MOVIE: The X-Files: I Want to Believe (2008)

I confess to a degree of wariness regarding this one — wariness that turned to outright alarm when I heard through the grapevine that Mulder and Scully not only SMOOCHED in it, but were living together as well.  Ew, what?!  Raise your hand if your first thought upon learning this yourself was something along the lines of, “Have we learned nothing from Moonlighting, my peoples!?!”

Taking that apprehension into consideration, you can only imagine my delighted surprise when I discovered about a third of the way in that I was actually really enjoying this flick.  And not just DESPITE the smooching and changes in the Sculder dynamic, but partially BECAUSE of them.  I don’t know how they did it, exactly, but putting those two together ended up feeling pretty natural.  I believed it.  It was . . . you know. . . okay n’ stuff.  Even with the smoochies, and I thought there was no way in heck I’d ever be okay with the smoochies.

The storyline is sort of like one of the good stand-alone X-Files episodes, expanded to fit two hours.  Of course, that means there’s  some extra stuff packed in that didn’t really need to be there, but they more than made up for that by not having even a hint of mindbogglingly-obtuse-government-conspiracy-theory crappola mucking things up.  I’m happy with extra goop, as long as the extra goop is not tedious and/or totally stupid.

The movie opens with Dr. Dana Scully being approached by a group of Feebies at the hospital where she now works, asking her if she knows where Fox Mulder is.  When she presses to know why, they say they need his help on a case and if he’ll come back to the FBI, “all will be forgiven.” (Apparently, Mulder and the FBI did not part on good terms.)

Scully goes home — where she finds Mulder sitting in his office throwing pencils at the ceiling and pretending to feel busy and fulfilled.  She says, “Hey, stop pretending to be busy and fulfilled and go back to the FBI — they need you!”  And after some thinking, he agrees.

But only if Scully will go with him.

I knew he was gonna say that.

The two end up joining a team of federal agents who have been using a psychic (Billy Connolly) to try to find some missing women — one of whom is a federal agent herself.  Mulder wants to believe that the psychic is real; Dana thinks it’s all bunk.  Sound familiar?  Yep.

Of course, now that they’re dating, Scully has turned into TV’s  stereotypical girlfriend harpie, which was a little on the annoying side (“You should do it!” “You better stop doing it or else!” “Why aren’t you doing it?”  “If you keep doing it, I’m going to dump you!”  Dude, make up your mind already, Sculls).  But hey, at least her hair looked purdy, right?

The resolution of the storyline is really neither here nor there — blah blah blah brain transplants blah blah blah Frankenstein’s monster blah blah blah.  It is, as I said, not really anything more developed or thoughtful than the typical stand-alone X-Files episode.  But hey, you know what?  I LOVE stand-alone X-Files episodes.  They’re darn fun.  And so is this movie.

Hope they do another one soon.

[Netflix me | Buy me]

Genre:  Science Fiction
Cast:  David Duchovny, Gillian Anderson, Callum Keith Rennie, Billy Connolly, Amanda Peet, Mitch Pileggi

Tags:

6 Responses to “MOVIE: The X-Files: I Want to Believe (2008)”

  1. Alisa Says:

    Now, I’ve never been much of an X-Files fan. I’ve always loved Millenium. My husband likes X-files, and was over joyed when this movie came out, went to see if and truly hated it.

    On a different note, saw 7pounds this weekend. The movie moves a bit to slow for my tastes, but the end is ABSOULUTELY great, I cried non-stop once you figured out what he was doing.

  2. Megan Says:

    YES! Exactly. I loved this movie for all of the things it did right. It’s like Chris finally realized that the real appeal to the X-Files didn’t come from the alien-government conspiracy folderol but rather from Mulder and Scully being Mulder and Scully.

    It’s a great movie and I really enjoy knowing that this is how their story turned out, in the end. It feels right.

  3. Sarah Says:

    mmmm. we disagree. the banality of this movie broke my heart in half. Scully as Dr. Religious? BARF.

  4. megwood Says:

    Scully was always Dr. Religious, though. That didn’t strike me as out of place for her character at all (remember the episode when her father died?).

  5. Sarah Says:

    I know…but it just seemed more grossly obvious in the film. It was, for me, an easily ignored aspect of the series. Her hair was fantastic though.

  6. JC Says:

    I agree this was a good movie (amazing considering Billy Connolly is in it which usually spells kiss of death for me…), too bad it didn’t really perform at the box office so the chances of more are slim at best.

Leave a Reply

