CURSES! Die, Network Executives, Die!

Man, in terms of TV news, this week is really starting to bum me out!  First, I learned yesterday that both Men in Trees (WHAAA!) and Women’s Murder Club have not been renewed for next year (but Sarah Connor Chronicles was?  Really!?).  And today, Moonlight has officially gotten the boot. 

First of all, let me state for the record that I will never forgive ABC for what it did to Men in Trees, which was a well-written, clever, and thoughtful show that didn’t deserve being shafted the way the network seemed to so enjoy shafting it.  Also, it starred one of the hunkiest men to grace primetime television since MACGYVER, people.  And is that worth SO LITTLE in this day and age?  I argue not!

ABC network executives, you are either total buttheads or complete idiots.  You may pick one or the other.  Or both.  In fact, both works for me quite nicely.  As Donald “Duck” Dunn in The Blues Brothers so aptly put it, “If the shit fits. . .”

Also, yes, I know Women’s Murder Club was kind of bad.  Okay, it was kind of pretty really bad.  But you know what?  It wasn’t UNWATCHABLY bad.  It was better than half the crap you know ABC is going to put out next season.  I was enjoying it!  Way more than I have ever enjoyed, say, Private Practice.  WHICH GOT RENEWED!

Is there no justice in this world?!

And as for Moonlight, bah.  Yes, that’s right, I say BAH to you, CBS!  But instead of complaining, I’m just going to go reread my write-up on Alex O’Loughlin and alternate cursing like Tony Soprano with crying silently into my lunch.

Bugger all.  Today sux.

54 Responses to “CURSES! Die, Network Executives, Die!”

  1. Trip Says:

    I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit. It’s the only way to be sure.

  2. Trip Says:

    BTW Meg….

    You called down the thunder…well now you’ve got it!

  3. megwood Says:

    How you managed to quote TWO of my all-time favorite movies, I have no idea (for those who are lost, that would be “Aliens” and “Tombstone,” right, Trip?).

    Dude, we so need to hang out. I have “Tombstone” memorized from start to finish, by the way, so you can’t beat me in a quote war on that one. “Aliens” you might have more luck with, though, because I’ve only seen that one 8,700 times instead of 87,000.

    “Why Kate, you’re not wearing a bustle! How lewd.”

  4. megwood Says:

    Have fun stormin’ the castle! [oops, I thought I was posting this one on the Tooth & Nail thread!]

  5. Trip Says:

    I’m yer huckleberry.

  6. Trip Says:

    The Cowboys are finished, you understand? I see a red sash, I kill the man wearin’ it!

  7. megwood Says:

    He’s down by the creek, walkin’ on water.

  8. megwood Says:

    I have two guns, one for each of ya.

  9. Trip Says:

    (Not Tombstone)

    Well, he should have armed himself if he’s going to decorate his saloon with my friend.

  10. Verna Says:

    You’re no daisy! You’re no daisy at all.

  11. megwood Says:

    Trip: “Jesus, Clyde, you have three pistols and you only have one arm for Christ’s sake.”

    Verna: “I have not yet begun to defile myself.”

  12. Trip Says:

    Well I just don’t want to be killed for lack of shootin’ back.

  13. Trip Says:

    He said the sheriff is near!

  14. megwood Says:

    First off: “That’s HEDLEY.”

    And then secondly (new movie): “I like big fat men like you. When they fall they make more noise.”

  15. Verna Says:

    If you save your breath I feel a man like you can manage it. And if you don’t manage it, you’ll die. Only slowly, very slowly old friend.

  16. megwood Says:

    Nice one, Verna!

    “Blondie! You no good, son of a b. . .” [insert theme: ah-ee-ya-ee-ya, wah wah wah]

    (Note, this was the greatest line of the entire movie when I was about ten years old.)

  17. Verna Says:

    God is not on our side because he hates idiots also

    One of my favorite movies. Seems to me I have too much time on my hands if I can quote several movies….

  18. megwood Says:

    In my opinion, there’s no such thing as “too much time.”

    “There are two kinds of men in this world — those with the guns, and those who dig. You dig.”

  19. Verna Says:

    When you have to shoot, shoot, don’t talk.

  20. megwood Says:

    Tut, tut, such ingratitude after all the times I’ve saved your life!

  21. Verna Says:

    New movie:

    Why a spoon, cousin? Why not an ax, or a …

  22. megwood Says:

    Ooh, you lost me with that one, Verna! Give me a hint!

  23. Trip Says:

    Oooohhhh….that’s that Robin Hood movie with Kevin Costner. Worst Brit accent EVER.

    “Point me towards danger Azeem!”

  24. Liz Says:

    My turn:

    From “Firefly” – “Preacher” – “You’re going to that special Hell for child molesters and people who talk in the theater!”

    From “Boston Legal” – “Alan Shor” – “There are two kinds of people in this world: the ones who drink Coke, and the ones who drink Pepsi.” (A reference to our two party system of Dems and Reps.)

    And lastly, my favorite, from “Young Frankenstein”: Terry Garr: “How about a nice roll in the hay? Roll, roll – it’s fun!”

  25. Verna Says:

    Meg: Trip got it- “That there is Will Scarlett. He’s full of piss and wind”

    Trip: “Guessing. I guess no one’s coming.”

  26. Trip Says:

    Didn’t see it.

    Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein (“that’s FRONK-en-shteen”) are really the only two Mel Brooks movies I ever watch repeatedly.

  27. megwood Says:

    Hey, no quoting Kevin Costner movies on this blog! Wait, unless it’s Bull Durham — you can quote Bull Durham. In fact, I believe I will.

    “Don’t think — it can only hurt the ball club.”

  28. Verna Says:

    You said no Fight Club. Not no Kevin Costner movies. So, another one:

    “Don’t wink, kid”

    Can you guess it?

  29. megwood Says:

    Fight Club is totally allowed — in saying you couldn’t talk about Fight Club, I was actually QUOTING Fight Club.

    However, it should go without saying that Kevin Costner films are not allowed. Because THEY ALL SUCK! *

    *except for Bull Durham

  30. Liz Says:

    THEY DO NOT! What about “Dances With Wolves?” And “Field of Dreams?” (One of our favorites) And “Waterworld” and “The Postman,” although weak, weren’t as bad as everyone thought they were!

  31. Lorraine Says:

    Meg, I thought of you when I read that both Men in Trees and Moonlight were cancelled. I expected the cancellation of Men in Trees since the show has been treated SO badly. It’s been really hard to stay interested because it is on/off/on/off but I’ll watch the final episodes airing soon. They supposedly do have some kind of conclusion. Actually, I think I may miss Plowguy and Jane the most. Marin and Jack don’t seem like a good fit. I guess we’ll have to wait for the Orson Wells biopic to get our James Tupper fix.

    Now, the Moonlight cancellation was a bit of a surprise. I admit that I tried the show twice and just could not get into it. But, it wasn’t bad tv and had a nice following. But, it if had to be cancelled to get cutie Simon Baker back on tv (in The Mentalist this fall) then so be it 😉 Sorry Meg.

  32. Lorraine Says:

    Oh, and Rufus Sewell has a new CBS show this fall also, “Eleventh Hour”. I know that there is another Sewell fan that reads this blog.

  33. megwood Says:

    Answers: Suck, Suck, Suck, and Suck!

    But I will give you “Untouchables,” if you want it. He was acceptable in that one.

    It’s not really the movies themselves that I think are bad, by the way. It’s Costner! I just totally don’t get the Kev thing so many ladies seem to have. Harrison Ford, oui. Kevin Costner, non.

  34. megwood Says:

    Good news about Simon Baker! Love that guy! Rufus Sewell kind of gives me the heebie jeebies, but I did read something recently about “Eleventh Hour” that made it sound like it might be fun.

  35. Lorraine Says:

    Sorry, this is my 3rd post in a row. But, I just watched a clip of “Eleventh Hour” on www. zap2it.com. Eek, Sewell is doing some weird American accent. I guess it is supposed to be American, it’s really just not his normal accent.

  36. Verna Says:

    While I agree with you on Bull Durham, I still disagree about Field of Dreams. That is one of the best baseball movies of all times. Along with Major League. I can quote that one in my sleep.
    “Hey, bartender, Joe Bo needs a refill”

  37. Liz Says:

    WILD THING! Yay! When the Red Sox were losing a few games, I thought they should sacrifice some Kentucky Fried Chicken!

  38. megwood Says:

    “Field of Dreams” is SO not a great baseball movie! I mean, Ray Liotta as Shoeless Joe? First of all, he doesn’t even TRY to do a southern accent, and, even worse, he bats right-handed! Shoeless Joe was a leftie (for batting, anyway) — everybody knows that! As a baseball fan, I was horrified by the utter disregard for authenticity there. You’re making a baseball movie and you cast a rightie as Joe Jackson? What, you thought nobody would notice that?? Even though the only people who are going to watch that movie are BASEBALL people??

    Pfft.

    You want to see a good Joe Jackson, check out D. B. Sweeney in “Eight Men Out.” Now THAT’S a great baseball movie.

  39. megwood Says:

    p.s. I love “Major League”! “The American Express card — don’t steal home without it!”

  40. Verna Says:

    I’m with you on Eight Men Out! Good baseball movie.
    But I still love Field of Dreams, details notwithstanding. “I’m melting, I’m melting”
    But for me, top baseball movie of all is Major League, followed by The Rookie. (I love Dennis Quaid)

  41. Verna Says:

    By the way, Go Rangers! (I couldn’t resist, you being a Mariners fan and all)

  42. megwood Says:

    Yeah, the M’s suck hooey this year. It’s been torturous!

    Best play of the week last week, though, was Manny Ramirez’s fly ball double-play with the high five — did you see that? Oh man, I was DYING from laughing so hard. I hit rewind on the DVR about 8 times. I love that guy!

    I bet it’s on You Tube — I will go look. Yeah, baby, check this out: http://youtube.com/watch?v=dBWsyqne9JE

    Manny bein’ Manny!

  43. Verna Says:

    Ha, ha! Too funny. Had not seen it. Great, I love it!

  44. Trip Says:

    And…that ball is on its way to South America.

  45. Trip Says:

    His name is Robert Paulsen.

  46. Trip Says:

    Major League is, without a doubt, the best baseball movie ever. I do have a soft spot for The Natural, but it’s nowhere near as quotable as the aforementioned best baseball movie ever.

  47. megwood Says:

    “Major League” is pretty great, if only because it’s so delightfully quotable. “The Natural” is awesome — I’ve probably seen that movie 80 gazillion times (give or take). I’m pretty fond of “League of Their Own,” too. “There’s no crying in baseball! NO CRYING!” is a line I like to yell at people during ball games when I think they’re being obnoxious cry babies about something. Umps, managers, the guy at bat limping to first after being hit by a pitch, the chick in front of me bitching about her garlic fries, whatever. It’s a good multi-purpose line that is universally obnoxious in almost every applicable situation, which makes it a great one for baseball fans who are originally from the East Coast. We razz. It’s just what we do.

  48. megwood Says:

    Oops, I meant to end that comment with, “Heywood leads the league in most offensive categories, including nose hair.”

  49. Verna Says:

    I was at the Rangers game the other day when the opponents (the M’s, of all people!!) hit a home run. The guys behind me said, “Too high” I almost died laughing!

  50. Verna Says:

    Meg I’m gonna have to razz you all year about the M’s. I just don’t think I can help myself.

  51. Lorraine Says:

    I liked early Costner but now I find him rather creepy. I do think that both Field of Dreams and Bull Durham are good movies. Bull Durham is fun and smart which is a rare combo these days. For me, Eight Men Out is the best baseball movie – what a cast!

  52. megwood Says:

    Razz away, Verna! We’re all doing it too, even though it’s our team!

    Red Sox got a no-hitter last night — woot!

    Lorraine, glad to hear someone else extol the virtues of “Eight Men Out,” which is definitely one of my all-time favs too!

  53. Liz Says:

    “Eight Men Out” was good – but confusing.
    “The Natural” – feh! (I’m not a Robert Redford fan.
    “Major League” – at first, I thought it was a guilty pleasure, but now I find that so many people loved it! (“Wild Thing” rules!)
    “*61” – very good, and very faithful. Barry Pepper so looks like Roger Maris!
    “Field of Dreams” – Okay, so Ray Liotta is a rightie! Not that big a deal in the whole scheme of things! And how can you not love James Earl Jones (“I’m going to beat you with this crowbar until you go away!”)?
    “A League of Their Own” – My FAVORITE quote of all time – “There’s no CRYING in baseball!”
    And, Yay for Jon Lester’s no hitter!

  54. Liz Says:

    I forgot! I was going to reiterate my “Star Trek” quote here, in reference to all the stupid TV producers: “Die, die, everybody die!”

Leave a Reply

