You Asked For It, You Got It!

This is me, 2008, in my prom dress, circa 1989 (I’m not as elderly as that makes me sound, though — I went to the senior prom as a freshman and then didn’t bother going back three years later).

Sorry it’s so wrinkled — there’s only so much I’m willing to do for you people, and ironing is NOT on the list. Apparently, neither is tanning. Or makeup. Or doing my hair. Or tidying up in the background of the shot.

By the way, if you’re wondering WHY I posted a photo of myself in my prom dress, please read my review and the subsequent comment strand for the movie Prom Night.ย  All will be explained.ย  And yes, I know this is hardy a stunning, high-class prom dress.ย  However, it doesn’t look ANYTHING like what my mother would’ve worn to church in the 80’s, so I still beat Jamie Lee Curtis by a mile.

13 Responses to “You Asked For It, You Got It!”

  1. Liz Says:

    Wow! That’s great! I was confused at first, because I thought we were going to get a glimpse of your hair “back then,” and I thought that that’s the way you’re wearing it now. Then I read the date more carefully, and realized you’re just modeling the dress for us, and it IS a contemporary shot. Not a bad idea, especially because you can be proud that 20 years later, you can still wear it just fine (for whatever that’s worth!). I have to admit, it does kind of look like a Molly Ringwald special! But who am I to complain, who didn’t even have a prom (and who’s sense of fashion has gotten stuck in the Civil War era)!

  2. megwood Says:

    Hah, no, the whole point was to AVOID giving you a glimpse of my hair back then!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Verna Says:

    Totally stylin’! Wow, that’s rad. You are so tubular. Ok, ok, I am done with my nostalgic vernacular of the rockin’ 80’s.
    But you do look great, thanks for the pic!

  4. Rochelle Says:

    In an odd coincidence, my prom dress was circa 1989 and of similar style and color. (Bought for my junior prom and also worn to the senior prom. According to Dad, you don’t wear a $99 dress just once.) Iโ€™m pretty sure I could not fit into it. Fortunately, it is currently residing in a family time capsule and so I cannot retrieve it until the year 2015 to test that. I do have pictures of myself wearing it with HUGE 80s hair and plenty of blue eye shadow. Not that I’m showing them to you.

  5. megwood Says:

    You guys are cracking me up!

    I should totally stick this dress in a time capsule — cool idea, Rochelle!

  6. Alisa Says:

    My 93 Sr. prom dress is just as bad. If you want a good laugh I’ll email you a pic. of it.

  7. Cathy Says:

    I got you all beat by a mile. My prom was way back in ’71 and instead of wearing my hair long and straight, like most girls did, I wore a wiglet that gave me an extra 7 inches in height! Unfortunately, my date wasn’t much taller than I, so, including the heels, I loomed over the poor guy. My dress was dark blue velvet – very renaissance.

  8. Cathy Says:

    By the way, the LOVE the colors of your dining room walls!

  9. Lorraine Says:

    My prom was in ’79 and I destroyed the dress and the pictures long ago. What a nightmare ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. megwood Says:

    Hilarious, everyone! Anybody who wants to share their prom photo with me should most certainly do so: meg@megwood.com. I promise not to blog it unless given explicit permission!

    Glad you like our wall colors, Cathy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. hollie Says:

    Oh man, you crack me up! I love it! I love that you can still FIT INTO IT! You are teh awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚ You know, if you took that bow off and ironed it, it would actually be a pretty hot dress.

    I’d show you mine but I didn’t go to my prom! I can still fit into my wedding dress, but it’s too big now and slides down; not the most flattering photo. When you come visit though I’ll put it on and prance around, and we can dye it purple or something.

  12. megwood Says:

    Awesome, Holls! I’ll bring my prom dress over, and you can put on your wedding dress, and then we should TOTALLY HIT THE TOWN. Ellensburg, LOOK OUT!!

  13. Marni Says:

    You are looking good, Meggie! Glad I got to witness it in person. It is quite amazing how well it fit you. Wow, I shiver to think about what mine would look like on me these days. Why in the HECK was the thing so dang SHORT??

Leave a Reply

