New/Used TV This Week!

It’s week two of the new Fall TV season, and here’s what’s coming up (not much, of course, since the real onslaught doesn’t begin until the 22nd):

Monday, September 8 (tonight, yo!)

8pm — FOX — Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, season 2

I still haven’t decided what I think about this one.  I haven’t even gotten around to watching last season’s two hour finale (I’ll do that today, though, I promise), and though I did enjoy it well enough last year to keep tuning in, I can’t help but think some of that may have had to do with the fact there wasn’t much else on post-strike.  The show has a lot of problems — one of the primary ones for me being that John Connor is a whiny wussy-pants who I can’t in a million years picture ever getting the gumption to save the world from a really mean puppy, let alone a race of killer machines.   But I did like all the women on the show, not to mention the grown-up boys, like Brian Austin Green and Dean Winters.  Who knew David Silver grew up so nice?  Me likey.

In any case, I haven’t completely given up yet, but this series is definitely going to be the first one I axe if it doesn’t suck me back in quickly.  Hear that, Sarah Connor?  You’re on notice, toots!

Tuesday, September 9th

8-9:35pm – FOX — Fringe, season 1

This is one of the new shows I’m actually extremely excited about.  May it please not suck, TV Gods, please!!  It’s the latest weirdo thriller from J. J. Abrams, the brilliant (and adorable!) mind that brought us two of my favorite shows of all time, Alias and Lost, not to mention one of my most-guiltiest pleasures ever, FelicityFringe is about a female FBI agent who investigates the paranormal/bizarre along with the help of a con man named Peter (played by Joshua Jackson, who also grew up VERY nicely, I might add!) and his father, a scientist who’s spent the better part of the last 20 years in an insane asylum.

Sounds sort of like The X-Files, doesn’t it?  Luckily, Abrams swears Fringe won’t require the “insane dedication” of Lost, and also that “a government agent investigating weird stuff” is where the similarities to The X-Files ends.  Don’t get me wrong: I loved The X-Files, but if this ends up being a series about a never-ending attempt to uncover the roots of a massive governmental conspiracy, I won’t be too happy.  Got my fingers crossed that this one turns out to be great — because it could so, so, so easily be great!

Okay, that’s it for stuff this week!  Check back next Monday for the skinny on what’s out between the 15th and 21st!

By the way, I watched the pilot of Sons of Anarchy over the weekend and wasn’t all that impressed.  It was entertaining enough but seriously lacking in the character depth it needs if it’s going to compete for space in my TV schedule.  I’ll stick with it for a few more episodes and see if the characters get any more intriguing as they develop.  Will let you know!

Oh yeah, and I also watched the pilot of 90210 over the weekend, and as lame as this may make me seem, I actually really enjoyed it and will definitely keep tuning in as long as it stays as thoroughly cheesy as it is right now.  No character depth required — just keep on keepin’ on with the high school melodrama!

(For details on Sons of Anarchy or 90210, check out my previous post on the Fall TV season.)

12 Responses to “New/Used TV This Week!”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    I tried Terminator, didn’t really care for it. Then tried it again when Brian Austin Greene arrived (who I agree matured quite nicely, thank you!). It seemed to have no real story. I put this in the category of shows where they focus mostly on the action and then cobble together some weak story and character development. I agree that the kid is a problem. I recently rewatched Terminator 3 (which I remember as a big mess) but I’ve since grown to appreciate Nick Stahl (Carnivale, yeah) and enjoyed it more the 2nd time.

    Fringe – I have high hopes for this. The cast looks great, including Lance Reddick (I love every actor from “The Wire” and will check them out in almost anything), and the premise is interesting.

  2. Alisa Says:

    Fringe – Can’t wait to watch Fringe, but I’m going to try to not to get to attached because you know that Fox takes off all of it’s good shows and leaves all the crappy ones on.

    I’m also looking foward to Eleventh Hour. It looks really good, even though I have no idea what it’s about. LOL

    Ps – Over the weekend I may have watched Nick Cage’s worst movie to date. I loved Con Air and Face Off and I HALF liked Ghost Rider… But what in god’s name was he thinking when he made The Wicker Man??? This movie sucked big……….. Only a man could come up w/the concept that woman who are pagan’s and dare I say feminists, cut out the tongues of men and use them for procration and ritual sacrafise. Ellen Burstyn WHY!!!

  3. Lizzie Says:

    “Sarah Connor” and “Fringe” are the only 2 shows debuting this week that I’m interested in, either! And I so agree – “Sarah Connor” is on the (oh boy, this is bad) fringe! I don’t even think the show is ABOUT John Connor – it’s about his mother. Hence the wussy-ness of his character! I may keep watching it, or I may give it up, if we get too log-jammed.

    I also HOPE, HOPE, HOPE “Fringe” turns out to be good. But hey, Fox hasn’t canceled “Bones”! Yet! I also liked “Con Air” and “Face Off,” and I think “Wicker Man” sound disgusting!

    And one more thing; I always use VCR’s to tape shows; I don’t own a Tivo or DVR either!

  4. megwood Says:

    The original “Wicker Man” scared the beheysoos out of me when I first saw it. I haven’t seen the remake, though. At least, I don’t think I have. Maybe I’ve blocked it out. . .

  5. Alisa Says:

    Wiker Man – It was so bad that you just might have. LOL

    Lizzie – true about Bones, I hadn’t realized that, but I have to say I don’t know if I thought Bones was too long last week, or I was just really tired, but I fell asleep for the 2nd hour of Bones. My husband had to tell me how it ended, and I’m sorry, but the ending sounded lame. Oh dear, was that one giant run on sentance. LOL

  6. Lorraine Says:

    Alisa – possibly The Eleventh Hour “looks good” because it stars Rufus Sewell 🙂 I’m definitely going to check it out for that reason, although the premise strikes my fancy also.

  7. Lizzie Says:

    Just tried to watch my tape of “Sons of Anarchy,” and was so bored by it that I turned it off about half-way through. Forget that one for me! Too many other more interesting shows for me to try to follow. (Will “Eleventh Hour” be one of them???)

  8. Alisa Says:

    Fringe – Watched it last night, and sorry but it’s too outlandish for me. I stop watching after the Dr. suggested communication through sleep. And why was everyone looking at the Dr. like “hey that’s crazy”, when he REALLY IS CRAZY!! Hello, mental inst. And as a Bostonian, I have to complain about everytime a movie or show is centered around Boston, it’s always snowing. We do have summer here. 🙂

  9. jo Says:

    I’m on the bubble with SCC; since it’s up against Chuck AND DWTS (and DWTS has Erica Kane plus Phyllis, so how can I resist?) I don’t think it will be on my watch/tape list this year. Even though I really like Summer Glau, especially when she’s flipping between robot/human mode, like last season when she was telling the principal what the girl in the bathroom said, or this past episode when she was pleading with John not to shut her down.

    Fringe was fun. I don’t expect much from it, so I think it will keep me amused.

  10. Alisa Says:

    I’ve never watched a single epsiode of DWTS, but since I found out that Cloris Leachman And Lacey from SYTYCD, I so watching.

  11. megwood Says:

    I just put up a new post about Fringe, but did want to comment on the snow in Boston thing, Alisa! I was actually thrilled to see the Boston setting AND the snow. So many shows are shot on the West Coast or in Vancouver, BC nowadays that seeing snow in a TV show feels rare and different. Also, I used to live in Rhode Island, and it snowed plenty there in the winter! It was nice to see it again, actually. New England snow is unlike snow anywhere else — I miss it!

    That said, I know how annoying it can be when a TV show is set in your town. You can actually HEAR my eyes rolling every time there’s a thunderstorm on “Gray’s Anatomy”! Not to mention every time someone on that show uses the phrase “mocha latte” or “ferry boat.” Oy.

  12. Ellen Says:

    2 things…
    “Wicker Man” remake – BAD
    Entourage – GOOD

    And let’s not forget the new season of “Burn Notice” on USA… me likey!

Leave a Reply

