Matt Harding Not Only THINKS He Can Dance. . .

I am madly in love with this video today.  Matt Harding, like Zaphod Beeblebrox, is “just zis guy, you know?”  But he’s created one of the most entertaining pieces of Internet art I’ve seen in quite a while.  He’s gone everywhere, all over the world, and filmed himself dancing what can only be described as an absolutely ridiculous little jig.   His movie starts with a few moments of him dancing alone in various locations on the globe, but after that, we get the utterly awesome treat of getting to see him dance with a wide variety of others:  kids, adults, underwater creatures, weightless astronauts, a soldier in the Korean DMZ, etc.

At first, I couldn’t figure out WHY this video kind of brought tears to my eyes (well, it DID, shut up!).  But then I realized — it’s because a lot of times lately, I feel pretty bummed out about the world.  Pay attention to the news and it seems like we’re all turning into a bunch of self-focused poopheads who don’t give a rip about anything except our bank accounts.   Not just Americans — everybody.  Everybody in charge, in particular.

But then something like this comes along and reminds me of something incredibly important:  though the world may be RULED by self-focused poopheads, it’s still got a WHOLE lot of people in it who know the value of taking ten minutes out of their day to be total goofballs.

Damned if that doesn’t give me just the littlest smidgen of hope.  Silliness rules!

Go watch the video!  http://wherethehellismatt.com/?fbid=b6b-8

And then you can read more about Matt in the New York Times.

11 Responses to “Matt Harding Not Only THINKS He Can Dance. . .”

  1. alisa Says:

    Ok well, I’ve heard of this guy but not accually seen any of the videos. I have to say I also got a little choked up while watching it. 🙂

    I loved the one w/him in Kwait, and the dog starts jumping up w/him. LOL
    And the one in the UK w/the “Leather Guy” and I think it was Spain, w/the kid over on side holdng the soccer ball, I imagined him w/a look on his face saying “coming on guys, enough dancing, let’s play some soccer.”

  2. megwood Says:

    Man, I’m glad I’m not the only one who got a little choked up over that! And it sort of feels ridiculous to say so, too, because it’s a very goofy, happy movie. But there’s just something about being reminded that, to quote Paul McCartney (sorry), “People are the same wherever we go.” I find that very moving somehow.

    I. am a dork. But at least alisa is too — yay! 🙂

  3. Alisa Says:

    I just shows that it doesn’t have to take a tragedy for different cultures to unite and that dancing is just plain fun. Now, this is coming from someone who only moves their upper body when dancing. Plus, that song was just sooooo moving.

    Long live the dorks! May we live long and prosper. 🙂

    “You may say that I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the world will live as one”

  4. Marni Says:

    I was switching between literally sobbing and laughing out loud. That video is one of my favorite things EVER. Thank you for telling me about it. I had never heard of it. You should email the family to tell them to watch it. The tears just started streaming down my cheeks, and I agree, I couldn’t quite figure out why. It is the moving song, and the beauty of God’s earth, and the joy in all of those people. That Matt guy made everybody’s day just a little bit happier, something that I think is the most powerful thing you can do. Thanks Magoo for doing that for me today by sharing this video with me. I love you!!

  5. megwood Says:

    Yay, I’m glad you liked it too, Marns! I sent it to Mom and Dad, but am not sure if they watched it (they didn’t say anything). I’ll send it to the bro too! 🙂

  6. jo Says:

    I ran across this last week and I think I’ve already watched it ten thousand times.

    It gives me hope.

  7. Big Brother Says:

    Thanks for the link, baby sister. That guy is about as talented a dancer as Dave and I. Poor soul. Lucky for him, the camera and the many, many cultures he dances with/in make him look very good. I did not openly weep, like Marni, but I’ll own up to getting misty eyed in spots. Looks like he really had a good time doing it. My Matt wants to know if all he does is dance. It seems so.

  8. megwood Says:

    Hey, Big Brother! I think he just dances, yeah. And can ya blame him? If I had that act, I’d take it on the road myself! I’m just bummed he was in Seattle and I missed being able to participate! I’ll have to pay closer attention to weirdos on the web from now on. . . 🙂

  9. Liz Says:

    I only just realized what this video is that you’ve been raving about. Someone forwarded it to me last week, so I saw it in that context first. I had never heard of this Matt guy before, either. At first, I was just confused by the video, but when he started getting these great groups of people dancing with him, I began to get it. I told my friend that it reminded me of the old Coke commercial, “I’d like to teach the world to sing,” and she said she had thought of that, too! What a great way to bring people together!

  10. Melinda Says:

    Oh thank heavens, I’m not the only one!

  11. shocked Says:

    It would be much better to just show the beautiful places without the annoying ‘dancer’.

Leave a Reply

