Eddie Vedder’s “Into the Wild” Soundtrack

Since we’ve been talking about music recently, I wanted to mention I’ve gotten a bit hooked on the soundtrack to Into the Wild.  There’s a part of me that wants to make Eddie Vedder a Boyfriend of the Week because of it, but then there’s this other part of me that doesn’t want to lose the 46,985 punk points that would automatically be deducted from my total the moment I put the lead singer from Pearl Jam on my web site. 

Not that I didn’t lose twice that many when I revealed the fact I have Phil Collins’ Greatest Hits on my iPod in the Liam Finn write-up, of course.  But hey, all the more reason to be cautious.

Nevertheless, it’s good.  I like it.  But I would definitely recommend waiting to listen to it until after you see the film, because I found the music slightly obtrusive in places during the movie and had I actually known the songs beforehand, I think it would’ve been even more distracting (that happened to me with the film Garden State — I’ve learned my lesson).

iTunes strikes again!  Damn you, one-click shopping! 

He is pretty cute, though, isn’t he? 

5 Responses to “Eddie Vedder’s “Into the Wild” Soundtrack”

  1. Melinda Says:

    Oh dear, I *adore* the Garden State soundtrack, quite possibly some of the best melancholy/solo road trip music I’ve found on one compilation. Is the movie worth watching?

  2. megwood Says:

    I love the “Garden State” soundtrack too — that was the problem! Once you have every song on the soundtrack memorized, if you try to watch the movie, all you notice is the music.

    I didn’t find the movie itself all that satisfying, though there were elements I liked and also some good lines (“Good luck exploring the infinite abyss!”). I should watch it again now that it’s been a while since I listened to the soundtrack, though. Might appreciate it more the second time around. Anybody else want to weigh in?

  3. Trip Says:

    My two cents: yes, the soundtrack is better than the movie, and I liked the movie.

    Thievery Corporation can do no wrong. Their album from which “Lebanese Blonde” comes from is genius – “The Mirror Conspiracy” is my favorite album of the last 10 years.

  4. Liz Says:

    I totally think you should feature Eddie Vedder as a boyfriend. To H*** with punk points! I’m so un-hip that I actually thought “Pearl Jam” WAS “punk” … until I remembered that I think it’s classified as “grunge.” Never mind – neither are really my kind of music. But I am impressed with Vedder, and what he has accomplished, and what he stands for. I just recently saw “Dead Man Walking” again (I’m sure you’ve seen it – great film!), and saw Vedder’s name in the credits for soundtrack. Very cool – and he IS cute, so, I reiterate, WHY NOT MAKE HIM A BOYFRIEND? After all, you’ve made it clear in the past that we should like who we like, and not worry about other people’s “opinions” (i.e. movies like “Equilibrium”)! Keep the faith – hey! I’m going to make up my own “acronym” for that: KTF! 🙂

  5. megwood Says:

    Oh, you must know by now that I’m always TOTALLY kidding when I talk about preserving punk points or maintaining some sort of external “facade du cool.” Dude, I’m a 34 year old LIBRARIAN who watches bad sci-fi movies and LOVES THEM. If I were any less hip, I’d have trouble getting up and down stairs.

    The reality is that this is the only album I’ve ever heard of Vedder’s that I’ve thought was good. It’s the first time I’ve been even remotely intrigued by his music. And even then . . . I’m not passionate enough about this album to feel like I want to spend the time it takes to put together a write-up on him. Haven’t gotten that far into the relationship yet, in other words. It’ll take more than just this. But I’m definitely interested now, for the first time ever, and so I’m certainly not ruling out the possibility!

    But yeah, man, you never need to be concerned that I’m taking the potentially-negative judgments of others into consideration. I am, after all, the girl who made Sock Puppet a Boyfriend of the Week. . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

