BOOK: The Book of the Dead by Patricia Cornwell

I know — I KNOW! The last few times I’ve picked up one of Cornwell’s lame-ass Scarpetta novels, I’ve panned it mercilessly and sworn I would never read another one again. And yet, argh! The thing is, this series used to be so great, you guys! I’m obviously totally in denial that the magic is really and truly gone. After giving this latest one a try, however, I think I can officially say with 100% certainty that this series is toast. Cornwell has lost her touch, and I’m done for real this time!

I’d tell you what this installment was about, except that it was so scatter-brained and incoherent, I can’t really say for sure. I got about 250 pages in and then actually QUIT READING IT, which tells you right there how bad it was. Once I get that far into a novel, I will almost always keep going regardless of quality because of the time investment I’ve already made. But I kept getting more and more confused, bored, and annoyed with every passing chapter and when I hit the half-way mark, I could tell there was no going any further. (And besides, how can you title your novel Book of the Dead and NOT include any references to Bruce Campbell? Have we forgotten our Evil Dead references, Patty? You could’ve at least had a character named Ash, yo!)

[finish reading the book review. . .]

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “BOOK: The Book of the Dead by Patricia Cornwell”

  1. S. Hawkins Says:

    Thank you so much for saving me from falling into the Scarpetta trap yet again. I keep thinking, “Cornwell, you really couldn’t have irredeemably ruined a good premise and interesting characters, could you?” and then painfully finding out, page by page, just how much she could, and would.

  2. megwood Says:

    Oh good, I’m glad it’s not just me! And I’m also glad I may have finally spared you the agony that comes from picking up another one! 🙂

  3. my blog Says:

    check this out…

    this is mine…

Leave a Reply

