BOOK: Improbable Cause by J.A. Jance

After slogging through and then giving up on not one but TWO novels in a row (I only lasted 25 pages into the second one, Katharine Weber’s The Triangle, so won’t bother reviewing it), I decided I needed something I knew would be entertaining. I have a stash of about three J.A. Jance paperbacks for just such an emergency, and this was exactly the book I needed this week!

This is one of the Detective J.P. Beaumont books, set in Seattle, and this time the mystery involves the murder of a dentist who, it turns out, was pretty much loathed by everyone who knew him. That makes coming up with a suspect a bit on the tricky side. But we all know Beaumont will get to the bottom of things eventually, and, even better, he’ll do it with a sarcastic attitude and a fair degree of justifiable swagger. Love that guy!

[finish reading the book review. . .]

Tags:

7 Responses to “BOOK: Improbable Cause by J.A. Jance”

  1. Trip Says:

    May I recommend not a novel for your next read, but a “graphic novel”…in fact, the finest ever done?

    “Watchmen” by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons. It’s brilliant. I’m sure you’ve heard of it. Read it before the movie comes out next year. It’ll take you one or two days, tops. Jude Law has one of its characters tattooed on his back. It’s that good.

  2. Katharine Weber Says:

    Apparently your slog started with the cover of the book, because you didn’t get the title of the novel right. Clearly, Triangle was definitely not the book for you.

  3. megwood Says:

    Whoops, sorry about that, Katharine! Thanks for the correction! I really WANTED to like it, by the way, and it started off extremely intriguing. But I found the stuff about the composer really tedious for some reason, and it just kept going on and on! Which is pretty odd, really, given I’m a classically trained pianist. But there was something about that section that just really didn’t do it for me and it seemed like, from early in the novel anyway, it was going to be a substantial portion of the book.

    Still count your novel, “Objects in Mirror are Closer Than They Appear,” among my top twenty favorite books of all time, if that’s any consolation! It had a tremendous impact on me when I read it in my 20’s.

  4. megwood Says:

    Thanks for the graphic novel recommendation, Trip! I’ve heard of that one many times but have never picked it up. Will remedy that!

  5. Katharine Weber Says:

    Thanks for your gracious reply, Meg. Sometimes we pick up a novel at the wrong time and it does nothing for us. I have returned to novels I thought I hated a few months or years later and devoured them, but the time wasn’t ripe for whatever reason before then. And sometimes I still can’t make headway with certain novels, and that’s that. I do hope you will try again some other time, though, because you might discover you enjoy what is actually going on if you are willing to sit with it a while longer.

    You know Harriet from Objects makes an appearance in my third novel, The Little Women?

  6. megwood Says:

    I somehow missed “The Little Women,” though I remember talking to you about it several years ago via email. I’ll have to track down a copy ASAP, especially now that I know Harriet makes an appearance! I’ve often wondered how she was doing! 🙂

  7. Katharine Weber Says:

    She’s doing very well! I am sure I am not done with her yet. (And Patricia Dolan, the main character in The Music Lesson, has a small but significant little part in Triangle.)

Leave a Reply

