Double Feature: Bugs (2003), Imposter (2000)

Hey, guys!  I’m starting NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) on Saturday, and since I’ve never done it before, I have no idea how much time it will actually suck up (possibly not much, especially if I bail after the first week).  Meanwhile, I’ve watched four movies I have yet to review, with plans for at least another two before the weekend.  Time to race through a couple of reviews before I forget what any of the movies were about!

So, to quickly cover the last of the bad movies from last weekend with Mom (one is good-bad, the other bad-bad — we’ll see if you can figure out which is which), I’m going to cram them into a single post and write them in haiku.  I have a feeling this will not be a problem for 99.99% of you, who would not be so foolish as to rent either of these two movies in the first place and therefore will not mind missing out on a lengthy description of their plots.

And Trip, before you ask, the answer is Bugs for the first one, and Alf for the second.

Bugs (2003)

Giant scorpions
Are why I do not go on
Underground trains. Chomp!

[Netflix me]
Genre: Science fiction
Cast: Antonio Sabato Jr., Angie Everhart, Duane Murphy, Karl Pruner

Impostor (2000)

Sinise may be fake.
D’Onofrio has red hair?
Yawn, I am sleepy.

[Netflix me]
Genre: Science fiction, Crap
Cast: Gary Sinise, Vincent D’Onofrio, Madeleine Stowe, Tony Shalhoub

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Double Feature: Bugs (2003), Imposter (2000)”

  1. Brie Says:

    Lol! Nothing warms the soul like a good haiku.

    I’m doing NanoWrimo for the first time this year as well! Yay!

    Maybe you could write a novel about a genius librarian who saves the world by deconstructing bad horror movies.

  2. megwood Says:

    Dude, that idea is genius (for my novel). It could be, like, my superpower or something.

    Except, shoot, I’ve already told everybody I’m doing historical fiction (close friends and family have been hearing about this novel idea for about six years now so I’d better really get started on it!).

    I will save your idea for my second book. 😉

    Buddy me, or whatever they call it, at the NaNo site if you are on there. I’m under “megwood.”

  3. Brie Says:

    SuperMeg! Saving the world from “really bad” bad movies!

    I’ve changed my mind twice this week already for what I’ll write about. I have a new idea that feels a bit self-indulgent and whiny to me, or the thoroughly hashed out idea that I’ve been planning for years, which I love but isn’t on my mind right now.
    At the moment, I seem to be settled on the new idea…by tomorrow I may be back to the other.

    I am “dobalina” on the NaNo site. I’ll be sure to “buddy” you whenever they get the author search back up and running.
    Have fun Saturday!

  4. Trip Says:

    My esteemed cohort
    These movies I can’t support
    My life is too short

  5. Lizzie Says:

    Wow! Super-Haiku – writing Trip! It not only had the right number of syllables in each line, but it rhymed too!! I totally love the “Super Meg” idea saving the world from bad horror movies. How come nobody has made any jokes about “Mork and Mindy?” Robin Williams always said “Nanoo, nanoo,” which is what your website name sounds like!

  6. Lizzie Says:

    WARNING! WARNING! Here comes a particularly silly comment. (Silly? From Lizzie!? Nah – it couldn’t be!) I had a vague feeling that I might have seen “Impostor” before, but didn’t remember it much at all. However, when I tried to look it up on IMDb, I couldn’t find it – and then I remembered: Meg, you and I spell “imposter” with an “er,” but the movie spells it with an “or”! When I finally figured that out, I found the movie, but that’s the only way I remembered it – by the spelling confusion! Then I looked up the word on a nice site I had found called “One Look … something or other,” which finds bunches of dictionary entries for any word you type in. It seems that either spelling is correct. Leave it to me to worry about a dumb detail like that, and forget the content of the movie!

  7. Ellen Says:

    These crappy movies
    I cannot stand to watch them
    Let Meg have her fun

  8. megwood Says:

    Hee.

  9. Dating Advice Says:

    I enjoyed watching BUGS.
    Impostor, I never heard of that movie until today.

Leave a Reply

