New Boyfriend FINALLY Up!

Sorry it took for-freakin-ever (life has been rather insane the last few months!), but the good news is I have three more write-ups nearing completion, so things should be moving a bit more quickly from now forward.  Theoretically, anyway.

By way of introduction to this week’s Beau, allow me to present a list of words caught by my spellchecker while preparing his write-up.  See if you can figure out who he is based on the list:

hee-ell
Gitmo
studly
Russkies
whomped
shirtlessness

And the one that ought to give it ALL away:  Bodhizatfa.

Click here to read the Boyfriend of the Week, and then come back over to this post for comments!

32 Responses to “New Boyfriend FINALLY Up!”

  1. Verna Says:

    “The best place to practice lifts is in the water.” My all time favorite movie after Princess Bride, of course. (Probably some local fisherman, out for a pleasure cruise, at night… in… eel-infested waters)
    When I was a kid, my down stairs neighbor used to put in DD and crank it up so loud, that I would come barreling down just to Patrick make that face while singing ‘I’ve Had the Time of my Life’ to Baby. Ah, the good old days….

    But you did forget Next of Kin. Hillbillies, mobsters, Liam Neeson, Bill Paxton, and Patrick Swayze?!? I love that movie!

  2. Jessie Says:

    Wow, Meg! This is one of your better write-ups, I think. Perhaps because no research was necessary.

    Oh, and I don’t like Ghost either. Nope. I definitely do not watch it whenever it’s on TV and sometimes when it’s not. That would just be wrong and completely lame. Yep.

  3. Rochelle Says:

    i am not a swayze fan but i totally heart point break. came for the keanu, stayed for the awesome. and tried to ignore lori petty.

  4. Marni Says:

    Good call. I knew right away who was coming up. I laughed out loud at the side by side mu-lays. Awesome write up.

  5. megwood Says:

    Glad you guys liked this one! ALSO glad to hear I’m not the only one who thinks “Ghost” is COMPLETELY LAME. Ahem.

    Also, Rochelle! But what about that scene where Lori Petty changes her clothes in public underneath her towel? I totally aspired to be her when I saw that. That was cool, man!

    Oh god, “Next of Kin”! I had successfully BLOCKED THAT ONE OUT, thankyouVERYmuch. And now I’m going to have to rent it, of course! *shakes fist at Verna* You!

  6. Liz Says:

    Okay, now you’re REALLY going to hate me. “Ghost” is the only Patrick Swayze movie I like! I’m not a Swayze fan, myself, but I sure felt terrible about the cancer news! And I’ve never really seen “Dirty Dancing” – except bits and pieces. I know, I’m such a LOSER!

    But how about his song, “She’s Like the Wind?” It was pretty good, but I’ve now forgotten which movie it was from. I’d love to see him pursue more music. And I did see him in some dumb TV sitcom or other, but I can’t even remember which one it was (I normally hate sitcoms!) – maybe (God help us!) “Reba.” Or maybe (God help us even more!) that one about “Grace”??

    That was a good write-up, and I must say I do appreciate the man, even if he was never one of my big faves. But I had to recuse myself from guessing who the boyfriend was going to be, because I knew you were planning a write-up on him. Good job.

    BTW, how can you not like Lori Petty? She was so good in “A League of Their Own,” and such a good foil for Geena Davis. (“There’s no CRYING in baseball!” – one of my all-time favorite quotes!)

  7. Brie Says:

    “It’s about time!”

    (…she said with much love and appreciation.)

  8. megwood Says:

    Liz, that song’s from Dirty Dancing! And how can you never have seen that? That movie’s AWESOME!

    Glad you liked the write-up, Brie! Even though it was pretty ridiculously late in coming! 🙂

  9. Lorraine Says:

    I’m in the not-a-big-Swayze-fan camp. But, I do love Dirty Dancing and Swayze is awesome and hot in that. Kudos also to Jennifer Grey because it is obvious she is not a dancer but did a great job.

    Ghost- totally lame! I love a good romance but hated that movie.

    I agree, one of the best lines ever “There’s no crying in baseball!”. That movie really flows and has alot of heart.

  10. Liz Says:

    I TOLD you I’m a loser! I promise to see “Dirty Dancing” sometime soon. I’m just not crazy about dancing in general; that’s why I’m so out-of-it when it comes to SYTYCD – or even “Dancing with the Stars” (which, I think, is the more ridiculous of the two). However, I’m still totally hooked on “American Idol,” and have gotten my husband hooked, too. It was a lot better this year than the last two (Jason Castro, not withstanding!).

    BTW, poor Jordin Sparks has evidently done some damage to her vocal cords (why am I not surprised? I’ve been waiting for this to happen to an Am. I.) It’s described as possibly “career threatening” – I didn’t make that up! I read it somewhere.

    Check your blog write-up about Stan Winston, and you’ll see where my strongest interest still lies!

  11. megwood Says:

    Sorry to hear about Sparks — that’s a bummer!

    Yeah, I’m STILL blue about Stan Winston today. Glad to hear you were a fan of his work, even if you didn’t know it was HIS work! 🙂

  12. Alisa Says:

    Have to say I’m not a big fan of ghost either, EXCEPT for the scene where Whoopee is sing “Henry the Eighth”. I used to sing that song w/my mother when I was a little girl, hell I’m going to call her now and sing it over the phone to her. LOL

    And Meg, surprise, surprise, I liked Black Dog. Yes, it was hokey, and completely predictable, but where else can you see will you ever see Meatloaf NOT wearing leather and singing to a Transvestite from Transylvania.

  13. megwood Says:

    Patrick’s actually the one who sings the “Henry the VIII” song — over and over incessantly to try to make the Whoopster give into his demands.

    Excellent point about Meatloaf, though! 🙂

  14. Alisa Says:

    Opps, show how much I was paying attention to Ghost. LOL

    Love wil go on throughout death, blah, blah, blah. LOL

  15. Trip Says:

    I’m sorry, folks – everyone knows Road House is Patrick Swayze’s best movie, by far, followed up in a close second place with Red Dawn.

    Wolverines!

    Besides, Swayze with Sam Elliott in the same movie? That is SO teh awesome.

  16. megwood Says:

    Sweet! I’m astonished by the number of you guys who like Road House. I should’ve guessed, though, because you guys are the smartest readers EVER.

  17. Haidee Says:

    anyone who doesn’t like Roadhouse is no longer my friend. Sam Elliot and Patrick? Together? All bristly and macho? Any time, babe, any time. And I did love the monster trucks too 🙂
    You also forgot Steel Dawn, with Lisa (you know, that horrible blonde woman who stole our babe, and has the nerve to be nice too!) WHich also had Brion James in it. He! any movie with Brion, I gots to see.

    Still no Adrian Paul though, tsk, tsk.

  18. megwood Says:

    I haven’t seen Steel Dawn — guess I’d better get on that! 🙂

  19. Danielle Says:

    What a super choice!!
    He’s kind of one of those fit men that you forget about and then you watch Dirty Dancing, which, might I add, my Grandma- yes GRANDMA, bought me on video when I was about 6 years old (!!!), and you remember why you fell in love with him in the first place!!
    ‘Nobody puts baby in the corner!’
    And I am the only person who’s never seen Roadhouse?!
    Great choice Meg!

  20. Kasi Says:

    If you haven’t seen “Keeping Mum” you are TOTALLY MISSING THE P.S. BOAT PEOPLE! It’s his latest and greatest role, to date. He plays a TOTAL SMARMY/SCHMARMY golf instructor who rips his clothes off in one scene and is wearing only a thong! TOTALLY HOT BODY! Even at HIS age!!!!!!!

    Also…ever see the Mystery Science Theater 3000 episode where they watch “Santa Conquors The Martians” (yes! you can look it up on imdb), where Crow T. Robot writes and sings his new favorite holiday jingle “Let’s All Have A Patrick Swayze Christmas This Year”, which has LOTS of Road House references in it where he basically KICKS ASS all Christmas long? If not…you are SO missing out! It’s become a holiday tradition in our household!

  21. Kasi Says:

    P.S. I Love You!!!!!! (ha ha ha ah ah ha ah ha ha!)

  22. Kasi Says:

    OK…I just have to say “Johnny Utah” is like my FAVORITE Keanu character, too! Go Johnny! Go Johnny!

  23. Adrienne Says:

    Great write up on Patrick! Loved Dirty Dancing (I’ve watched it countless times) and I didn’t like Ghost either..!

    I couldn’t find James Roday (Psych) here, would you consider him boyfriend material…he’s a cutie!

    Really enjoy your website…one of those that “I wish I would have thought of that”, but I couldn’t have done it as well…fun reading!

  24. megwood Says:

    Yep, I’m planning write-ups on both James Roday AND Colin Ferguson (“Eureka”) this summer. As soon as their shows come back this July!

    Glad you enjoy the site, Adrienne!

  25. Liz Says:

    TAKE NOTE, PATRICK SWAYZE FANS: The somewhat-maligned, and CERTAINLY-controversial “Road House” is on TV tonight (Wed. July 2) on AMC! I won’t be able to watch it, because we have to watch the Red Sox, and hope they can beat Tampa Bay at least once! (BTW, I’m casting the entire Red Sox team with movie and TV actors – no, I don’t have a life!)

  26. Ellen Says:

    Okay, so I’m a little late for the Patrick Swayze party, but it’s an excellent writeup indeed!

    And… Two of the best movie lines EVER come from his films!…

    “Nobody puts baby in a corner!” – Dirty Dancing
    “I AM AN FBI AGENT!” – Point Break

    They’re both cheesy movies, but I love ’em!
    And I can’t wait to see the Colin Ferguson writeup. My hubby is Scottish & there’s definitely something to be said for their celtic ways!

  27. Ellen Says:

    Oh and Meg, I hate to correct you (seeing as you’re a librarian), but it’s Bhodisatvah, not Bodhizatfa.

    Yep, I briefly went through a Bhuddist phase many moons ago…

  28. megwood Says:

    Actually, it looks like we were both wrong — the most commonly used English-ized spelling of that word is “Bodhisattva.” Since the character’s name in Point Break is given as “Bodhi” in the IMDB listing and elsewhere, I’d assume that’s probably the most likely spelling. However, since this is actually a word that, in its native tongue, isn’t spelled with an alphabet that in any way resembles ours, I vote for spelling it any way you like as long as it’s clear what you mean! Which is why I also won’t ding you on “Bhuddist,” which is actually most commonly spelled “Buddhist.”

    Now aren’t you glad you took a moment out of your day to correct a librarian? 😉

    “I AM AN FBI AGENT” just made me laugh out loud, by the way. Oh god, I love Keanu when he’s angry. It’s just absolutely hilarious. 🙂

  29. Lorraine Says:

    Ellen – you are absolutely correct. One of the best movie lines ever is “Nobody puts Baby in a corner!”

  30. Jim Reely Says:

    keanu is the best. especially this french german huy who idols him on these weird web videos. Anyone else see these? the guy is klaus pierre – think he is the biggest keanu fan i’ve ever seen. totally ridiculous

  31. Ellen Says:

    Oops… so much for trying to correct a librarian (heh)! Guess neither of us would qualify for the Scripps spelling bee!

    And poor Keanu… he’s a total hottie, but the guy cannot act!

  32. Ellen Says:

    And Meg, I love that this writeup got you banned from the Seattle school district’s web server! How dare you try to warp innocent children’s minds with visions of Patrick Swayze in fishnet stockings…Bahahahaha!

    This country is becoming more facist by the day!

Leave a Reply

