More Ex-Boyfriends Coming to a TV or Theater Near You!

I recently found out about three more ex-Boyfriends with new projects coming out in the next year and thought you guys might like to know about them too, since this IS ostensibly a “Boyfriends in the News” blog and no exes have been arrested or anything more juicy like that (well, as far as I know, anyway — surely it’s about time for another Lost cast member to get a DUI?).

The first of the three new Boyfriend projects is one I learned about the hard way when I made a joke in an email to a friend regarding recent remakes of “classic” 70’s/80’s horror movies and ended my message with, “I bet you a million bucks someone has the audacity to remake Friday the 13th next.  Because lord knows 25,789 sequels just AREN’T ENOUGH. . .”

My friend sent me an email back that said simply, “*snort*” and provided this link:

http://www.zap2it.com/movies/news/zap-padaleckifridaythe13thcasting,0,4784646.story

Yep, it’s Jared Padalecki, starring in the remake.  Coming to theaters in 2008.

I am both utterly disgusted and extremely excited, of course.  That’s just how my brain works when it comes to things like this.  I think the original Friday the 13th is a brilliant film, personally, and I know for a fact that modern-day filmmakers will take everything that was unique and interesting about it and turn it into a stereotypical gorefest with no character or heart whatsoever. 

And yet at the same time, that Jared Padalecki sure is SUPER CUTE. . . 

Luckily, yesterday I got some GOOD news, which is that Anthony Stewart Head (oftentimes simply called “Tony Head,” but I prefer the whole shebang) is coming to network television next fall in a series entitled Merlin which will be a fantasy show about. . . like, DUH . . .  Camelot.  It sounds pretty fun except for the part where NBC tacked on this extra clause in its description: “. . . but inspired by 21st century storytelling.”  Because when someone refers to “21st century storytelling” these days, what they usually mean is Lost and I’m not sure I can handle another series like Lost right now.  Frankly, I can barely handle the Lost I already have. 

Nevertheless, I’m hoping they can make it work because it really does sound like fun.  Read more about Merlin here:  http://www.cinemablend.com/television/New-NBC-Series-Merlin-Winter-2009-9793.html

And, last but not least (I hope not, anyway), J. J. Abrams has a new show slated for September called Fringe which will star none other than ex-Boyfriend Joshua Jackson, who I still have a MIGHTY crush on, fueled most recently by reruns of Dawson Creek I’ve been catching a few times a week on some cable channel or another.  Fringe sounds a bit like Supernatural crossed with the X-Files, and is about a “unit” of scientists and Feebies who investigate “sci-fi mysteries.”  Could be good, could be just mind-bogglingly awful.  I look forward to finding out which! 

Here’s more on Fringe, if you’re curious: http://hollywoodinsider.ew.com/2008/02/joshua-jackson.html.

Hooray for ex-Boyfriends still getting work!

9 Responses to “More Ex-Boyfriends Coming to a TV or Theater Near You!”

  1. Alisa Says:

    I can live w/a Friday the 14th remake. Never really got into 89’s slasher movies.

    What upsets me is rumors of the remaking of Bill and Ted and Short Circuit. To classics which in my opinion should be LEFT ALONE!! 🙂

    Hay, has anybody heard about when Jekyll is coming back to the BBC?

  2. megwood Says:

    I’m sorry, did you just say they are remaking BILL AND TED?

    What’s next? ISHTAR?

  3. Alisa Says:

    Oh, oh, oh,…… I just heard that they are remaking Emma into a Hip Hop Movie.

    Who is the DUMBEST PERSON ON THE PLANET who thought of this, and who’s the 2ND DUMBEST PERSON ON THE PLANET that said That’s a great idea. What’s going to happen next are they going to have Eminen play Mr. Knightley?

    Can you tell that I hate this movie already??? LOL

  4. megwood Says:

    Sometimes modernizing a classic works great, though. “Ten Things I Hate About You” leaps right to mind, for example. “Bridget Jones’ Diary” was kind of “Pride & Prejudice” reimagined, too. And, actually, they’ve done it with “Emma” once already — “Clueless”!

    It might not be that bad (though I’m not a Jane Austen fan, personally, so am unlikely to bother with it either way)!

  5. Rochelle Says:

    I am even more excited about this news. Horror Movie + Jensen Ackles = Awesome. http://community.tvguide.com/blog-entry/TVGuide-Editors-Blog/Movie-News/Jensen-Ackles-Cast/800037010

  6. megwood Says:

    Is that a remake of the 1981 “My Bloody Valentine”? If so, I hope it doesn’t suck as much as the original did! Though, if it’s really going to be in 3-D, I’m in no matter how bad it is! (Well, really, I’m in even if it’s NOT in 3-D, of course.)

  7. Jessie Says:

    Yes! Anthony Stewart Head! On network television! That news just made my day. (Oh, and thanks a lot, Meg… We *still* call him “Anthony Stupid-Head” in our house.)

  8. Lorraine Says:

    I’m looking foward to seeing Joshua Jackson on a regular basis.

    I’m a huge Jane Austen fan and I will watch any adaptation, no matter how bad. But, I agree with Meg that “Clueless” and the first Bridget Jones movies were wonderful. And “10 Things” (poor Heath) – I love that film. There’s even a Mormon adaptation of “Pride and Prejudice”. It’s small budget but interesting to see how they adapted the story.

  9. Kerri Says:

    I agree with Lorraine- Joshua Jackson is the most exciting of these three! I will definitely be keeping an eye for Fringe this fall. (And, yeah, hopefully it will be good, not terrible…)

Leave a Reply

