New Boyfriend is up!

NERDS RULE!

‘Nuff said.  Enjoy!

http://megwood.com

33 Responses to “New Boyfriend is up!”

  1. Alexis Stark Says:

    Just wanted to say that I also love the poker/time travel episode of TNG (the name is Cause and Effect, if you were wondering). Great episode, but not my favorite. I suggest you re-watch Yesterday’s Enterprise (Enterprise C comes through a wormhole, chaos ensues).
    Although, I do like that Cause and Effect has more of Data in it. Have you ever considered a write-up on Brent Spiner? He’s awesome.

  2. Sally Says:

    If that was the first time you realized that Daily Show correspondents can’t always keep a straight face, you must not have seen the infamous banana skit featuring Stephen Colbert…

  3. megwood Says:

    I wasn’t really a regular Daily Show watcher until the last couple of years, which I think was post-Colbert for the most part. (Before we had a DVR, it was too much trouble trying to tape the show every night and I turn into a pumpkin at 10pm on weeknights.) I will definitely go hunt down the banana skit!

    “Cause and Effect” — thanks, Alexis!! I can never remember the name of that episode!

  4. Liz Says:

    ALEXIS! YAY! I’ve always loved Brent Spiner – alas, I’m not sure Meg shares our enthusiasm. I LOVED that “Cause and Effect” episode; it was directed by Jonathan Frakes (Riker), and may have been the first episode he directed. “Yesterday’s Enterprise” was also a very good episode. (Do I detect another “TNG” Trekkie here? I know I’m one!)

  5. megwood Says:

    I love Brent Spiner, actually! He was great in “Threshold,” too.

    TNG was the best of the Star Trek series, in my opinion (I even liked it better than the original, though I love the original too, of course). Voyager was very entertaining, but not as “thoughty” as TNG. Deep Space 9 was boring, and Enterprise — oy, don’t get me stahted! Looking forward to the J.J. Abrams movie!

  6. Lorraine Says:

    I typed in this long reply and it seems to be lost (hope this isn’t a duplicate).

    I love John Hodgman! He did a segment on This American Life called “Flight vs. Invisibility” which is great. You should be able to listen to it here
    http://www.thislife.org/Radio_Episode.aspx?episode=178

    I could go on for pages about The Daily Show. I watched it way back when Craig Kilbourn was the host but it is miles better with “my boyfriend” Jon Stewart. Once he starts giggling, I lose it too. I miss the Steven vs. Stephen (that’s Carell vs. Colbert) segments and I miss “This Week in God” with Colbert (boop, boop, boop…)

    Here are some of my fav segments.
    Steve Carell eating Crisco (begins at min 5:00)
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=118927&title=slimming-down-with-steve

    Nate Corddry and fake hunting:
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=120270&title=bye-bye-birdie

    Vance DeGeneres (yes he is Ellen’s brother). He was one of my fav correspondents:
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=127189&title=dont-ask-dont-tell-me-anything

    And yes Sally, the Colbert banana segment is infamous:
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=108395&title=prince-charles-scandal

    Ok, I’ll stop for now 😉

  7. alisa Says:

    Sorry Meg, but I have to take off a few points off of Hodgeman, for being the one that delayed the boyfriend last year. Silly man for making you laugh and giving you chemical burns. 😦

  8. Lorraine Says:

    I love John Hodgman! He did a segment on This American Life called “Flight vs. Invisibility” which is great. You should be able to listen to it here
    http://www.thislife.org/Radio_Episode.aspx?episode=178

    I could go on for pages about The Daily Show. I watched it way back when Craig Kilbourn was the host but it is miles better with “my boyfriend” Jon Stewart. Once he starts giggling, I lose it too. I miss the Steven vs. Stephen (that’s Carell vs. Colbert) segments and I miss “This Week in God” with Colbert (boop, boop, boop…)

    Here are some of my fav segments.
    Steve Carell eating Crisco (begins at min 5:00)
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=118927&title=slimming-down-with-steve

    Nate Corddry and fake hunting:
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=120270&title=bye-bye-birdie

    Vance DeGeneres (yes he is Ellen’s brother). He was one of my fav correspondents:
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=127189&title=dont-ask-dont-tell-me-anything

    And yes Sally, the Colbert banana segment is infamous:
    http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=108395&title=prince-charles-scandal

    Ok, I’ll stop for now 😉

  9. Lorraine Says:

    I love John Hodgman! He did a segment on This American Life called “Flight vs. Invisibility” which is great. You should be able to listen to it on the “This American Life” website. I never watch commercials but I will check out the Apple ads because of Hodgman.

    I could go on for pages about The Daily Show. I watched it way back when Craig Kilbourn was the host but it is miles better with “my boyfriend” Jon Stewart. Once he starts giggling, I lose it too. I miss the Steven vs. Stephen (that’s Carell vs. Colbert) segments and I miss “This Week in God” with Colbert (boop, boop, boop…)

    Some of my favorite segments are:
    Steve Carell eating Crisco
    Nate Corddry and “fake hunting”
    The older segements with Vance DeGeneres (yes he is Ellen’s brother). He was one of my fav correspondents:

    And yes Sally, the Colbert banana segment is infamous.

    You can watch these segments on the Comedy Central website. I tried to include the links but then my reply never gets posted.

  10. megwood Says:

    Ah yes, “Even Stevphen”! I loved it when they did that one (the two Stev/phens against each other). There was a great tribute to it about 2-3 years ago too for the ten year anniversary of the show:

    http://tinyurl.com/evenstevphen

    Hilarious!!

  11. megwood Says:

    I’m totally striking out at finding the “banana” segment with Colbert. Any other keywords I can add to my search?

  12. megwood Says:

    Wait, it must be this one: http://tinyurl.com/colbertbanana

    I’m dyin’ from laughing so hard at the moment. Awesome!

  13. Lorraine Says:

    Yes Meg. That’s the sketch. It’s funny EVERY time I watch it! Thanks for remembering the correct name of “Even Stevphen”. I would love how they would yell “Yes”, “No” back and forth 😉

    I Tivo both The Daily Show and Colbert Report nightly. I think that Colbert has surpassed TDS in some respects. I love the Threatdown – bears!!

  14. Liz Says:

    OMG! I finally saw the videos you put up of John Hodgeman. I hadn’t even heard of him, but he was hilarious! I also loved the banana video and the “Even Stevphen” one. Thanx for broadening my horizons. I’ve put in a link to another funny video from You-Tube, part of which I had seen on the “Today” show. The finger-snapping is from “West Side Story,” so I laughed particularly at that!

  15. Trip Says:

    Am I the only one here who thinks Samantha Bee is a riot? With her hubby Jason Jones? Man, I’d like to spend a night at one of their dinner parties….

    There was a segment with Rob Corddry where he goes back to Boston to revisit some high school buddies – made me almost wet myself. Ah, TDS, how I miss thee…

  16. megwood Says:

    I think Sam Bee is awesome — did you see her piece last night, Trip? Oh man, I was crying from laughing so hard. She looks fab preggers too. It just makes her seem all the more delightfully ridiculous, some how. 🙂

    The Daily Show routinely makes me laugh so hard I think I might actually throw up if I don’t stop soon. Once, I laughed so insanely loud and long that our neighbor came over to find out what in THEE HELL was going on. I still remember which sketch that was. It was this Rob Riggle one:

    http://tinyurl.com/mortalkombatriggle

    “Two candidates, but only one will do, and the OTHER will diiiiiie.”

  17. megwood Says:

    Liz, that YouTube clip is awesome! I’m forwarding that one around to family and friends STAT. Hadn’t seen that one! 🙂

  18. Eva Says:

    “I’ve seen the poker/time warp episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation 19 times (and counting — Best. Episode. Ever!).”

    I love you. I love you with all my heart.

  19. megwood Says:

    And I love you, Eva. And also, Willem Dafoe.

  20. Liz Says:

    WILLEM DAFOE?? How’d HE get into this? (These videos are HILARIOUS!)

  21. megwood Says:

    Willem Dafoe got into this as soon as Eva posted, because we’ve been fighting over which one of us gets to marry him since about 2003.

  22. Liz Says:

    Okay, I get it. I think he’s really good, but you guys may fight over him. I may have to fight with Alexis over Brent Spiner!! 🙂 (Note: I was determined not to like him when “TNG” first came out, but, alas, – or maybe, sigh! – I lost that battle pretty quickly!)

  23. Eva Says:

    *Homer voice on* mmm… Willem…

  24. Alexis Stark Says:

    Hey Liz,
    Jonathan Frakes’ first directing chance was actually a great Data story, The Offspring (Data creates a child). Yeah, we might need to throw down over Brent 🙂
    I am indeed a trekkie, and agree with Meg’s assesment, for the most part. I really liked DS9. I didn’t think it was boring at all–especially during the war with the Dominion. But TNG is definitely my favorite.
    I’m also a huge Daily Show fan, btw. I also Tivo it every night.

  25. Liz Says:

    Alexis – YAY! Somebody else who actually liked DS9! I liked it too, although it wasn’t my favorite (it was my husband’s). Sisko was my favorite commander, though, although I rather liked Picard. I actively hated Kirk, Janeway, and – sort of – Archer. I was CRAZY for TNG while it was on, but I was also crazy for “Trek Classic” when I was little; so I can’t quite decide between the two which is my favorite. But it’s one or the other!

    So now, I guess I’m going to have to feel a LITTLE bit bad when I beat you over the head for Brent Spiner! :):) Actually, I’ve always been a big “Spock” fan, too! No! I want them both – you can’t have either one of them! What’s that? I’m being selfish? I don’t think so – not when Meg has a whole ARCHIVE of boyfriends! :):) Oh, okay! I suppose we can share!

  26. Alexis Stark Says:

    Liz- I see. I grew up on TNG, so my nostalgia lies there, instead of with TOS. I like Spock a lot too, but there’s simply no competition there for me. It’s Data, all the way.
    And that about sums up my relationship with their respective series as well. I like TOS, but I’m not that crazy about it. (But I will admit, when I actually sit down and watch it, it’s usually better than I remember.)
    I liked Voyager quite a bit. I liked Janeway (but only for a season or two–then her voice started wearing me down), but I loved Chakotay.
    I didn’t even try Enterprise. I hate to say that, since I’m such a fan of the franchise. But I couldn’t bear to have my impression of the legacy tainted.

    I guess if I had to rank the series, they would go like this:
    TNG; DS9; TOS; VOY; ENT

  27. Alexis Stark Says:

    P.S. Meg, do you realize your site here time-stamps the posts with GMT? Are you in England? Or is the site…program….whatever gives you this space…in England?

  28. Ellen Says:

    Umm Meg, you know I love you dearly, but I am a Mac user, so stop slamming us creative types! Ever try to run Adobe creative suite on a PC?… You can’t, because PC’s can’t handle such design oriented applications! I know, I know, 99.5 % of the world runs on PCs, but just for the record… MACS RULE! And just remember one thing… Apple gave us the iPod… Nuff said!

    As for the Daily Show… There’s only one choice in boyfriends for me…Jon Stewart!
    He’s no Guy Pearce, but he can be my fantasy Nice Jewish Guy boyfriend any day… My parents would plotz if that ever happened! Oy!

  29. mona buonanotte Says:

    Wait…John Hodgman is MY Fantasy Boyfriend! I s’pose there’s enough Geek-ness to go around, but still….

    I got my husband “Areas of My Expertise” for his birthday this year, but he can’t read it ’cause I keep stealing it.

  30. Josh Says:

    Wow! Disrespect for your mac-lovin’ bro followed by elevating Little Pat Stewart’s show above James T. Kirk? I cut my Science Fiction teeth on TOS as a youth and can’t wear red shirts to this day. All my nerdy, fanboy innards are completely blown away. We must talk/arm-wrestle.

  31. megwood Says:

    As your sister, it’s my JOB to disrespect you, bro. Besides, it’s not my fault your computer has all its buttons on the wrong side of the screen. Take it up with Steve Jobs, man.

    But seriously, even though the original ST was better in terms of being groundbreaking and unintentionally ridiculous, I still contend that TNG was better in terms of being TOTALLY AWESOME.

    Should we arm-wrestle to settle this, though? I’m thinking if the goal is to determine who is the geekiest, we probably ought to have a light-saber duel instead. TO THE PAIN.

  32. Brother Josh Says:

    I know not of which buttons you are referring to. All the buttons on the many macs I use each day are perfectly ordered (the new mice even have the right click functions you PC users need to avoid hot keys…).

    Don’t mistake my love of Kirk/Spock/Bones as disrespect for Pat and the gang at TNG. While I still reach for my phaser every time I see a Klingon on the bridge (Yes, I have one of those, too. I am UBER-NERD the Math Teacher! Hear me whinge!), I did enjoy the different character interactions, the writing was good and Counselor Troi was very cute.

    As for the light-sabers: You’ve seen the collection my padawan’s have put together for my use as well as witnessed my prowess defeating Tim Hagerman with the real thing. Bring on the funk, we want the funk.

  33. megwood Says:

    YOU CAN’T HANDLE THE FUNK!

Leave a Reply

