Must. Have.

pandpzombie

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies features the original text of Jane Austen’s beloved novel with all-new scenes of bone-crunching zombie action. As our story opens, a mysterious plague has fallen upon the quiet English village of Meryton—and the dead are returning to life! Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennet is determined to wipe out the zombie menace, but she’s soon distracted by the arrival of the haughty and arrogant Mr. Darcy. What ensues is a delightful comedy of manners with plenty of civilized sparring between the two young lovers—and even more violent sparring on the blood-soaked battlefield as Elizabeth wages war against hordes of flesh-eating undead. Complete with 20 illustrations in the style of C. E. Brock (the original illustrator of Pride and Prejudice), this insanely funny expanded edition will introduce Jane Austen’s classic novel to new legions of fans.”

Description from:

http://www.chroniclebooks.com/index/main,book-info/store,books/products_id,7847/title,Pride-and-Prejudice-and-Zombies/

Not out until April, but you can preorder it now for only $12.95!  Why yes, yes, I think I will do just that.  Teh awesomest.

Tags:

27 Responses to “Must. Have.”

  1. Lizzie Says:

    OMG, OMG, OMG! I told myself to be careful not to post too often, or be quite so -er – shall we say … verbal? But I CAN’T HELP IT! This subject matter is just too near and dear to my heart! “Teh awesomest” is right!

    I think they may have hit on a great way to introduce “the classics” to young people. How about: “A Tale of Two Zombies”? “The Scarlet Zombie”? (Ew!) “The Last of the Zombies” – wait, that would be too tragic! “Much Ado About Zombies!” “The Taming of the Zombie” – oh wait – they did that one: “Fido!”

    I could go on and on … but I won’t! I’m sure SOMEONE out there can think of some other promising Zombie Classics!

  2. Lizzie Says:

    My husband actually LAUGHED at this, and submitted a suggestion: Gilbert & Sullivan’s “The Zombies of Penzance!” There’s hope for him yet!

  3. Eva Says:

    When I was a kid I used to read myself into Hardy Boys stories but adding, in my head, “Frank and Joe (and Eva) ran off down the street after the suspicious figure…” I love that someone has read zombies into classic light romantic comedy!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Who said Jane Austen couldn’t be accessible to the 18-40 male demographic? It’s the same frilly costume drama, now with 100% MORE ZOMBIES and 100% more ACTION action action!

    When the trailers begin their run on ESPN featuring Angelina Jolie as Elizabeth Bennet one-arm cocking a shotgun and Mr. Darcy running a zombie through the eye with a sword…that’s how we know this genre crossover works.

  5. Trip Says:

    That’s my comment above there…

  6. melindam Says:

    *sniffs and wipes eyes* It’s just too beautiful!!

  7. Lorraine Says:

    “Far from the Madding Zombies”,
    “The Mayor of Casterzombies”, “Northanger Zombies”

  8. megwood Says:

    Trip, I knew that was you. If only because you’re one of the few peeps here who uses italics. Word to the HTML skillz, mang.)

    I think someone needs to write To Kill a Mockingzombie. The original is a book practically tailor-made for an Undead Conversion. Check out these quotes:

    So it took an eight-year-old child to bring ’em to their senses…. That proves something — that a gang of wild animals can be stopped, simply because they’re still human.

    It was times like these when I thought my father, who hated guns and had never been to any wars, was the bravest man who ever lived.

    I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what. You rarely win, but sometimes you do.

    Seriously? How perfect are those?

  9. Lizzie Says:

    That’s the spirit, Lorraine – I LOVE IT! Meg, brilliant! Trip, I knew it was you, too – because your imagery was so – well – YOU (meaning clever and hilarious)!

  10. Lorraine Says:

    How about “The Zombies of Notre Dame”? And I’d like to change one of my former suggestions to “The Zombies of Casterbridge”. 😉

  11. corey Says:

    it’s only 11am, but i know this is definitely the strangest thing i will see today.

    to throw in my suggestions for future titles…

    George Orwell’s “Zombie Farm”
    Arthur Conan Doyle’s “The Zombie of the Baskervilles”
    Harriet Beecher Stowe’s “Uncle Tom’s Zombie”

    and my favorite…

    J.D. Salinger’s “Zombie in the Rye”

  12. megwood Says:

    “Zombie in the Rye” is GENIUS. I may actually have to write that one. Moody bastard, that zombie.

  13. Alisa Says:

    Beware of Zombies

    http://pinkisthenewblog.com/home/tag/zombie/

  14. Trip Says:

    Sadly, not my original thought, but how about a different twist…

    Pride & Prejudice…and PIRATES

    Yarrrrr

  15. Trip Says:

    My contributions:

    “The Red Brains of Courage”
    “Undeadening Heights”
    “A Tale of Two Zombies”

  16. Lizzie Says:

    I love “The Red Brains of Courage,” but I already said “A Tale of Two Zombies!”

  17. megwood Says:

    Awesome, Trip! I’d been trying to work in the “undead” or “brains” elements without success. “The Red Brains of Courage” is GENIUS.

    P&P&P is an interesting concept. But only if we can also include the Flying Spaghetti Monster. Or, you know, Cthulhu.

  18. Trip Says:

    All hail His Noodliness!

  19. Eva Says:

    If anyone wants to start a new novel, there are a couple of titles/series in the public domain that are up for grabs: “The Zombie of Oz” and “Zombies in Wonderland.”

  20. Alisa Says:

    How about…..

    Some Wicked Zombies this way comes OR Zombies in Toyland

  21. Lizzie Says:

    Yay for Eva and Alisa! Good ideas.
    Meg, I’m in favor of Cthulhu.
    Trip, I don’t get half your references, but I bow down to your creativity.

  22. Trip Says:

    MY GOD I just realized…can you imagine the audiobook version of this?!

    Lizzie – His Noodliness is the proper reference for the Flying Spaghetti Monster, who may or may not have created us all by touching us with His Noodly Appendage.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flying_Spaghetti_Monster

  23. Lorraine Says:

    “The Guardian” ran an article and there’s some good comments. I rather liked “Breakfast on Tiffany’s Brains”.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/booksblog/2009/jan/30/jane-austen-zombies

    Oh, and if anyone wants to keep up on Jane Austen related topics, go to
    http://www.austenblog.com/

  24. Kathleen Says:

    I thought this was too funny. Meg, are you in Illinois right now?
    Check out this article:
    Pranks with electronic road signs stir worry

  25. megwood Says:

    Alas, I am neither clever nor daring enough to pull off the zombie road sign prank. I love that its spreading like. . . zombies. . . though. First Texas, now Illinois, next THE WORLD!

  26. Lizzie Says:

    Kathleen, Meg – I saw this on the TV News, and thought I was hallucinating! I love it!

  27. barb Says:

    Can’t wait for it to come out!! Thought of you at once when I saw it, and I’ve used the cover for my facebook page. Freaked out some of my friends by accident. oops! 🙂

Leave a Reply

