MOVIE: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008)

indycrystalThis is another one of the movies I watched with my Mom a couple of weekends ago.  I just hadn’t had time to write about it, and wanted to blog horror for a bit in celebration of Halloween.

But now here I am, ready to tell you all about it.  And here’s what I have to say in a nutshell:  I know what you thought of this movie, and you are all a bunch of jaded stinkos for thinking it.  Yes, I recognize that this is not a brilliant film.  I recognize that Harrison Ford looked old and didn’t act all that well in it.  Yes, I know — ALIEN SKULLS.

But you know what?  I DON’T CARE.

There is absolutely no excuse for not seeing this movie if you’ve seen the other three.  You can’t just NOT SEE IT simply because you know it’s not going to be great.  Because you saw Temple of Doom, and it wasn’t great either (though I do loves me some good monkey brains), and what’s more, you’ve probably seen it at least TWELVE TIMES now.  So get off your high horse and go rent the damn new one.

If nothing else, I think you will enjoy Mutt, who plays Jones’s sidekick in this one — I did, anyway.  When it was over, in fact, I was thinking how much fun it would be to have an Indy Jr. series, where Mutt takes over where IndyDad left off and the adventures continue.

[Um, and here’s where I hit “Post” instead of “Save” and published the above without even reading it over first — whoops!  Guess I’ll just leave it like this!]

[Netflix me | Buy me]

Genre: Drama, Adventure
Cast:  Harrison Ford, Karen Allen (still a Hottie McHotterson!), Cate Blanchett, Shia LaBeouf.

Tags: ,

14 Responses to “MOVIE: Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008)”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    The only reason to see this movie is because Karen Allen is radiant, warm and wonderful in it. The rest of the movie is ridiculous! What really does it in is the absurd jeep chase sequence and the fact that the cast has little to no chemistry with each other. Signed, A Jaded Stinko!

  2. Jessie Says:

    Thank you so much for saying this. The movie wasn’t brilliant. But ya know what? Neither were the other three. Exciting, fun, a good time? Sure. But they weren’t brilliant.

    I also enjoyed Mutt quite a bit, but I like most things Shia Labeouf does.

  3. megwood Says:

    Well, shoot, I meant to hit “Save” and apparently I hit “Post” instead! Dudes, that was a rough draft! I hadn’t even read it once yet. And now you’ve already commented, so I will have to leave it (but will add image and links, at least).

    I LOVED that Jeep chase! It had me laughing out loud! Loved it. JADED STINKO!!

  4. Brad hansen Says:

    Speaking of Karen Allen, I wrote an unsolicited script for a Starman sequel back in 1998. It was my first script and I quit college to finish it. It’s been gathering dust ever since. I sent it to Jeff Bridges and John carpenter, although I would prefer if Carpenter didn’t direct a sequel. I wrote some good f/x sequences and some interesting characters. I’m pretty sure I’ll never be involved, but I’d to see the f/x scene from the beach being incorporated, (Jeff’s manager Neil will know the one, totally plagiarised from another movie, but it would look great on film today). If anyone has any questions, email me at hansenfilm@yahoo.ie and I’ll answer them. (Although I won’t give away any plot points. And yes there is a son and indeed, I actually have the perfect casting suggestion!!

  5. Trip Says:

    Indy IV –

    * Leather jackets abound
    * Magnetic skulls round
    * Bad CGI by ants’ mound
    * Lost cities found
    * Acting not sound
    * Checked watch to see if wound

  6. megwood Says:

    Leather jackets rule.
    Magnetic skulls’r cool.
    Bad CGI: good example
    Tho’ it beat monkey brains in a temple

    Acting was goofy
    But movie was spoofy!
    So I still say you’re a jaded stinkoroofy.

  7. Dating Advice Says:

    When my friend asked me about Indiana Jones, the first word that I said was ALIEN. LOL to that, but the movie is good and I can see Shia Lebouf doing more movies. He is a talented actor.

  8. Eva Says:

    I find myself, sadly, too old to be attracted to Shia LaBoeuf. But I like him in an “I actually just like him because he’s a good actor, not because I find him sexy” way. And that’s pretty rare, my friends; pretty rare, indeed.

  9. megwood Says:

    I feel the same way, Eva. My first Shia movie was Disturbia, which was really fun, but he’s really a “kid” in that movie, and that’s stayed with me. Young’un!

  10. Ellen Says:

    Okay, I recently watched this and I still cannot believe how BAD it was!
    I mean the dialogue totally sucked & the story was so lame. Plus, you had a cast of fabulous actors (Ray Winstone, Cate Blanchett, John Hurt & Harrison Ford) who were all just unbelievably over-the-top as cliched characters… it was horrible! And the cheesy CGI effects were equally awful. How does this happen in a big budget, Hollywood film with both Speilberg & George Lucas at the Helm?! There was none of the excitement or true adventure of the original film… none! Thankfully, this was a Netflix rental & I didn’t have to pay $10 to see it in a theatre.

  11. Lorraine Says:

    Yes, you know there is something deeply wrong with a film that makes the great Ray Winstone seem conventional and boring 😉 It’s similiar to how I feel about Star Wars I, II, III. Somehow they made Ewan McGregor unsexy. How did George Lucas accomplish that?!

  12. Brie Says:

    While, I doubt I will be rewatching it a million types…I have to admit that I enjoyed the new one.
    I loves me a little lame adventuring, especially with some Sci-Fi thrown in for good measure (which was the part that had all of my friends groaning, but I was woo-hooing).
    Lame, I know.

    And heck yeah, gotta love Shia, whether he’s too young for me or not!

  13. Nai Says:

    I actually liked the movie. I walked out wondering what all the complaints were about. It’s an Indiana Jones movie; if we really think about it, they’re all OTT in plot, characterization, and action. I found this movie on par with the others — escapist fun. And to complain about aliens, but not about the Lost Ark of the Covenant, the the impervious temple guys and their magic-statues, the hundreds-years-old Templar Knight, and the restorative Holy Grail is just silly.

  14. megwood Says:

    Thank you, Nai! EXACTLY.

Leave a Reply

