TV Shows Back This Week

April, how I have longed for you!  After months and months of absolutely nuthin’ on the tube, you have finally arrived and with you, the return, at long last!, of new TV.  Here’s what’s back this week that I’ll be tuning in for (episode counts are the number of new eps coming our way before the shows go back off the air for the summer again):

Wednesday, April 2:

Criminal Minds (CBS, 9pm, 7 episodes)
CSI: New York (CBS, 10pm, 7 episodes)

Thursday, April 3:

CSI: Gil Grissom (CBS, 9pm, 6 episodes)
Without a Trace (CBS, 10pm, 6 episodes)

Friday, April 4:

Numb3rs (CBS, 6 episodes)
Battlestar Galactica (Sci-Fi, full season)

Of course, of the bunch, the one I’m the most excited about is Battlestar Galactica, and can you blame me?  You mean to tell me that COLONEL TIGH is a CYLON?!  My ASS Colonel Tigh’s a cylon!!  And you can take making Chief a toaster and shove that too, while you’re at it, ya bastages.  Criminy!

By the way, BSG fans, did you happen to catch the 30 minute special this weekend in which Joss Whedon waxed poetic about his adoration for the series?  The only thing that could make me happier than listening to The Whede talk about Battlestar Galactica would be learning that a BSG star had been cast in his latest series, Dollhouse (coming next Fall).

And. . . SCORE!

In other news:  baseball is back!  I’m off to the game — hope I don’t freeze to death before the 7th inning stretch. . .  Play ball!

19 Responses to “TV Shows Back This Week”

  1. megwood Says:

    Hmm, interesting formatting there. I didn’t do that on purpose! 🙂

  2. Trip Says:

    BSG, baby! Boy, do they have a ton of loose ends up to tie up, though. No way is Tigh a Cylon. Nuh uh.

    And if this all ends up that EVERYONE is a frakkin’ Cylon, then that’s a LOT of hours of my life that I won’t ever get back.

  3. Lorraine Says:

    This week I’m grateful for new episodes of even the procedurals that I watch, “CSI” & “Numbers”. Actually, the interactions of the Epps men are the reason that I watch “Numbers”. I have to wait for the fall for new episodes of “Life”.

  4. Liz Says:

    Lorraine, I’m totally with you: I love CSI-The-Real, as I call it, and the NY one, but I’m getting really turned off by the Miami one! I also love the interaction amongst the Epps men on “Numbers” (can you say “chemistry?”), and I’m so glad “Life” will be back. I started watching that almost at the last minute, and am glad I did.

    BTW, for all you people who gave up on “Eli Stone” so fast, it’s gotten LOTS better. A bit more serious, and now not only is Eli realizing how much he has alienated the people he loves, but he’s having crises of his “new found faith.” Also, boy can Vicor Garber sing!

  5. megwood Says:

    Oh, I agree about Eli Stone — the last several episodes have been fantastic. Sharp writing! Likin’ it!

    I totally hear you on the Cylon stuff too, Trip. There’ve been rumors Starbuck is the final model and if that turns out to be the case, I’m throwing my DVDs in the can! FRAK YOU, BSG!! Don’t make me do it!

  6. Lorraine Says:

    Liz – I loved the episode of Numbers where Don & Charlie were in the counseling session together. Rob Morrow and David Krumholtz make you feel that they are brothers who have personal issues but really love each other. And then you add Judd Hirsch and it’s even better.

    CSI is starting feel a bit repetitive and they’ve cut back on the interaction between characters. Maybe it’s cheaper if they all don’t appear in each episode. But I enjoy the Grissom and Hodges scenes – very funny.

  7. Alisa Says:

    Since getting layed off from work I’ve been staying up later and ussally the only thing on worth watching is CSI, but the Miami one. They have some good story lines, but the acting sucks. Who would have thought David Caruso is that bad of an actor????

    Also LOVE Eli Stone. I’ve never wished so hard for an earthquake.

  8. Verna Says:

    Ah, Spring…baseball…I am going to Opening Day next Tuesday. Woohoo!

  9. megwood Says:

    Hope your Opening Day is warmer than ours — we got rain, snow, sleet, AND hail yesterday. But the nice thing about stuff like that is that it quickly drives out the riff-raff. The only people left in our section by the time the hail started were the REAL baseball fans, and we were having a blast! Go Mariners!

  10. Alisa Says:

    GO SOX!!

  11. Liz Says:

    WHAT ALISA SAID! (I hope you meant Red!)

  12. megwood Says:

    For my husband’s sake (ain’t nuthin’ that man hates worse than bandwagons), I feel I must declare this: If you only started loving the Red Sox in/after 2004, you’re lame!

    Love,
    Someone who’s loved the Red Sox since 1987, so there.

    (In my family, we root for the local team first (in our case, the M’s), the Red Sox second, and whoever’s playing the Yankees third.)

  13. Alisa Says:

    I grew up listening to the Red Sox on the radio w/my father. There’s something about listening to the radio that sooooooo beats watching it on tv. I think it’s being able to hear the cracking of the bat against the ball, and static that comes w/have to constantly try to tune the game in. Ahhh nastalgia.

  14. megwood Says:

    Red Sox fan since youth, check! Ding ding, Acceptable!

  15. Liz Says:

    I’ve been a Red Sox fan ever since I got married, thank you very much (26 years)! Of course my enthusiasm stepped up in 2004, but can you blame me/us? Besides, the “Soxxies” really helped me when I was in the hospital that summer. I grew up in the Bronx, so I learned the game through the – gulp – Yankees (I couldn’t help it) … but now I hate them (and so do my mom and sister)!! Do I pass muster?

  16. Verna Says:

    Oh, I expect it will be good weather. It’s Texas after all. It won’t get horrible until next month. 🙂 So I’ll get pack up the kids and head to the ballpark…Bliss! (By the way, I like the Sox, was happy to see them win it all, however, the Rangers will always have my heart)

  17. megwood Says:

    If you want to know why my husband (okay, and me too, obviously) can’t stand what we call FauxSox fans (of which there are a TON in Seattle these days), I can explain it with a single story.

    Last season, we were at one of the M’s vs. BoSox games and this woman was sitting behind us wearing a pink Red Sox tee-shirt and a matching pink Red Sox ballcap (gak, gak, double-gak, by the way). When Youkilis got up, Sox fans all started chanting “Youk,” right? Yooooooouuuuuuuk! Yoooooooouuuuuuk!

    During the second of Youk’s at-bats, this woman tsked and said loudly to her THREE drooling male companions, “God, Seattle fans are so lame — they don’t have to keep BOOING that guy. . .”

    My husband, who doesn’t know social graces from chainsaws, snapped, “They’re not saying BOO, they’re saying YOUK, you moron!” While the rest of us nicer, much more polite people simply exhaled sharply, rolled our eyes, and took a long pull on our beers. Looooooong game, that one. 🙂

  18. Marni Says:

    Thanks for letting me know about the shows coming back — thank goodness for DVR and my sis or I NEVER would have known!

  19. megwood Says:

    Glad I can help you stay on top of the IMPORTANT details, Marn. 😉

Leave a Reply

