BOOK: Avalanche by Patrick F. McManus

This is the first McManus mystery novel I’ve read, and it was totally an impulse buy while I was on vacation a few weeks ago. After a week of temperatures in the 90’s, I just couldn’t resist picking up a novel titled Avalanche with a picture of snow all over its cover. Ahhhhh, snow. Add to that the fact it appeared to come highly recommended (for example, The New York Times said, “Everybody should read Patrick McManus”) and it seemed like a fairly safe bet.

As it turns out, it’s quite entertaining, though not without a few flaws. The main character of this series is a small-town Idaho sheriff named Bo Tully. When Bo is called in to a local ski lodge to investigate a missing person, he initially expects an open-and-shut case coupled with a vacation-esque stay at the lodge. But on the way there, he and his partners (his dad, Pop, who is a retired sheriff, and his buddy Dave) are nearly killed by an avalanche, leaving everybody at the lodge, including them, trapped for several days. After poking around a bit, Bo and his team quickly discovers that A) the missing person is actually a murder victim, and B) someone was trying to kill THEM with that avalanche.

Though the writing could’ve used a little tightening up in places, and McManus sometimes tries just a little too hard to be funny, for the most part, this is a thoroughly entertaining and engaging little romp. I really enjoy mysteries that are set in small locations (a mansion, a ski lodge where everybody is trapped, etc.), and this one was exactly what I wanted when I read it. I’ll definitely be looking for the first book in this series, The Blight Way, and recommend this one to anybody who is in the mood for a light mystery with a comic edge and a lot of blizzardy snow.

[MYSTERY]

[Buy this book | Browse more book reviews | Search the book reviews]

Tags:

3 Responses to “BOOK: Avalanche by Patrick F. McManus”

  1. Melinda Says:

    Wait, what?? Pat McManus is writing *mystery novels*???? I should add that I am quite excited at the prospect, having grown up reading his humor. I’ll have to let my dad know, since he loves McManus as well. I’m so glad you reviewed this! ::happy dance:: Yay!

  2. megwood Says:

    Yay! Glad I’ve inspired a happy dance in someone! 🙂

    I haven’t read any of his humor stuff — will have to look for it!

  3. Melinda Says:

    It’s outdoorsy, hunting, fishing stuff, and some of the stories he tells are hilarious! I think the grasshopper trap or the “dead” deer that woke up while he was packing it out of the mountains on a bicycle are my favorites. It’s very good for bad mood days, at least for me.

Leave a Reply

