:

    I’ve never seen Psych, but it sounds up my alley, except that I probably won’t get any of the 80’s references, what with being older than dirt and all. I do love Dule, though.

    I’m thinking that that The Dukes of Hazard as zombies would be worth watching.

  24. Lizzie Says:

    Jo, I thought I was older than dirt, but I get “80’s references, so I bet you would too. The Dukes of Hazzard as Zombies? As Meg would say, that’s genius!

  25. zini Says:

    Love love love this show. When, during one show having to do with dolphins, Roday made a reference to “Pa does not love Fa,” I just about lost it. Every episode is full of little zingers and totally esoteric pop culture references that just CRACK ME UP. Great choice. Thanks for the writeup!

    can’t wait for Castle (hoping, too, it does not suck) and will pop in on Dollhouse in deference to Joss. One last thing though, why did Nathan bulk up so much?, not diggin it…

  26. Bzirk Says:

    Quite simply these guys are adorable, and I love this show.

    BTW, don’t worry too much about the time between posts. I’d rather have quality over quantity, and your quality is holding just fine.

Leave a Reply

